Export of animals and animal products to the EU

The certificates required for exports of animals and animal products (not including food) to the EU are issued by the cantonal enforcement authorities. The latter also answer questions regarding exports to the EU.

Lastwagen auf Strasse fährt ins Weite

There is an Agreement between Switzerland and the European Union (EU) on trade in agricultural products. For this reason, Swiss legislation on animals and animal products generally corresponds to that of the EU. This facilitates the export of animals, animal products and other agricultural products into the EU. The conditions are based on the provisions of Directive 92/65/EEC. It is the exporter’s responsibility to check the exact requirements with the authorities of the country of destination (and of transit countries) and to report them to the competent cantonal authorities. This enables the latter to draw up the necessary health certificates or permits.

Export of animals

Anyone wishing to export animals must note the following:

  • Travel is stressful for animals. Transportation should therefore be as humane as possible and comply with all statutory requirements
  • Where appropriate, the conditions for (re-)import into Switzerland should be observed before departure (see Travelling with pets for private individuals or Import)
  • Commercial cross-border transportation of vertebrates by land requires a permit from the cantonal veterinary office (see "More information > Contact")
  • For transport by air, the provisions of the International Air Transport Association (IATA) must be followed
  • For some species, the veterinary regulations for “international movements” are laid down in the bilateral agreement; other species are subject to “national regulations”. In cases of doubt, the requirements that actually apply must be clarified in advance with the competent authority in the country of destination
  • The cantonal veterinary office issues the necessary health certificates and reports the sending of the animals to the competent veterinary authority of the country of destination via the electronic TRACES system. It can also provide information on specific requirements for exports of horses, poultry or live fish. Questions in this regard are answered by the official veterinarian or the official veterinary office
  • Exports of protected animal species require an export permit from the FSVO (see Export of animals and animal products)

Special provisions for certain animals

The requirements for the following animals are set forth in the Ordinance on the Import, Transit and Export of Animals and Animal Products in Trade with EU member States, Iceland and Norway (ITEO-EU-FDHA).

  • Horses and (domestic) cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, "other cloven-hoofed animals" (e.g. New World camelids)
  • Dogs, cats and ferrets
  • Lagomorphs
  • Poultry (hatching eggs, day-old chicks and older chickens, turkeys, guinea fowl, ducks, geese, quails, pheasants, partridges, ostriches - pigeons only if kept for the production of meat)
  • Fish, bees
  • Animals from "approved centres" (e.g. certain zoos) 


For more information, see under "More information > In detail".

The cantonal veterinary office is available to answer any questions.

Export of animal products  

Examples of animal products are animal semen, ova and embryos, and animal by-products.

Animal by-products according to Ordinance on Animal By-products

Exports of animal by-products require an operating licence from the cantonal veterinary office based on the Ordinance on Animal By-products (VTNP). The FSVO publishes the list of approved establishments (see "More information").

Exports of most animal by-products in category 3 (see Disposal of animal by-products) to the EU require only a commercial document in the prescribed form (see "More information > Commercial document for animal by-products EC 142/2011").

By-products and derivatives in categories 1 and 2 and processed animal protein (“meals” in category 3) require a TRACES notification and prior authorisation from the EU country of destination (Article 48 of Regulation EC 1069/2009). The TRACES notification is produced by the cantonal veterinary service.

Exports of certain animal by-products require a permit from the FSVO (see "More information > In detail > Export application for animal by-products").

Animal semen, ova and embryos  

These products must come from approved centres, stores or collection teams (see "More information > List of establishments"). Exports of semen and embryos of horses, domestic cattle, domestic sheep and domestic goats, domestic pigs and animals from approved bodies (within the meaning of Directive 92/65/EEC, e.g. certain zoos) require a health certificate drawn up by an official veterinarian. The competent cantonal veterinary office provides further assistance in cases of doubt and reports the shipment to the veterinary authorities of the country of destination via the electronic TRACES system.

