Training and continuing education

Persons conducting animal experiments are required to possess the necessary skills, complete a specific training course and take continuing education courses. Persons caring for laboratory animals are also required to be qualified and take continuing education courses regularly.

Training and continuing education is of utmost importance in animal welfare legislation. This is also true for the area of animal experimentation. The courses convey the essential provisions of animal welfare legislation, including the guiding principles of the 3Rs. The area of the 3Rs is in fact developing at an extremely rapid rate: Therefore, researchers are required to take continuing education courses regularly. Additional provisions also continue to apply to study directors.

Training

All researchers conducting animal experiments must take part in a theoretical and practical training course that lasts several days. This course conveys knowledge on how to correctly keep animals in the most humane and animal-friendly way possible. The course also covers the correct use of painkillers.

Most of the time, laboratory animals are not directly involved in experiments but live in laboratory animal facilities. For this reason, the competence of animal caretakers is central. Heads of animal facilities are required to take the training course for people working with animals. They may also employ auxiliary staff whom they can train themselves. Training in the area of animal experimentation is regulated in the Ordinance on training.

More information about the basic training course for animal caretakers and the applicable legislation can be found in “More information” > “Legislation”.

Accredited continuing education courses

After completing a training course, heads of animal facilities and experimenters must periodically take part in continuing education courses to upgrade their animal experimentation skills. The content and scope of the curriculum and the duration of basic, advanced and continuing training, including practical courses, are specified in detail in the FDHA Ordinance on training in animal husbandry and handling (TSchAV). More information and application forms for the accreditation of continuing education courses can be found under “In detail”.

More information

Last modification 11.04.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/aus-weiterbildung-tv.html

Aus- und Weiterbildung

Wer Tierversuche durchführt, muss über die nötigen Kenntnisse verfügen, eine spezifische Ausbildung machen und Fortbildungen besuchen. Auch Personen, welche Versuchstiere betreuen, müssen ausgebildet sein und sich regelmässig fortbilden.

Aus- und Weiterbildung haben einen grossen Stellenwert im Tierschutzrecht. Dies gilt auch für den Tierversuchsbereich. Die Kurse vermitteln die wesentlichen Bestimmungen der Tierschutzgesetzgebung inkl. des 3R-Prinzips. Gerade der 3R-Bereich entwickelt sich sehr schnell: Forschende sind deshalb verpflichtet regelmässig Fortbildungen zu besuchen. Für Versuchsleitende gelten noch weitergehende Bestimmungen.

Ausbildung

Alle Forschenden, die Tierversuche durchführen, müssen eine mehrtägige theoretische und praktische Ausbildung besuchen. Dabei lernen sie, Tiere tiergerecht zu halten und möglichst schonend mit ihnen umzugehen. Auch der korrekte Einsatz von Schmerzmitteln gehört dazu.

Die meiste Zeit sind Versuchstiere nicht direkt in Versuche involviert, sondern leben in Versuchstierhaltungen. Die Kompetenz der Betreuungspersonen ist deshalb zentral. Die Verantwortlichen einer Versuchstierhaltung brauchen eine Ausbildung als Tierpfleger/-in. Dabei können sie Hilfskräfte engagieren, welche sie selbst ausbilden können. Die Ausbildung im Bereich der Tierversuche wird in der Verordnung über Ausbildungen geregelt.

Weitere Informationen zur Grundausbildung als Tierpfleger oder Tierpflegerin und zur Gesetzgebung siehe unter „Weitere Informationen“ > „Gesetzgebung“

Anerkannte Fortbildung

Nach erfolgter Ausbildung müssen Versuchsleiterinnen und Versuchsleiter sowie Personen, die Tierversuche durchführen, periodisch an Fortbildungsveranstaltungen teilnehmen, um ihre Kenntnisse über Tierversuche auf den aktuellen Stand zu bringen. Inhalt und Umfang des Unterrichtsstoffs sowie die Dauer von Aus-, Weiter- und Fortbildungsveranstaltungen, einschliesslich der Praktika, sind detailliert in der Verordnung des EDI über Ausbildungen in der Tierhaltung und im Umgang mit Tieren (TSchAV) festgelegt. Weitere Informationen und Antragsformulare für die Anerkennung von Fortbildungsveranstaltungen sind unter weitere Informationen „im Detail“ abgelegt.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 11.04.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/tierversuche/aus-weiterbildung-tv.html