Import of foodstuffs and utility articles

Imported foodstuffs and utility articles must comply with the requirements of Swiss foodstuffs legislation.  

Food importers must ensure by means of self-inspection that their goods comply with the legal requirements. The labels of foods intended for sale to consumers must contain all the necessary information. The cantons, under the direction of their Cantonal Chemist, are responsible for inspections in Switzerland. The provisions of the product-specific ordinances must also be observed (see "More information").

Authorisation

The foodstuffs listed in the Ordinance on Foodstuffs and Utility Articles may be imported without authorisation from the FSVO provided that they meet all the requirements applicable to these products. Foodstuffs not mentioned in the Ordinance must be authorised by the FSVO.

Certification

Foodstuffs may be imported into Switzerland without certification. Special provisions apply to foodstuffs of animal origin from third countries in order to prevent animal diseases from being brought into the country. The specific import provisions can be found under Import.

Certification is, however, mandatory for the import of wild mushrooms from Eastern Europe, guar gum from India and certain foodstuffs from Japan.

Special import provisions

In addition to the import provisions mandated by the foodstuffs legislation, agricultural aspects also have to be taken into account in some cases. Information about this can be obtained from the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG).

Import authorisation for insects as foodstuffs

From 1 May 2017, 3 species of insects may be introduced from breeding colonies as foodstuffs:

  • Tenebrio molitor in the larval stage (mealworm)
  • Acheta domesticus, adult form (cricket)
  • Locusta migratoria, adult form (migratory locust)

This requires an import authorisation by the FSVO.
For links to the food law requirements and the application for an import licence, see "More .information".
The import of live insects for human consumption is prohibited.

More information

Last modification 28.03.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebensmittel-und-gebrauchsgegenstaende.html

Import Lebensmittel und Gebrauchsgegenstände

Importierte Lebensmittel und Gebrauchsgegenstände müssen den Anforderungen der schweizerischen Lebensmittelgesetzgebung entsprechen.  

Lebensmittelimporteure müssen durch Selbstkontrolle dafür sorgen, dass ihre Waren den gesetzlichen Anforderungen entsprechen. Bei der Abgabe an die Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten müssen Lebensmittel alle notwendigen Angaben betreffend Kennzeichnung enthalten. Für die Kontrolle in der Schweiz sind die Kantone unter der Leitung der Kantonschemiker zuständig. Weiter sind auch die Bestimmungen der produktspezifischen Verordnungen einzuhalten (siehe „Weitere Informationen“).

Bewilligungspflicht

Die in der Lebensmittel- und Gebrauchsgegenständeverordnung genannten Lebensmittel können ohne Bewilligung des BLV importiert werden, sofern alle Anforderungen, die an diese Erzeugnisse gestellt werden, erfüllt sind. Lebensmittel, welche nicht in der Verordnung genannt werden, benötigen eine Bewilligung des BLV.

Zeugnispflicht

Grundsätzlich können Lebensmittel ohne Zeugnis in die Schweiz importiert werden. Für Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft aus Drittstaaten bestehen besondere Bestimmungen zur Vermeidung der Einschleppung von Tierseuchen. Unter Import erfahren Sie die spezifischen Einfuhrbedingungen dazu.

Für den Import von Wildpilzen aus Osteuropa, von Guarkernmehl aus Indien und bestimmten Lebensmitteln aus Japan besteht jedoch eine Zeugnispflicht.

Besondere Einfuhrbedingungen

Nebst den lebensmittelgesetzlichen Importbedingungen sind in gewissen Fällen auch landwirtschaftliche Aspekte zu berücksichtigen. Informationen dazu sind beim Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft (BLW) erhältlich.

Einfuhrbewilligung für Insekten als Lebensmittel

Ab 1. Mai 2017 dürfen 3 Insektenarten aus Zucht zu Lebensmittelzwecken eingeführt werden:

  • Tenebrio molitor im Larvenstadium (Mehlwurm)
  • Acheta domesticus, adulte Form (Heimchen, Grille)
  • Locusta migratoria, adulte Form (Europäische Wanderheuschrecke)

Hierzu bedarf es einer Einfuhrbewilligung des BLV.
Links zu den lebensmittelrechtlichen Anforderungen und zum Gesuch um Erteilung einer Einfuhrbewilligung siehe unter "Weitere Informationen".
Die Einfuhr von lebenden Insekten zu Speisezwecken ist verboten.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 26.06.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebensmittel-und-gebrauchsgegenstaende.html