Federal Commission for Nutrition

The Federal Commission for Nutrition (FCN) is an extra-parliamentary commission that acts in an advisory capacity. It prepares opinions and recommendations for the Federal Council and the FSVO and advises the FSVO in implementing the action plan of the Swiss Nutrition Policy. In addition, the Commission supports and advises the FSVO in organising the annual Swiss Nutrition Policy Forum.

Mandate

The Commission supports and advises the FSVO in implementing the action plan of the Swiss Nutrition Policy 2017–2024.

As a scientifically oriented extra-parliamentary commission, it prepares opinions on current topics relevant to the FSVO. Its members’ different areas of expertise enable the Commission to consider and answer a wide range of questions. The resulting recommendations or proposals for action are therefore broadly supported. The FSVO uses these recommendations or proposed measures as a basis for formulating nutritional recommendations or for launching activities in cooperation with relevant stakeholders from the fields of health promotion, industry and consumer protection.

The Commission draws the FSVO’s attention to areas where a scientific basis is required for implementation of the Swiss Nutrition Policy action plan and where there is a need for action. If the FSVO orders relevant studies, the Commission can issue opinions and formulate recommendations and proposed measures.

In addition, the Commission supports and advises the FSVO in organising the annual Swiss Nutrition Policy Forum.

(Source: Verfügung über die Einsetzung der Eidgenössischen Ernährungskommission (EEK) 2020–2023)

Bodies

The FCN Committee consists of three members who meet twice a year. The Committee is responsible for preparing the business of Plenary Commission meetings (main topic, proposed topics, etc.) and for preparing the agenda.

The Plenary Commission consists of 15 members who meet twice a year. It is the advisory board for the Federal Council.

The Commission members are elected by the Federal Council ad personam for a term of four years.

The most recent elections took place on 27 November 2019.

Members of the Commission include representatives from education and research in the field of nutritional sciences, food sciences and nutritional medicine (universities, research institutes and hospitals), industry (food industry, food trade, sectoral associations) and non-governmental organisations (consumer protection, public health).

Plenary Commission:

  • Discusses scientific reports and recommendations put forward by the Commission
  • Discusses and issues opinions on current public health issues addressed to the authorities (e.g. FSVO), especially in the area of health promotion
  • Submits proposals and suggestions to the FSVO for surveys and investigations on nutritional issues

The FCN Secretariat is located within the FSVO.

More information

Last modification 16.04.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/organisation/kommissionen/eek.html

Commission fédérale de la nutrition

La Commission fédérale de la nutrition (CFN) est une commission extraparlementaire dotée d’une fonction consultative. Elle élabore à l’intention du Conseil fédéral et de l’OSAV des prises de position et des recommandations et conseille l’OSAV pour la mise en œuvre du plan d’action de la Stratégie suisse de nutrition. En outre, elle soutient et conseille l’OSAV dans l’organisation du forum annuel de la Stratégie suisse de nutrition.

Tâches

La commission soutient et conseille l’OSAV pour la mise en œuvre du plan d’action de la Stratégie suisse de nutrition 2017–2024.

En tant que commission extraparlementaire scientifique, la CFN rédige des prises de position sur des thèmes actuels pertinents pour l’OSAV. Les différentes connaissances spécialisées de ses membres permettent d’examiner en profondeur les questions qui se posent et d’y répondre en détail. Les recommandations ou propositions d’action qui en sont issues bénéficient par conséquent d’un large consensus. L’OSAV s’appuie sur ces recommandations ou sur les mesures proposées, par exemple pour formuler des recommandations nutritionnelles ou pour lancer des activités en collaboration avec les acteurs concernés des domaines de la promotion de la santé, de l’économie et de la protection des consommateurs.

La CFN indique à l’OSAV dans quels domaines des bases scientifiques sont nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre le plan d’action de la Stratégie suisse de nutrition et dans quels domaines des actions s’imposent. Si l’OSAV commande des études à ce sujet, la commission peut prendre position et formuler des recommandations et des propositions de mesures.

La CFN soutient et conseille l’OSAV en outre dans l’organisation du forum annuel de la Stratégie suisse de nutrition.

(Source : Décision instituant la Commission fédérale de nutrition (CFN) 2020 -2023)

Organes

Le comité de la CFN se compose de 3 membres, qui se rencontrent 2 fois par année. Il est responsable de la préparation des affaires à traiter lors de la séance de la commission plénière (sujet principal, propositions de sujets, etc.) et de l’élaboration de l’ordre du jour.

La commission plénière se compose de 15 membres, qui se rencontrent 2 fois par année. Elle joue le rôle d’organe consultatif du Conseil fédéral.

Les membres de la CFN sont élus ad personam pour un mandat de quatre ans par le Conseil fédéral.
Les dernières élections pour le renouvellement intégral de la commission par le Conseil fédéral ont eu lieu le 27 novembre 2019.

Les membres de la commission sont notamment des représentants des domaines de la formation et de la recherche en sciences nutritionnelles et alimentaires, ainsi que de la médecine nutritionnelle (hautes écoles, universités, instituts de recherche et hôpitaux), de l’économie (industrie et commerce des denrées alimentaires, associations sectorielles) et des organisations non gouvernementales (protection des consommateurs, santé publique).

Commission plénière :

  • Discussion des rapports scientifiques et des recommandations de la commission
  • Discussion et prise de position sur les questions actuelles de santé de la population adressées aux autorités (p. ex. l’OSAV), en particulier dans le domaine de la promotion de la santé
  • Soumission de propositions et de suggestions à l’OSAV pour des enquêtes et des études sur les questions de nutrition

Le secrétariat de la CFN se trouve à l’OSAV.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 16.04.2020

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/organisation/kommissionen/eek.html