Maximum levels for vitamins and minerals in foods

The previous maximum levels for vitamins and minerals in foods were based on the daily requirement for a nutrient. The new maximum level model is focused on protecting health and is based on current scientific knowledge.

 

The main reference for the new model is a Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR) publication entitled “Maximum levels for vitamins and minerals in food supplements” (2018) . The model uses tolerable upper intake levels (ULs) for individual nutrients and takes into account the different intakes of each nutrient: via the normal daily diet (basic intake), via fortified (“enriched”) foods and food supplements, or via foods for athletes.

For these different food categories, nutrients are divided into four groups, ranging from non-critical substances, to critical substances with maximum levels, to substances for which maximum levels and warning labels are required.

The maximum level model in detail

The model recognises that the tolerable upper intake level (UL) for each nutrient should not be exceeded. To this end, an overall assessment was also made of the intake of a nutrient via the normal daily diet (basic intake, BI), fortified foods and food supplements, or foods for athletes. 

The difference between the tolerable upper intake level (UL) and the basic intake (BI) is the amount per nutrient that is available for fortified foods and food supplements, or foods for athletes. The key used to distribute this “residual amount” (UL-BI) between these two product categories is explained below.

Distribution of the residual amount (UL-BI)

The substances were divided into four groups:

  • Group 1: non-critical substances, for which no maximum level will be set;
  • Group 2: substances with a large gap between UL and BI (i.e. with a large residual amount or a low risk of exceeding the UL);
  • Group 3: substances with a small gap between UL and BI (i.e. with a small residual amount or a high risk of exceeding the UL). 

For groups 2 and 3, the available residual amount of each nutrient is distributed between fortified foods and food supplements or foods for athletes in a ratio of 1:3. This distribution ensures that fortified foods in the daily ration contain a significant amount of a nutrient and that food supplements represent a concentrated form of a nutrient.

  • Group 4: substances for which adverse effects or interactions may occur at medium-low dosages or above, and which therefore require a warning label. Vitamin K and magnesium fall into this group. In the case of fortified foods, the maximum levels will be set below the threshold for warning labels. In the case of food supplements and foods for athletes, the previous levels will be retained, provided that – above a specified dosage – the relevant warnings are displayed.

More information

Last modification 29.05.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/hilfsmittel-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/hoechstmengenmodell.html

Quantités maximales de vitamines et sels minéraux dans les denrées alimentaires

Jusqu’à présent, les quantités maximales de vitamines et sels minéraux admises dans les denrées alimentaires dépendaient des besoins nutritionnels journaliers. Axé sur la protection de la santé, le nouveau concept de quantités maximales se fonde sur les connaissances scientifiques actuelles.

La nouvelle méthode repose notamment sur une publication de l’Institut fédéral allemand d’évaluation des risques (Bundesinstituts für Risikobewertung BfR) intitulée « Höchstmengen für Vitamine und Mineralstoffe in Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln » (2018) . Le concept définit les quantités maximales des différents nutriments sur la base de leur apport maximal tolérable (AMT) et prend en compte les différents modes de consommation desdits nutriments : via l’alimentation quotidienne normale (apport de base), par le biais d’aliments enrichis, de compléments alimentaires ou de denrées alimentaires destinées aux sportifs.

Dans ces différentes catégories de denrées alimentaires, les nutriments sont répartis en quatre groupes : substances non critiques, substances critiques pour lesquelles des quantités maximales sont définies et substances nécessitant une définition des quantités maximales ou l'utilisation d’avertissements.

Présentation détaillée du modèle de quantités maximales

Le concept se base pour chaque nutriment sur son apport maximal tolérable (AMT), dont la valeur ne peut être dépassée. La consommation de chaque nutriment a été considérée globalement, c’est-à-dire son apport via l’alimentation normale quotidienne (apport de base, AB), via les aliments enrichis et les compléments alimentaires ou les denrées alimentaires destinées aux sportifs.

hmm-grafik1-F

La différence entre l’AMT et l’AB correspond à la quantité du nutriment qui est disponible pour les aliments enrichis et les compléments alimentaires ou denrées alimentaires destinées aux sportifs. La répartition de cette « quantité restante » (AMT-AB) entre les deux catégories de produits est expliquée ci-après.

Répartition de la quantité restante (AMT- AB)

Pour la répartition de la quantité restante, les substances ont été classées dans quatre groupes :

  • Groupe 1 : substances non critiques, pour lesquels il n'est plus nécessaire de fixer de valeur maximal
  • Groupe 2 : substances à grand écart AMT – AB (c.-à-d. à grande quantité restante ou à faible risque de dépasser l’AMT)
  • Groupe 3 : substances à faible écart AMT – AB (c.-à-d. à faible quantité restante ou à risque élevé de dépasser l’AMT)

Pour les groupes 2 et 3, la quantité restante disponible d’un nutriment est répartie entre les aliments enrichis et les compléments alimentaires ou denrées alimentaires destinées aux sportifs selon la proportion 1:3. Cette répartition garantit que l'aliment enrichi journalier contienne une quantité significative d’un nutriment et que les compléments alimentaires sont des concentrés du nutriment.

hmm-grafik2-F
  • Groupe 4 : substances pour lesquelles des effets indésirables ou des interactions peuvent être observés à partir de doses faibles à moyennes et qui requièrent par conséquent un avertissement. Ce groupe comprend la vitamine K et le magnésium. Dans le cas des aliments enrichis, les valeurs maximales doivent être inférieures au seuil à partir duquel un avertissement est requis. S’agissant des compléments alimentaires et des denrées alimentaires destinées aux sportifs, les anciennes valeurs sont conservées à condition qu’un avertissement ad hoc soit inscrit sur le produit à partir d’une certaine dose.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 27.05.2020

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/hilfsmittel-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/hoechstmengenmodell.html