Protective measures for imports from the EU

Switzerland does not impose protective measures on trade with the EU in animals and goods. In the interests of animal health, however, both the EU and Switzerland may impose restrictions that override the normal regulations.


African swine fever (ASF): Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Italy (Sardinia), Slovakia and Romania

ASP Virus Verbreitung


Switzerland does not normally impose protective measures on trade with the EU in animals and goods. Bilateral agreements are in place under which the competent authorities in the Member State of origin must ensure that goods sent to Switzerland are subject to the same safety standards as those traded within the Community. In particular, animals or "potentially dangerous" products of animal origin must not originate from an infected area.

Protective measures governing the import of animals and products of animal origin from the EU  

The veterinary authority of the respective Member State provides information on whether the destination is subject to animal health restrictions. These also apply to the temporary export of animals, e.g. to summer grazing pastures in a neighbouring country. Exporters who fail to observe these restrictions risk not being able to remove their animals (or goods) from the area at a later date. This also applies to their return to Switzerland, irrespective of "normal import conditions".

If outbreaks of highly contagious animal diseases in Member States exceed a certain risk potential, the FSVO introduces its own "protective ordinances".

Bluetongue disease: Switzerland, France, Germany and other Member States of the EU

Switzerland: The restricted zone for bluetongue disease serotype 8 includes the entire territory of Switzerland. The vector free period is from 1 December to 31 March.

Exports from Switzerland to Member States of the EU and Norway are governed by the «Ordonnance de l'OSAV instituant des mesures destinées à prévenir la propagation de la fièvre catarrhale du mouton». This is aligned with Regulation (EC) No 1266/2007.

Imports and transit from Member States of the EU and Norway are governed by Regulation (EC) No 1266/2007 of the EU Commission.

Member States of the EU concerned: the EU Commission publishes a map and a list of control measures. Competent authorities of Member States provide the public with current information on established restriction zones and serotypes present in their territory.



Avian influenza:

At the moment, Commission Implementing Decision (EU) 2020/47 does not require any Member State to establish protection zones or surveillance zones.

Petit coléoptère des ruches: Italy

Peste porcine classique (PPC): Bulgarie, Croatie, Lettonie, Roumanie

Lumpy skin disease (LSD): Bulgaria, Greece

Chronic wasting disease (CWD): Norvège, Suède, Finlande

Equine infectious anaemia (EIA): Romania

More information

Last modification 06.10.2020

Top of page