The Swiss Veterinary Service

The FSVO and the cantonal veterinary offices operate an agreed and structured system for working together on public veterinary issues. The Swiss Veterinary Service actively promotes the health and welfare of humans and animals. 

While responsibility in the Swiss Veterinary Service is spread over several levels, the responsible agencies in the Federal Government and cantons form a joint common organisation under the name of the "Swiss Veterinary Service". The SVS is designed to operate on a professional, transparent and scientific basis.
Nowadays, the quality assurance of food products of animal origin requires an integrated strategy that covers the whole production chain from stable to plate.
Such a strategy is based on an impeccable primary production system in which the modern veterinary service plays its part as the specialist agency for animal welfare and the health of animals and humans.

The role of the cantonal veterinary services

In most cases, federal law delegates responsibility for enforcing national legislation to the cantons. Accordingly, most of the functions of the Swiss Veterinary Service are also replicated in the cantons.

The role of Animal Health Services (AHS)

The Animal Health Services provide indirect support for the Veterinary Service in its enforcement activities. They are private self-help organisations (in French) with broadly the same aims as the Veterinary Service:

  • To preserve animal health
  • To promote appropriate animal husbandry
  • To ensure good-quality food products of animal origin

Performance of veterinary services

Veterinary services are complex organisations with a wide range of legislative, executive, human and material resources. It is therefore important to review and evaluate these resources and their interaction on a regular basis. The World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) provides a tool for evaluating the performance of veterinary services (PVS Tool). The PVS Tool is designed to assist veterinary services to establish their performance in various areas, to identify where they currently fall short of OIE international standards, to form a shared vision with stakeholders (including the private sector), and to establish sensible priorities and carry out strategic initiatives.

More Information

Last modification 25.04.2017

Top of page

Contact

VSKT contact

President:
Reto Wyss, Dr. med. vet., Cantonal Veterinary, Bern

General Secretary:
Judith Röthlisberger, Dr. med. vet.

Office address:

Vereinigung der Schweizer Kantonstierärztinnen und Kantonstierärzte c/o Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Bern
Schweiz

E-mail

A list of addresses for the 22 veterinary offices and the Principality of Liechtenstein can be found under “More information”.

Print contact

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/organisation/veterinaerdienst-schweiz.html

Service vétérinaire suisse

L’OSAV et les services vétérinaires cantonaux entretiennent, dans le cadre de leurs activités relevant du secteur vétérinaire public, une collaboration structurée et convenue conjointement. Le Service vétérinaire suisse encourage activement la santé et le bien-être de l’animal et de l’homme. 

Les responsabilités au sein du Service vétérinaire suisse sont réparties sur plusieurs niveaux. Les organes compétents de la Confédération et des cantons forment cependant une organisation commune portant le nom de « Service vétérinaire suisse ». Ce service est tenu de travailler de façon professionnelle, avec transparence et sur des bases scientifiques.
L’assurance de la qualité des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale requiert aujourd’hui une approche globale, couvrant l’ensemble de la chaîne de production, depuis l’étable jusqu’à l’assiette.
Cette approche repose sur une production primaire irréprochable, dans laquelle le service vétérinaire fait preuve de modernité et joue son rôle de service spécialisé pour le bien-être de l’animal et la santé de l’animal et de l’homme.

Le rôle des services vétérinaires cantonaux

Le droit fédéral confie généralement l’exécution de la législation nationale aux cantons. C’est aussi dans les cantons que l’on retrouve les principales fonctions du Service vétérinaire suisse.

Le rôle des services consultatifs et sanitaires pour animaux

Les services consultatifs et sanitaires pour animaux soutiennent indirectement le service vétérinaire dans ses actions d’exécution. Ces services sont des organisations d’entraide privées, qui partagent largement les objectifs du service vétérinaire :

  • maintenir la santé animale ;
  • encourager la détention convenable des animaux ;
  • assurer la qualité des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale.

Performance des services vétérinaires

Les Services vétérinaires sont des organisations complexes dont les ressources législatives, exécutives, humaines et matérielles sont multiples. Il est donc essentiel d’examiner et d’évaluer ces ressources et leurs interactions. L’organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE) met à disposition un outil d'évaluation des performances des Services vétérinaires (Outil PVS). Cet Outil PVS de l’OIE a pour objet d’aider les Services Vétérinaires à caractériser leur niveau de performances, à identifier les carences et les points faibles de leur capacité à se conformer aux normes internationales de l’OIE, à concevoir une vision partagée avec leurs bénéficiaires (du secteur privé notamment), à définir les priorités et à conduire des initiatives stratégiques. 

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 05.06.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Coordonnées de l'ASVC

Président :
Reto Wyss, Dr méd. vét., vétérinaire cantonal de Berne

Directrice :
Judith Röthlisberger, Dr méd. vét

Adresse des bureaux :

Association suisse des vétérinaires cantonaux c/o Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Berne
Suisse

E-Mail

Les adresses des 23 services vétérinaires de Suisse et de la Principauté du Liechtenstein sont disponibles sous « Informations complémentaires ».

Imprimer contact

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/organisation/veterinaerdienst-schweiz.html