Horses, donkeys and other equids from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to horses including other equidae such as zebras or donkeys and their cross-breeds.

Equidae require an official horse passport for import. If they remain in Switzerland longer than 30 days, they must be registered in the Swiss stock movement database.

Health certificate / TRACES

Registered equidae must be accompanied by a certificate issued by a veterinary officer in accordance with Annex II of Directive 2009/156/EC (as amended most recently by Implementing Decision 2016/1840/EU) . This document is valid for (multiple) journeys between EU Member States and Switzerland during a period of up to 10 days.

Non-registered equidae and all slaughter animals must be notified in TRACES and the animals must be accompanied by a certificate in accordance with Annex III of Directive 2009/156/EC.

Switzerland does not require a certificate (or a TRACES notification for non-registered horses) for animals imported temporarily (for a maximum of 7 days) from the EU (except for Romania) or for the re-entry of Swiss horses following a brief (up to 7 days) stay abroad. Please note, however, that a re-export certificate can only be issued following a brief stay in Switzerland if a prior certificate containing the required health guarantees is available.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

It is forbidden to import equidae from Romania.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post. The customs service provides information on the exact procedures involved in import, in particular electronic declaration and the allocation of tariff quotas (see "More information").

Miscellaneous

Equidae may be subject to species protection legislation. Please check their protection status in the CITES species checklist (see “More information”) and contact the FSVO if necessary.

Circus animals may be subject to the special conditions applicable to circus animals.

Animals intended for direct slaughter must additionally be accompanied by confirmation 06/04 of the animals' health status and use of medication completed by the establishment operator (see health certificate / TRACES). The document must be handed to the veterinary meat inspector at the slaughterhouse of destination before the animals for slaughter are examined.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/equiden-eu.html

Chevaux, ânes et autres équidés de l’UE

Champ d’application / Conditions

Les conditions d'importation s'appliquent aux chevaux et aux autres équidés,  zèbres ou ânes p. ex., et à leurs hybrides.

Un passeport équin officiel est requis pour toute importation d'équidés. Si un équidé reste plus de 30 jours en Suisse, il doit être enregistré dans la banque de données sur le trafic des animaux.

Certificat sanitaire / TRACES

Les équidés enregistrés doivent être accompagnés d'une attestation sanitaire conforme au modèle figurant à l'annexe II de la directive 2009/156/CE (modifiée en dernier lieu par la décision d’exécution 2016/1840/UE). Ce document suffit pour un (ou des) voyage(s) entre des pays membres de l'UE et la Suisse sur une durée de 10 jours au maximum.

Une notification est requise pour les équidés non enregistrés et en tous les cas pour les équidés de boucherie. Les animaux doivent être accompagnés d'un certificat sanitaire dont le modèle figurant à l'annexe III de la directive 2009/156/CE.

En cas d'importation temporaire (7 jours au maximum) en provenance de l'UE (à l'exception de la Roumanie) et en cas de réimportation de chevaux après un cours séjour (au maximum 7 jours), la Suisse n'exige pas le certificat (ni la notification TRACES pour les chevaux non enregistrés).  Attention : un certificat de réexportation après un court séjour en suisse ne peut être établi que si un pré-certificat contenant les garanties sanitaires nécessaires a été fourni.

Mesures de protection prépondérantes

Les mesures de protection pertinentes sont celles qui s'appliquent le jour de l'importation.

L'importation d'équidés en provenance de la Roumanie est interdite.

Contrôle à l’importation

Attention : les postes frontières d'entrée en Suisse ne sont pas tous ouverts indifféremment à toutes les catégories d'animaux et de marchandises ! Il appartient aux autorités douanières de fixer les attributions de chacun des bureaux de douane. Les organes de la douane renseignent sur les procédures d'importation, notamment la déclaration électronique et l'attribution des parts de contingents douaniers (voir « Autres informations »).

Remarques particulières

Les équidés peuvent être soumis à des conditions relevant du droit sur la conservation des espèces. Veuillez vérifier le degré de protection dans la liste des espèces CITES (voir « Autres informations ») et, si nécessaire, prendre contact avec l’OSAV.

Il faut tenir compte le cas échéant des conditions particulières applicables aux animaux de cirque.

Si les animaux sont destinés à l'abattage direct, ils doivent être accompagnés de la confirmation 06/04 « relative à l'utilisation de médicaments et à la santé des animaux », remplie par le responsable de l'exploitation (voir « Certificat sanitaire / TRACES »). Le document doit être remis au vétérinaire contrôleur des viandes de l'abattoir avant qu'il n'effectue le contrôle des animaux avant l'abattage.

Dernière modification 03.10.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/equiden-eu.html