Travelling with pets

Anyone planning to travel with pets should complete the formalities well in advance. The travel regulations for pets are not the same as those governing the commercial import and export of animals. 

Travelling with pets

The regulations for animals differ depending on whether an individual is travelling with a pet or animals are being commercially imported or exported. The information on these pages is intended solely for individuals with pets who do not intend to sell or give their animals to other people or institutions.

What are pets?

Pets are defined as animals accompanying their owners or a person authorised by the owner. They may not be sold or transferred to new owners. The animals must feature in the following list:

  • Dogs, cats, ferrets
  • Rodents and rabbits other than those intended for food production
  • Birds: specimens of avian species other than those referred to in Article 2 of Directive 2009/158/EC.
  • Reptiles and amphibians
  • Ornamental aquatic animals
  • Invertebrates (except bees, bumble bees, molluscs and crustaceans)
     

Dogs, cats and ferrets and birds are subject to particular animal health regulations when travelling because there is a danger of their introducing diseases from another country.

Exotic pets

Non-native wild animals are also kept as pets. This category includes special bird species, reptiles, spiders, scorpions, rodents, corals, fish, wild cats etc. Please take note of the relevant sections below.

Travelling with pets

Leaving Switzerland

When leaving Switzerland, the regulations of the destination country must always be observed.

Leaving Switzerland with pets of a protected species

The FSVO issues certificates of ownership to cover holidays or short stays in the EU with pets of protected species. The animal's owner (or a person authorised by the owner) must have the certificate stamped by the customs authority in Switzerland and in the destination country every time a border is crossed with the animal. The animal's return to Switzerland is covered by the certificate of ownership.
The application form (see "More information") for a certificate of ownership must be completed in full, signed and sent by post to the FSVO. Once issued (the fee is CHF 50), the the certificate of ownership is not valid until it has been signed by the animal's owner. The certificate is valid for three years and can be extended after this period has elapsed.

When the owner and animal travel with this certificate of ownership to an EU country for the first time, the EU requires a comparable European certificate of ownership. This is issued by the CITES authority in the first country of destination. The European certificate of ownership must be ordered in good time before the animal leaves Switzerland.

Entering Switzerland

Almost all pets that meet the definition can enter Switzerland from any country without approval from the veterinary health authority or a health certificate. Special conditions apply to dogs, cats, ferrets and birds. Not more than 5 pets may be imported from third countries.
These animals may not enter Switzerland if specific protective measures are in place.

Entering Switzerland with pets of a protected species

Approval is not required for holidays or short stays in Switzerland with an animal of a protected species provided that the animal is travelling with its owner (or a person authorised by the owner) and the owner holds a certificate of ownership.
Both entry and exit must be confirmed on the supplementary sheet by the customs authority. The necessary certificate of ownership is issued by the competent species conservation authority in the country of origin.

More Information

Last modification 02.08.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren.html

Reisen mit Heimtieren

Wer mit seinem Heimtier auf Reisen geht, sollte sich frühzeitig um die Formalitäten kümmern. Die Reisebestimmungen für Heimtiere unterscheiden sich von jenen Bestimmungen für den gewerblichen Import und Export von Tieren.

Hund und Katze auf Koffern

Die Bestimmungen für Tiere unterscheiden sich, je nachdem, ob es sich um eine private Reise mit einem Heimtier handelt oder um eine gewerbsmässige Aus- oder Einfuhr von Tieren. Die Informationen auf diesen Seiten richten sich nur an Privatpersonen mit Heimtieren, die ihre Tiere nicht an andere Personen oder Institutionen verkaufen oder abgeben wollen.

Was sind Heimtiere?

Als Heimtiere gelten Tiere, die ihre Halterin oder ihren Halter oder eine von diesen ermächtigte Person begleiten.

  • Hunde, Katzen, Frettchen
  • Hauskaninchen, Nagetiere
  • Vögel, ausgenommen Geflügel im Sinne der Richtlinie 2009/158/EG
  • Reptilien und Amphibien
  • Zierfische und für Zierzwecke gehaltene Wassertiere
  • wirbellose Tiere, ausgenommen Bienen und Krustentiere.


Sie dürfen nicht verkauft oder an neue Eigentümer übergeben werden. Für Hunde, Katzen, Frettchen und Vögel gelten dabei besondere seuchenpolizeiliche Reisebestimmungen, weil die Gefahr besteht, dass sie Krankheiten einschleppen.

Exotische Heimtiere

Auch nicht heimische Wildtiere werden als Heimtiere gehalten, wie z.B. spezielle Vogelarten, Reptilien, Spinnen, Skorpione, Nagetiere, Korallen, Fische, Wildkatzen etc. Bitte beachten Sie die entsprechenden Rubriken weiter unten.

Reisen mit Heimtieren

Ausreise aus der Schweiz

Bei einer Ausreise aus der Schweiz sind grundsätzlich die Bestimmungen des Ziellandes zu beachten.

Ausreise aus der Schweiz mit artengeschützten Heimtieren

Für Ferien oder Kurzaufenthalte in der EU mit artengeschützten Heimtieren stellt das BLV eine Besitzurkunde (Certificate of ownership) aus. Diese muss der Tierbesitzer (oder eine von ihm ermächtigte Person) bei jedem Grenzübertritt mit dem Tier vom Schweizer Zoll sowie vom Zoll des Bestimmungslandes abstempeln lassen. Die Wiedereinfuhr in die Schweiz ist mit der Besitzurkunde geregelt.
Das Gesuchsformular (siehe „Weitere Informationen") für die Besitzurkunde ist vollständig ausgefüllt und unterschrieben per Post ans
BLV zu senden. Die ausgestellte Besitzurkunde (CHF 50.-) muss vom Besitzer unterschrieben sein, damit sie gültig ist. Die Urkunde ist drei Jahre gültig und kann danach verlängert werden.

Bei der erstmaligen Reise mit dieser Besitzurkunde in ein EU-Land verlangt die EU eine analoge europäische Besitzurkunde. Eine solche wird von der CITES-Behörde dieses ersten Bestimmungslandes ausgestellt. Die europäische Besitzurkunde muss rechtzeitig vor der Ausreise aus der Schweiz bestellt werden.

Einreise in die Schweiz

Die meisten Heimtiere gemäss Definition können aus allen Ländern ohne seuchenpolizeiliche Bewilligung und Gesundheitszeugnis einreisen. Spezielle Bedingungen gelten für Hunde, Katzen und Frettchen sowie für Vögel. Aus Drittstaaten können max. 5 Heimtiere eingeführt werden. Die Einreise ist nicht möglich, wenn spezifische Schutzmassnahmen gelten.

Einreise in die Schweiz mit artengeschützten Heimtieren

Für Ferien oder einen Kurzaufenthalt in der Schweiz mit einem artengeschützten Heimtier braucht es keine Bewilligung, sofern das Tier mit dem Besitzer (oder einer von ihm beauftragten Person) reist und der Besitzer eine Besitzurkunde (Certificate of Ownership) hat.
Sowohl die Einreise als auch die Ausreise muss vom Zoll auf dem Beiblatt bestätigt werden. Die verlangte Besitzurkunde wird von der zuständigen Artenschutzbehörde des Herkunftslandes ausgestellt.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 02.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren.html