Live animals from the EU

The conditions that apply to imports of animals and goods of animal origin from the EU are the same as those that apply to the movement of animals within the EU.

Exemption permits

Standard import provisions apply to many animal species. A permit is required if they cannot be fulfilled, Exemption permits are only issued in special cases. Complete the appropriate import application for dogs, cats, ferrets (07/23) or for other animals (07/24) (see "More information").

TRACES

Commercial imports must be handled using the TRACES system.

Species conservation

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation provisions. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list and submit an import application where necessary. If an import license is required, the species conservation control must be performed after the animals have been imported.
The shipment must be notified to the customs authority and presented to the chosen species conservation control office within 48 hours (two working days) (see "More information"). The fee for the species protection inspection will be collected in advance by the customs authority.

Detailed information about the individual animal species and the applicable import provisions is available under the corresponding search option under Import.

Animal transport

Vertebrates may only be transported by transport companies approved by the EU or by the competent Cantonal Veterinary Office.

Genetically modified animals

Genetically modified animals may not be imported. Exemptions are only possible for research, therapeutic and diagnostic purposes in humans and animals.

General import permit, quotas and customs

Certain farmed animals and their genetic materials require a general import permit. This is the responsibility of the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG). Questions relating to quotas should also be directed to the FOAG. Importers should also consider the customs aspects.

More information

Last modification 08.08.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu.html

Animaux vivants en provenance de l’UE

Les dispositions relatives à l’importation d’animaux vivants et de marchandises d'origine animale en provenance de l’UE sont en principe les mêmes que celles qui s’appliquent aux échanges intracommunautaires.

Autorisation dérogatoires

Il existe pour beaucoup d’espèces animales des conditions d’importation standard. Une autorisation est nécessaire si ces conditions ne sont pas remplies. Les autorisations dérogatoires ne sont accordées que dans les cas particuliers. Veuillez remplir dans ce cas le formulaire de demande d’autorisation pour importer des chiens, chats et furets en provenance de l’UE (07/23) ou d’autres animaux en provenance de l’UE (07/24) (voir « Autres informations »).

TRACES

Toutes les importations professionnelles doivent être administrées dans le système TRACES.

Conservation des espèces

En outre, certaines espèces animales sont soumises à des conditions relevant du droit sur la conservation des espèces. Veuillez vérifier le degré de protection dans la liste des espèces CITES et, au besoin, déposer une demande d’importation. Si une autorisation d’importation est requise, un contrôle de conservation des espèces doit être effectué après l’importation.

Le lot doit être déclaré à la douane et présenté sous 48 heures (deux jours ouvrés) au poste de contrôle de conservation des espèces choisi (voir « Autres informations »). L’émolument pour le contrôle de conservation des espèces doit être réglé à l’avance à la douane.

Vous obtiendrez des informations détaillées sur telle ou telle espèce animale et les conditions applicables en faisant une recherche concrète via Importation.

Transport d’animaux

Seules les entreprises de transport agréées par l’UE ou par le service vétérinaire cantonal compétent sont autorisées à transporter des vertébrés.

Animaux génétiquement modifiés

L’importation d’animaux génétiquement modifiés est interdite. Des exceptions ne sont possibles qu’à des fins scientifiques, thérapeutiques ou de diagnostic médical ou vétérinaire.

Permis d’importation généraux, contingents et douane

Un permis d’importation général est requis pour importer certains animaux de rente et leur génétique. C’est l’Office fédéral de l’agriculture OFAG qui est compétent en la matière. Les questions relatives aux contingents doivent également être adressées à l’OFAG. Veuillez tenir compte des aspects douaniers lors de l’importation.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 28.04.2017

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu.html