Imports from third countries

Third countries are all countries apart from the EU Member States, Iceland and Norway. Animals and goods may only be imported from third countries subject to specified conditions. It is not possible to import animals and goods from all countries.

News

Hay imports from third countries

There are currently strict regulations that must be observed when hay or straw is imported from third countries. The demand for feed is high at present in certain parts of Switzerland. This is because of the drought over the past weeks, which has led to a shortage of feed in a number of places. Domestic production is unable to meet the demand. The gap is being filled by imports of hay and straw from third countries. But for animal health reasons there are strict regulations in place for these imports. Such imports are also only permitted from a small number of third countries.

Anyone who wants to import hay and straw must contact the FSVO to obtain information on the various options and regulations.

(28.09.2018) 

Animals and goods containing materials of animal origin may only be imported from third countries if those countries, regions and establishments have been licensed for the import of the goods and animals in question. Furthermore, in the case of foods containing ingredients of animal origin, the country must also operate an EU-recognised residue monitoring plan. Depending on the type of shipment, further aspects may also have to be taken into consideration in addition to veterinary health and species protection provisions, e.g. customs and agricultural aspects.

Border veterinary inspections

Animals and products containing material of animal origin must be inspected by the veterinary border service on import or during transit. The animals and animal products that are subject to border veterinary inspections are laid down in Commission Decision 2007/275/EC according to Article 6 of the Federal Department of Home Affairs Ordinance on the Import, Transit and Export of Animals and Animal Products in Transactions with Third Countries. They must be imported by air (with air waybill). The fees for border veterinary inspections are set in accordance with the FSVO Fees Ordinance. The species protection inspection that is mandatory for the import of protected animals and parts of or products derived from them must also be borne in mind.

AS KeTI interface and customs declaration

At the time of customs declaration, the AS KeTI interface checks to ensure that animals and goods with animal with an animal component have undergone a border veterinary inspection (see “More information” below).

Control requirement for certain marine fishery products

The ordinance on controlling the lawful origin of imported marine fishery products comes into force on1 March 2017. As from this date, certain consignments of marine fishery products are subject to controls and must be registered with the FSVO for document inspection (see Illegal fishing).

Mandatory TRACES certification

All shipments that are subject to border veterinary inspection must be cleared in the TRACES system. Importers, establishments of destination and individuals involved in the import process who are required to register must therefore register in TRACES.

Protective measures

It is the responsibility of the importer to comply with the import provisions. The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Aspects relating to legislation on species protection

Certain animal and plant species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option (see also imports of protected animal and plant species).


What do you want to import?

Select the appropriate criteria under Import to obtain details of the import conditions.

More information

Contact

If you have any questions about the enforcement of legislation concerning imports, please contact the competent cantonal authorities. Questions concerning the import provisions governing protected species should be addressed to the FSVO.

Last modification 04.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-drittstaaten.html

Importations de pays tiers

L’expression « pays tiers » désigne tous les États à l’exception des États membres de l’UE, de l’Islande et de la Norvège. L’importation d’animaux et de marchandises en provenance de pays tiers n’est possible qu’à des conditions spécifiques.

Actuel

Importations de foin en provenance de pays tiers

Il y a, à l’heure actuelle, une pénurie de fourrage dans certaines régions de Suisse, causée par la sécheresse de ces dernières semaines. Les besoins ne pouvant être couverts par la production indigène, ils sont comblés par des importations de foin ou de paille en provenance des pays tiers. Or, le foin et la paille sont aussi soumis à des exigences légales strictes pour des raisons de police des épizooties. En outre, leur importation n’est admise qu’en provenance d’un petit nombre de pays tiers.

Par conséquent, si l’on souhaite en importer, il faut absolument se mettre en contact avec l’OSAV pour s’informer des possibilités et des exigences légales à respecter.

(25.09.2018)

Les animaux et les marchandises ne peuvent pas être importés depuis tous les pays. Pour les denrées alimentaires composées en partie de produits d’origine animale, le pays doit en outre disposer d’un plan de surveillance des résidus approuvé par l’UE. Selon le type d’envoi, il convient non seulement de tenir compte des conditions d’importation relevant du droit sur les épizooties et de la législation sur la conservation des espèces, mais aussi d’autres aspects, notamment douaniers et agricoles.

Contrôles vétérinaires de frontière

Lors de leur importation ou de leur transit, les animaux et les marchandises composées en partie de produits d’origine animale sont soumis à un contrôle du Service vétérinaire de frontière. Aux termes de l’art. 6 OITE-PT-DFI, c’est la décision 2007/275/CE qui détermine pour quels animaux et quels produits animaux un contrôle vétérinaire de frontière est requis. Ces animaux et produits animaux doivent être importés par fret aérien (accompagnés d’une lettre de transport aérien). Les émoluments des contrôles vétérinaires de frontière sont fixés dans l’ordonnance sur les émoluments de l’OSAV. Il convient par ailleurs de tenir compte du contrôle de conservation des espèces, requis pour l’importation d’animaux d’espèces protégées, ainsi que de leurs parties ou produits.

Interface AS KeTI et déclaration en douane

Lors de la déclaration en douane, l’interface AS KeTI vérifie si les animaux et les marchandises composées de produits d’origine animale ont fait l’objet du contrôle vétérinaire de frontière (voir « Informations complémentaires », plus bas).

Contrôle obligatoire de certains produits de la pêche maritime

L’ordonnance sur le contrôle de l'origine licite des produits de la pêche maritime importés entre en vigueur le 1er mars 2017. À partir de cette date, certains lots de produits de la pêche maritime doivent être contrôlés et annoncés à l’OSAV pour qu’ils puissent faire l’objet d’un contrôle documentaire (cf. pêche illicite).

Obligation de déclaration TRACES

Tous les envois soumis au contrôle vétérinaire de frontière sont saisis par voie électronique dans le système TRACES. Les importateurs et les établissements de destination, ainsi que les personnes assujetties à l’obligation de déclarer et qui sont impliquées dans le processus d’importation doivent donc se faire enregistrer dans TRACES.

Mesures de sauvegarde

Le respect des conditions d’importation relève de la responsabilité de l’importateur. Les mesures de protection pertinentes sont toujours celles qui s’appliquent le jour de l’importation.

Aspects relevant de la conservation des espèces

Certaines espèces animales et végétales sont soumises en outre à des conditions relevant du droit sur la conservation des espèces. Veuillez vérifier le degré de protection dans la liste des espèces CITES  (voir « Autres informations ») et choisissez la catégorie correspondante via  la recherche détaillée (Voir aussi Importation de spécimens d’espèces de faune et de flore protégées).


Que voulez-vous importer ?

Sous Importation, veuillez sélectionner les critères correspondants pour obtenir le détail des conditions d’importation.

Informations complémentaires

Contact

Les autorités cantonales compétentes sont vos interlocuteurs pour les questions relatives à l’exécution de la législation régissant les importations. Les questions relatives aux conditions d’importation relevant de la législation sur la conservation des espèces doivent être adressées à l’OSAV.

Dernière modification 11.10.2018

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-drittstaaten.html