Other animal species from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to all species and categories of living animals for which no more specific import provisions exist. Applying the principle of exclusion, and provided that they are not being imported as foodstuffs or are considered to be “pets”, these are all non-mammalian animals except reptiles and amphibians, all aquatic animals that do not belong to the species used in aquaculture and all invertebrates except bees and bumblebees (e.g. land snails, earthworms, corals, insects etc.).

Under the bilateral agreements between the EU and Switzerland, the animals must comply with the requirements of Directive 92/65/EEC.

Health certificate / TRACES

For salamanders and newts  

The veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification. The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place (see below “Health certificate / TRACES”).

For all other amphibians and for reptiles, no health certificate is required.

Additional conditions

The animals must show no sign of disease.
The animals must originate from establishments and areas that are not subject to restrictions.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post.

Owner’s licence

For the keeping of wild animals a licence might be required. Applications for licences should be made to the competent Cantonal Veterinary Office. The affected species of animal are listed in the Animal Protection Ordinance, Article 89-92 (in French).

Miscellaneous

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/andere-tiere-eu.html

Autres animaux de l'UE

Champ d’application / Conditions

Les conditions d'importation s'appliquent aux animaux vivants de toutes les espèces et catégories pour lesquelles il n'existe pas de réglementations d'importation plus spécifiques. Ce sont (selon le principe d'exclusion et pour autant que ces animaux ne soient pas importés en tant que denrées alimentaires ou animaux de compagnie) tous les non-mammifères à l'exception des reptiles et des amphibiens, tous les animaux aquatiques autres que les animaux de l'aquaculture et tous les invertébrés à l'exception des abeilles et des bourdons (p. ex. les escargots terrestres, les vers de terre, les coraux, les insectes, etc.).

Selon l’accord bilatéral conclu entre l’UE et la Suisse, les animaux doivent satisfaire aux exigences de la directive 92/65/CEE.

Certificat sanitaire / TRACES

Pour les salamandres et les tritons, le vétérinaire officiel du pays de provenance doit envoyer une notification électronique TRACES. Avant la première importation, les autorités cantonales doivent enregistrer l'établissement de destination suisse dans le système électronique TRACES (voir au bas de la page  « Certificat sanitaire / TRACES »).

Dans tous les autres cas, aucun certificat sanitaire n’est requis.

Conditions supplémentaires

Les animaux ne doivent pas présenter de symptômes de maladies.
Les animaux doivent provenir d'établissements ou de zones qui ne sont pas soumis à des mesures d'interdiction.

Mesures de protection prépondérantes

Les mesures de protection pertinentes sont celles qui s'appliquent le jour de l'importation.

Contrôle à l’importation

Attention : les postes frontières d'entrée en Suisse ne sont pas tous ouverts indifféremment à toutes les catégories d'animaux et de marchandises ! Il appartient aux autorités douanières de fixer les attributions de chacun des bureaux de douane.

Autorisation de détention

Une autorisation de détention pourrait être requise pour la détention d’animaux sauvages. Le cas échéant, veuillez vous adresser au service vétérinaire cantonal compétent. Les espèces animales concernées sont mentionnées dans l'ordonnance sur la protection des animaux, art. 89 à 92.

Remarques particulières

Certaines espèces animales sont soumises en outre à des conditions relevant du droit sur la conservation des espèces. Veuillez vérifier le degré de protection dans la liste des espèces CITES  (voir « Autres informations ») et choisissez la catégorie correspondante via  la recherche détaillée.

Dernière modification 03.10.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/andere-tiere-eu.html