For other gene products, or products from other species, the conditions are less clearly staded in the bilateral Swiss/EU agreement. The competent veterinary office in the country of destination can provide further assistance if you have any questions.

Export of protected animals and animal products

Exports of protected animals and animal products require an export permit from the FSVO (see Export of animals and animal products.

More information

Last modification 14.06.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/export/tiere-und-tierprodukte/export-tiere-tierprodukte-eu.html

Export von Tieren und Tierprodukten in die EU

Die Bescheinigungen, die für den Export von Tieren und Tierprodukten (ohne Lebensmittel) in die EU nötig sind, werden von den kantonalen Vollzugsbehörden ausgestellt. Diese beantworten auch Fragen zum Export in die EU.

Pferd Transport

Aktuell

Neue Regeln für den Verkehr mit Tieren zwischen der EU und der Schweiz

Ab dem 21. April 2021 werden neue Regeln für den Export lebender Tiere in die Mitgliedstaaten der EU gelten. Halterinnen und Halter von Ziegen, Hirschen, Schweinen oder Kameliden, die solche Tiere auch weiterhin exportieren wollen, müssen künftig ein Jahr vor dem Datum des Exports ein betriebseigenes Gesundheitsüberwachungsprogramm durchführen. Ziel dieser Regelung ist eine noch effizientere Bekämpfung von Krankheiten, die auf andere Tiere oder auf den Menschen übertragbar sind.

(09.06.2020)

Zwischen der Schweiz und der EU besteht ein Abkommen über den Handel mit landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen. Daher entspricht die schweizerische Gesetzgebung im Bereich Tiere und Tierprodukte grundsätzlich jener der EU. Dies erleichtert den Export von Tieren, Tierprodukten und anderen landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen in die EU. Es ist die Aufgabe des Exporteurs, die genauen Anforderungen bei den Behörden des Bestimmungslandes und der Transitländer abzuklären und sie den zuständigen kantonalen Behörden mitzuteilen, damit diese die nötigen Gesundheitsbescheinigungen oder Bewilligungen erstellen können.

Export von Tieren  

Wer Tiere exportieren will, muss folgendes beachten:

  • Für Tiere bedeutet Reisen Stress. Transporte sind deshalb unter Einhaltung aller gesetzlichen Vorgaben so tiergerecht wie möglich zu gestalten.
  • Gegebenenfalls vor der Ausreise die Bedingungen für eine (Wieder-)Einreise in die Schweiz beachten (siehe Reisen mit Heimtieren für Privatpersonen oder Import).
  • Für den gewerbsmässigen grenzüberschreitenden Transport von Wirbeltieren auf dem Landweg braucht es eine Bewilligung vom kantonalen Veterinäramt (siehe „Weitere Informationen“ > Kontakt). 
  • Im Flugverkehr sind die Bestimmungen der International Air Transport Association (IATA) zu befolgen.  
  • Für einige Tierarten sind die Veterinärbedingungen zum „grenzüberschreitenden Verbringen“ in den bilateralen Abkommen klar festgelegt, für andere gelten „nationale Regelungen“. Im Zweifelsfall muss immer im Voraus bei der zuständigen Behörde im Bestimmungsland geklärt werden, welche Anforderungen tatsächlich gelten.  
  • Das kantonale Veterinäramt stellt die nötigen Gesundheitsbescheinigungen aus und meldet den Versand der Tiere der zuständigen Veterinärbehörde des Bestimmungslandes über das elektronische System TRACES. Es kann auch Auskunft zu speziellen Vorschriften beim Export von Pferden, Geflügel oder lebenden Fischen geben. Fragen dazu beantwortet die amtliche Tierärztin bzw. der amtlichen Tierarzt oder das kantonale Veterinäramt. 
  • Für den Export von artengeschützten Tieren braucht es eine Exportbewilligung des BLV (siehe Export von Tieren und Tierprodukten).

