The Swiss Veterinary Service

The FSVO and the cantonal veterinary offices operate an agreed and structured system for working together on public veterinary issues. The Swiss Veterinary Service actively promotes the health and welfare of humans and animals. 

While responsibility in the Swiss Veterinary Service is spread over several levels, the responsible agencies in the Federal Government and cantons form a joint common organisation under the name of the "Swiss Veterinary Service". The SVS is designed to operate on a professional, transparent and scientific basis.
Nowadays, the quality assurance of food products of animal origin requires an integrated strategy that covers the whole production chain from stable to plate.
Such a strategy is based on an impeccable primary production system in which the modern veterinary service plays its part as the specialist agency for animal welfare and the health of animals and humans.

The role of the cantonal veterinary services

In most cases, federal law delegates responsibility for enforcing national legislation to the cantons. Accordingly, most of the functions of the Swiss Veterinary Service are also replicated in the cantons.

The role of Animal Health Services (AHS)

The Animal Health Services provide indirect support for the Veterinary Service in its enforcement activities. They are private self-help organisations (in French) with broadly the same aims as the Veterinary Service:

  • To preserve animal health
  • To promote appropriate animal husbandry
  • To ensure good-quality food products of animal origin

Performance of veterinary services

Veterinary services are complex organisations with a wide range of legislative, executive, human and material resources. It is therefore important to review and evaluate these resources and their interaction on a regular basis. The World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) provides a tool for evaluating the performance of veterinary services (PVS Tool). The PVS Tool is designed to assist veterinary services to establish their performance in various areas, to identify where they currently fall short of OIE international standards, to form a shared vision with stakeholders (including the private sector), and to establish sensible priorities and carry out strategic initiatives.

More Information

Last modification 25.04.2017

Top of page

Contact

VSKT contact

President:
Reto Wyss, Dr. med. vet., Cantonal Veterinary, Bern

General Secretary:
Judith Röthlisberger, Dr. med. vet.

Office address:

Vereinigung der Schweizer Kantonstierärztinnen und Kantonstierärzte c/o Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Bern
Schweiz

E-mail

A list of addresses for the 22 veterinary offices and the Principality of Liechtenstein can be found under “More information”.

Print contact

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/organisation/veterinaerdienst-schweiz.html

Der Veterinärdienst Schweiz

Das BLV und die kantonalen Veterinärämter pflegen im Aufgabenbereich des öffentlichen Veterinärwesens eine miteinander vereinbarte und strukturierte Zusammenarbeit. Der Veterinärdienst Schweiz fördert aktiv die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden von Mensch und Tier.

Die Verantwortung im Veterinärdienst Schweiz ist auf mehrere Ebenen verteilt. Die verantwortlichen Stellen beim Bund und den Kantonen bilden aber eine gemeinsame Organisation unter dem Namen "Veterinärdienst Schweiz". Dieser soll professionell, transparent und auf wissenschaftlicher Basis arbeiten.
Die Qualitätssicherung der Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft erfordert heute einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der die gesamte Produktionskette vom Stall bis auf den Teller umfasst.
Die Grundlage bildet dabei eine einwandfreie Primärproduktion, in welcher der moderne Veterinärdienst seine Rolle als Fachstelle für das Wohl des Tieres und für die Gesundheit von Tier und Mensch wahrnimmt.

Die Rolle der kantonalen Veterinärdienste

Das Bundesrecht beauftragt in den meisten Fällen die Kantone mit dem Vollzug der nationalen Gesetzgebung. In den Kantonen finden sich denn auch die meisten Funktionen des Veterinärdienstes Schweiz.

Die Rolle der Tiergesundheitsdienste (TGD)

Die Tiergesundheitsdienste unterstützen den Veterinärdienst indirekt bei der Vollzugsarbeit. Es sind private Selbsthilfe-Organisationen mit weitgehend gleichen Zielen, wie sie der Veterinärdienst hat:

  • Tiergesundheit erhalten;
  • tiergerechte Haltung fördern;
  • Qualität bei Lebensmitteln tierischen Ursprungs sichern.

Die Leistung der Veterinärdienste

Veterinärdienste sind komplexe Organisationen mit einer Vielzahl legislativer, exekutiver, personeller und materieller Ressourcen. Es ist deshalb wichtig, diese Ressourcen und ihr Zusammenspiel regelmässig zu überprüfen und zu evaluieren. Das internationale Tierseuchenamt (OIE) stellt ein Werkzeug zur Evaluation der Leistung von Veterinärdiensten zur Verfügung (PVS-Werkzeug). Das PVS-Werkzeug soll die Veterinärdienste dabei unterstützen, ihre Leistung in den verschiedenen Bereichen zu beschreiben, festzustellen, wo sie den internationalen Normen der OIE noch nicht genügen, mit ihren Stakeholdern (namentlich im privaten Sektor) eine gemeinsame Vision zu entwickeln, sinnvolle Prioritäten zu setzen und strategische Initiativen voranzutreiben.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 25.04.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Kontakt VSKT

Präsident:
Reto Wyss, Dr. med. vet., Kantonstierarzt Bern  

Geschäftsführerin:
Judith Röthlisberger, Dr. med. vet.

Adresse Geschäftsstelle:

Vereinigung der Schweizer Kantonstierärztinnen und Kantonstierärzte c/o Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Bern
Schweiz

E-Mail

Eine Adressliste der 22 Veterinärämter und des Fürstentum Lichtenstein findet sich unter „Weitere Informationen“.

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/organisation/veterinaerdienst-schweiz.html