Imports from third countries

Third countries are all countries apart from the EU Member States, Iceland and Norway. Animals and goods may only be imported from third countries subject to specified conditions. It is not possible to import animals and goods from all countries.

News

Hay imports from third countries

There are currently strict regulations that must be observed when hay or straw is imported from third countries. The demand for feed is high at present in certain parts of Switzerland. This is because of the drought over the past weeks, which has led to a shortage of feed in a number of places. Domestic production is unable to meet the demand. The gap is being filled by imports of hay and straw from third countries. But for animal health reasons there are strict regulations in place for these imports. Such imports are also only permitted from a small number of third countries.

Anyone who wants to import hay and straw must contact the FSVO to obtain information on the various options and regulations.

(28.09.2018) 

Animals and goods containing materials of animal origin may only be imported from third countries if those countries, regions and establishments have been licensed for the import of the goods and animals in question. Furthermore, in the case of foods containing ingredients of animal origin, the country must also operate an EU-recognised residue monitoring plan. Depending on the type of shipment, further aspects may also have to be taken into consideration in addition to veterinary health and species protection provisions, e.g. customs and agricultural aspects.

Border veterinary inspections

Animals and products containing material of animal origin must be inspected by the veterinary border service on import or during transit. The animals and animal products that are subject to border veterinary inspections are laid down in Commission Decision 2007/275/EC according to Article 6 of the Federal Department of Home Affairs Ordinance on the Import, Transit and Export of Animals and Animal Products in Transactions with Third Countries. They must be imported by air (with air waybill). The fees for border veterinary inspections are set in accordance with the FSVO Fees Ordinance. The species protection inspection that is mandatory for the import of protected animals and parts of or products derived from them must also be borne in mind.

AS KeTI interface and customs declaration

At the time of customs declaration, the AS KeTI interface checks to ensure that animals and goods with animal with an animal component have undergone a border veterinary inspection (see “More information” below).

Control requirement for certain marine fishery products

The ordinance on controlling the lawful origin of imported marine fishery products comes into force on1 March 2017. As from this date, certain consignments of marine fishery products are subject to controls and must be registered with the FSVO for document inspection (see Illegal fishing).

Mandatory TRACES certification

All shipments that are subject to border veterinary inspection must be cleared in the TRACES system. Importers, establishments of destination and individuals involved in the import process who are required to register must therefore register in TRACES.

Protective measures

It is the responsibility of the importer to comply with the import provisions. The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Aspects relating to legislation on species protection

Certain animal and plant species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option (see also imports of protected animal and plant species).


What do you want to import?

Select the appropriate criteria under Import to obtain details of the import conditions.

More information

Contact

If you have any questions about the enforcement of legislation concerning imports, please contact the competent cantonal authorities. Questions concerning the import provisions governing protected species should be addressed to the FSVO.

Last modification 04.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-drittstaaten.html

Importe aus Drittstaaten

Drittstaaten sind alle Staaten ausser den EU-Mitgliedstaaten, Island und Norwegen. Importe von Tieren und Waren aus Drittstaaten sind nur zu festgelegten Bedingungen möglich. Es dürfen nicht aus allen Ländern Tiere und Waren eingeführt werden.

Aktuell

Heu-Importe aus Drittstaaten

Beim Import von Heu oder Stroh aus Drittstaaten sind die geltenden, strengen Vorschriften zu beachten. Der Bedarf an Futter ist derzeit in gewissen Teilen der Schweiz gross. Grund dafür ist die Trockenheit der vergangenen Wochen, die manchenorts zu einer Futterknappheit geführt hat. Die Inlandproduktion vermag den Bedarf nicht zu decken. Die Lücke wird gefüllt durch Heu- oder Stroh-Importe aus Drittstaaten. Für diese gelten aber aus seuchenpolizeilichen Gründen strenge Vorschriften. Solche Einfuhren sind zudem nur aus wenigen Drittstaaten zulässig.

Wer solche Importe vornehmen möchte, soll sich unbedingt mit dem BLV in Verbindung setzen zwecks Abklärung der Möglichkeiten und Vorschriften.

(25.09.2018)

Tiere und Waren mit tierischem Anteil dürfen nur dann aus Drittstaaten importiert werden, wenn die Länder, Regionen und Betriebe für den Import der entsprechenden Waren und Tiere zugelassen sind. Bei Lebensmitteln mit tierischem Anteil muss das Land zudem über einen EU-anerkannten Rückstandsüberwachungsplan verfügen. Je nach Art der Sendung müssen nebst seuchen- und artenschutzrechtlichen Einfuhrbedingungen auch weitere Aspekte berücksichtigt werden, z.B. zollrechtliche und landwirtschaftliche Aspekte.

Grenztierärztliche Kontrollen

Tiere und Waren mit tierischem Anteil müssen anlässlich der Einfuhr oder Durchfuhr durch den grenztierärztlichen Dienst kontrolliert werden. Welche Tiere und Tierprodukte grenztierärztlich untersuchungspflichtig sind, ist gemäss Artikel 6 der EDAV-DS-EDI in der Entscheidung 2007/275/EG festgelegt. Diese müssen per Luftfracht (mit Luftfrachtbrief) eingeführt werden. Die Gebühren für die grenztierärztlichen Kontrollen richten sich nach der Gebührenverordnung BLV. Zu berücksichtigen ist ausserdem die Artenschutzkontrolle, die bei der Einfuhr von geschützten Tieren, Teilen davon und Produkten daraus vorgeschrieben ist.

Schnittstelle AS KeTI und Zollanmeldung

Anlässlich der Zollanmeldung prüft die Schnittstelle AS KeTI, ob Tiere und Waren mit tierischem Anteil der grenztierärztlichen Kontrolle unterzogen worden sind (siehe „Weitere Informationen“ unten).

Kontrollpflicht für bestimmte Meeresfischerei-Erzeugnisse

Am 1. März 2017 tritt die Verordnung über die Kontrolle der rechtmässigen Herkunft von eingeführten Erzeugnissen der Meeresfischerei in Kraft. Bestimmte Sendungen mit Meeresfischerei-Erzeugnissen sind ab diesem Datum kontrollpflichtig und müssen beim BLV zur Dokumentenkontrolle angemeldet werden (siehe Illegale Fischerei).

TRACES-Zeugnispflicht

Sämtliche grenztierärztlich kontrollpflichtigen Sendungen werden elektronisch im TRACES-System abgefertigt. Deshalb müssen sich Importeure und Bestimmungsbetriebe sowie anmeldepflichtige Personen, die am Importprozess beteiligt sind, in TRACES registrieren lassen.

Schutzmassnahmen

Es liegt in der Verantwortung des Importeurs, die Importbedingungen einzuhalten. Es gelten immer die am Tag der Einfuhr aktuellen Schutzmassnahmen.

Artenschutzrechtliche Aspekte:

Gewisse Tier- und Pflanzenarten unterstehen zusätzlich artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen. Bitte verifizieren Sie den Schutzstatus in der CITES-Artenliste (siehe „Weitere Informationen“) und wählen Sie die entsprechende Kategorie über die detaillierte Abfrage (siehe auch Importe artengeschützter Tier- und Pflanzenarten).


Was möchten Sie importieren?

Wählen Sie unter Import die entsprechenden Kriterien aus, um sich über die Importbedingungen im Detail zu informieren.

Weitere Informationen

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner für Fragen zum Vollzug der Gesetzgebung sind die zuständigen kantonalen Behörden. Fragen zu den artenschutzrechtlichen Einfuhrbestimmungen sind an das BLV zu richten.

Letzte Änderung 04.10.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-drittstaaten.html