The three Rs – Replace, Reduce, Refine animal experimentation

Animal experiments must only be allowed if no alternative methods are available for answering scientific questions. The number of laboratory animals and the strain that they suffer must be kept to a minimum. 

News

Alternatives to CO2 – Ending animals’ lives more humanely

Mice and rats are euthanized with carbon dioxide (CO2) after animal experiments and also in laboratory animal facilities. However, new scientific evidence calls into question the suitability of CO2 for the euthanasia of rodents from an animal welfare perspective.

The FSVO is reviewing the suitability of CO2 for the euthanasia of mice and rats as part of its commitment to promoting the 3Rs. As with all procedures involving laboratory animals, euthanasia must be continually improved using the 3R principle of refinement.

At the 3R Symposium in 2018, the FSVO demonstrated the great relevance of euthanasia for animal welfare (Axiak Flammer et al. 2019). As a result of the 2019 3R Symposium, international researchers published priorities for scientific research into alternatives to CO2 (Steiner et al. 2019).

The 3R Symposium in 2020 was organised by the FSVO in partnership with the Universities Federation for Animal Welfare (UFAW) and the Humane Slaughter Association (HSA). The presentations of the FSVO/UFAW/HSA online symposium – Humanely ending the life of animals can be found on this website. The abstracts of the symposium presentations can be found below.

(09.11.2020)

Researchers in Switzerland are obliged to keep animal experiments to a minimum. Rather than animal experiments, alternative methods must be used where possible. The 3R principles (replace, reduce, refine) call for the development and use of alternatives to animal experiments, the reduction of animal experiments to the absolute minimum and improvements in experiments to ensure that animals are subjected to a minimum of strain; see also under “More information > Links: Russell and Burch, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique”.

The pharmaceutical industry, researchers, laboratory animal experts, federal government, animal protection groups and politicians have been committed to the application of the 3Rs for the past 30 years. This has made it possible to cut the number of animal experiments from 2 million to 600,000 and to reduce the strain on the animals.

In 2015 the Federal Council approved a report on animal experimentation in Switzerland. The report demonstrates how research into alternative methods can be promoted, how the number of animal experiments can be reduced and how the strain on the animals involved can be lessened. To this end, the Federal Council proposes several measures (see “More information”).

From the 3R Research Foundation to the 3R Competence Centre

From 1987 to 2018 the 3R Research Foundation was in charge of funding 3R research projects on the 3R principles. The Foundation was a joint initiative of the Parliamentary Group for animal experimentation, the Animalfree Research foundation and Interpharma. It was supervised by the Federal Department of Home Affairs. The FSVO was represented on the Foundation’s board and expert committee. The 3R Research Foundation was replaced by the Swiss 3R Competence Centre in March 2018.

With the creation of the 3R Competence Centre (3RCC), higher education institutions and the pharmaceutical industry take the responsibility to further promote for establishing a 3Rs culture in Switzerland. The 3RCC not only funds 3R research projects. Its mandate also includes education and communication on the 3Rs. Politicians, federal government and animal welfare groups support the 3RCC in management bodies, and the FSVO participates in the 3RCC’s strategic management. The 3RCC consists of a head office in Bern and a network of coordinators responsible for the 3Rs within the higher education institutions.

The 3RCC is funded by the federal government (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) and FSVO), Interpharma and the participating higher education institutions.

More information

Last modification 09.11.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzipien.html

3R – Replace, Reduce, Refine – Tierversuche ersetzen, reduzieren, verbessern

Tierversuche dürfen nur bewilligt werden, wenn keine alternativen Methoden vorhanden sind, mit denen eine Fragestellung beantwortet werden kann. Die Anzahl Versuchstiere und die Belastung der Tiere müssen auf ein Minimum beschränkt werden.

Aktuell

Alternativen zu CO2 – Das Leben von Tieren humaner beenden

Mäuse und Ratten werden mit Kohlendioxid (CO2) euthanasiert, weil viele Tiere gleichzeitig euthanasiert werden können und die Tiere dazu nicht angefasst werden müssen. Neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse stellen die Eignung von CO2 für die Euthanasie von Nagern aus Tierschutzsicht jedoch in Frage.