Spezielle Bestimmungen für einzelne Tiere

Die Anforderungen für folgende Tiere sind in der Verordnung über die Ein-, Durch- und Ausfuhr von Tieren und Tierprodukten im Verkehr mit den EU-Mitgliedstaaten, Island und Norwegen (EDAV-EU-EDI) geregelt:

  • Pferde und (Haus-)Rinder, Schafe, Ziegen, Schweine, „andere Paarhufer“ (z.B. Neuweltkameliden)
  • Hunde, Katzen und Frettchen zu Handelszwecken
  • Hasenartige
  • Geflügel (Bruteier, Eintagsküken und ältere Hühner, Truthühner, Perlhühner, Enten, Gänsen, Wachteln, Fasanen, Rebhühner, Straussenvögel, Tauben nur, wenn sie zur Erzeugung von Fleisch gehalten werden)
  • Fische, Bienen
  • Tiere aus „zugelassenen Zentren“ (z.B. einige Zoos)
     

Weitere Informationen siehe „Weitere Informationen > Im Detail".

Bei Fragen steht das kantonale Veterinäramt zur Verfügung.

Export von Tierprodukten  

Tierprodukte sind z.B. tierische Samen, Eizellen und Embryonen oder tierische Nebenprodukte.

Tierische Nebenprodukte gemäss VTNP  

Eine Voraussetzung für den Export von tierischen Nebenprodukten ist eine Betriebsbewilligung vom kantonalen Veterinäramt auf Basis der Verordnung über tierische Nebenprodukte (VTNP). Das BLV publiziert die Liste dieser Betriebe (siehe „Weitere Informationen > Betriebslisten").

Für den Export der meisten tierischen Nebenprodukte der Kategorie 3 (siehe Tierische Nebenprodukte) in die EU ist nur noch ein Handelspapier in vorgegebener Form notwendig (siehe „Weitere Informationen > Gesetzgebung: Handelspapier tierische Nebenprodukte gem. Verordnung EG 142/2011“).

Für Neben- und Folgeprodukte der Kategorien 1 und 2 und für verarbeitetes tierisches Eiweiss („Mehle“ der Kategorie 3) sind eine TRACES-Meldung und eine vorgängige Bewilligung des Bestimmungslandes in der EU notwendig (Artikel 48 Verordnung EG 1069/2009). Die TRACES-Meldung wird vom kantonalen Veterinärdienst erstellt.

Für den Export bestimmter tierischer Nebenprodukte ist eine Bewilligung des BLV notwendig (siehe „Weitere Informationen > Im Detail  > Ausfuhrgesuch für tierische Nebenprodukte").

Tierische Samen, Eizellen und Embryonen  

Die Produkte müssen von bewilligten Zentren, Lagern oder Entnahmeteams stammen (siehe „Weitere Informationen > Betriebslisten"). Zur Ausfuhr von Samen und Embryonen von Pferden, Hausrindern, Hausschafen und Hausziegen, Hausschweinen sowie Tieren aus zugelassenen Einrichtungen (i.S. der Richtlinie 92/65/EWG, wie z.B. einige Zoos) ist eine amtstierärztliche Gesundheitsbescheinigung notwendig. Das zuständige kantonale Veterinäramt hilft im Zweifelsfalle weiter und wird den Versand auch den Veterinärbehörden des Bestimmungsstaates über das elektronische TRACES-System ankündigen.

Für andere Genetikprodukte oder Produkte von anderen Tierarten sind die Bedingungen in den bilateralen Abkommen Schweiz–EU weniger klar geregelt. Das zuständige Veterinäramt des Bestimmungsstaates hilft bei Fragen weiter.

Export von artengeschützten Tieren und Tierprodukten  

Für den Export von artengeschützten Tieren und Produkten braucht es eine Exportbewilligung des BLV (siehe Export von Tieren und Tierprodukten).

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 24.06.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/export/tiere-und-tierprodukte/export-tiere-tierprodukte-eu.html