Das BLV überprüft die Eignung von CO2 für die Euthanasie von Mäusen und Ratten im Rahmen seiner Verpflichtung zur Förderung der 3R. Wie alle Handlungen an Versuchstieren muss auch die Euthanasie von Versuchstieren mit dem 3R-Prinzip Refinement kontinuierlich verbessert werden.

Das BLV hat dazu bereits zwei 3R-Symposien durchgeführt. Das 3R-Symposium – Alternatives to CO2 von 2018 hatte gezeigt, dass Alternativen zu CO2 gefunden werden müssen (Axiak Flammer et al. 2019). Am zweiten 3R-Symposium – Alternatives to CO2 von 2019 wurden aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und der Entwurf zu einer Forschungsstrategie für Alternativen zu CO2 präsentiert. Die Publikation von Steiner et al. 2019 zeigt Forschungsprioritäten für das humanere Beenden des Lebens von Tieren auf.

Das nächste Symposium in dieser Reihe organisiert das BLV zusammen mit der Universities Federation for Animal Welfare UFAW und der Humane Slaughter Association HSA. Das ‘FSVO/UFAW/HSA-Symposium – Humanely ending the life of animals’ findet am 3./4. November 2020 als Online-Veranstaltung statt. Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie auf der UFAW-Webseite.

 

(24.09.2020)

In der Schweiz sind Forschende verpflichtet, Tierversuche auf ein Minimum zu beschränken. Es müssen Alternativmethoden anstelle von Tierversuchen verwendet werden, wenn das möglich ist. Die 3R-Prinzipien (replace, reduce, refine) fordern die Schaffung von Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen, die Reduktion der Tierversuche auf das absolute Minimum und die Verbesserung von Tierversuchen, damit die Tiere so wenig wie möglich belastet werden, siehe auch unter «Weitere Informationen > Links: Russell and Burch, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique». 

Die pharmazeutische Industrie, Forschende, Versuchstierfachleute, der Bund, der Tierschutz und die Politik setzen sich seit 30 Jahren für die Anwendung der 3R-Prinzipien ein. Damit ist es gelungen, die Anzahl Tierversuche von 2 Millionen auf 600‘000 Tiere zu senken und die Belastung der Tiere zu reduzieren.

Der Bundesrat hat 2015 einen Bericht über Tierversuche in der Schweiz verabschiedet. Dieser zeigt auf, wie die Erforschung von Alternativmethoden gefördert, die Zahl der Tierversuche verringert und die Belastung der Tiere vermindert werden kann. Der Bundesrat schlägt hierzu mehrere Massnahmen vor (siehe «Weitere Informationen»). 

Von der Stiftung Forschung 3R zum 3R Kompetenzzentrum 

Von 1987 bis 2018 war es die Stiftung Forschung 3R, die 3R-Forschungsprojekte zu den 3R-Prinzipien finanziert hatte. Die Stiftung war ein Gemeinschaftswerk der parlamentarischen Gruppe für Tierversuchsfragen, der Stiftung Animalfree Research und der Interpharma. Sie stand unter der Aufsicht des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern. Das BLV war im Stiftungsrat und im Expertenausschuss vertreten. Die Stiftung Forschung 3R wurde im März 2018 vom 3R Kompetenzzentrum Schweiz abgelöst.

Mit der Schaffung des 3R Kompetenzzentrums 3RCC übernehmen die Hochschulen und die pharmazeutische Industrie die Verantwortung für die Etablierung einer 3R-Kultur in der Schweiz.  Das 3RCC finanziert nicht nur 3R-Forschungsprojekte. Sein Leistungsauftrag umfasst auch Ausbildung und Kommunikation. Politik, Bund und Tierschutz unterstützen das 3RCC in Führungsgremien. Das BLV beteiligt sich an der strategischen Führung. Das 3RCC besteht aus einer Geschäftsstelle in Bern und einem Netzwerk von 3R-Verantwortlichen an den Hochschulen. 

An den Kosten des Zentrums beteiligen sich Bund (Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI und BLV), Interpharma und die beteiligten Hochschulen.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 25.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzipien.html