Training and continuing education

Persons conducting animal experiments are required to possess the necessary skills, complete a specific training course and take continuing education courses. Persons caring for laboratory animals are also required to be qualified and take continuing education courses regularly.

Training and continuing education is of utmost importance in animal welfare legislation. This is also true for the area of animal experimentation. The courses convey the essential provisions of animal welfare legislation, including the guiding principles of the 3Rs. The area of the 3Rs is in fact developing at an extremely rapid rate: Therefore, researchers are required to take continuing education courses regularly. Additional provisions also continue to apply to study directors.

Training

All researchers conducting animal experiments must take part in a theoretical and practical training course that lasts several days. This course conveys knowledge on how to correctly keep animals in the most humane and animal-friendly way possible. The course also covers the correct use of painkillers.

Most of the time, laboratory animals are not directly involved in experiments but live in laboratory animal facilities. For this reason, the competence of animal caretakers is central. Heads of animal facilities are required to take the training course for people working with animals. They may also employ auxiliary staff whom they can train themselves. Training in the area of animal experimentation is regulated in the Ordinance on training.

More information about the basic training course for animal caretakers and the applicable legislation can be found in “More information” > “Legislation”.

Accredited continuing education courses

After completing a training course, heads of animal facilities and experimenters must periodically take part in continuing education courses to upgrade their animal experimentation skills. The content and scope of the curriculum and the duration of basic, advanced and continuing training, including practical courses, are specified in detail in the FDHA Ordinance on training in animal husbandry and handling (TSchAV). More information and application forms for the accreditation of continuing education courses can be found under “In detail”.

More information

Last modification 11.04.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/aus-weiterbildung-tv.html

Formation et formation continue

Toute personne pratiquant des expériences sur des animaux est tenue de disposer des connaissances requises et de suivre une formation de base spécifique et des formations continues. Les personnes qui s’occupent des animaux de laboratoire doivent également être dûment formées et suivre des formations continues régulières. 

La formation de base et la formation continue revêtent une grande importance dans la législation suisse sur la protection des animaux. Ce principe s’applique également aux expériences sur les animaux. Les cours abordent ainsi les principales dispositions de la législation sur la protection des animaux, ainsi que le principe 3R. Les 3R connaissent d’ailleurs un essor très rapide, ce qui explique pourquoi les chercheurs sont tenus de suivre des formations continues. Pour les directeurs d’expériences, des dispositions encore plus poussées s’appliquent.

Formation

Tous les chercheurs qui pratiquent des expériences sur les animaux sont tenus de suivre une formation théorique et pratique de plusieurs jours. Ils y apprennent comment détenir leurs animaux correctement et comment les traiter de la manière la plus respectueuse possible. Ils sont également formés à l’usage correct de produits analgésiques.

La plupart du temps, les animaux de laboratoire ne sont pas impliqués directement dans les expériences et vivent en animaleries. C’est pourquoi les compétences de ceux qui en prennent soin sont primordiales. Les responsables d’animaleries doivent disposer d’une formation de gardiens d’animaux. Ils peuvent engager du personnel auxiliaire, qu’ils sont autorisés à former eux-mêmes. La formation de base dans le domaine des expériences sur les animaux est réglementée dans l’ordonnance sur les formations en matière de protection des animaux.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la formation de base de gardien d’animaux et sur la législation, voir « Informations complémentaires » > « Législation ».

Formation continue reconnue

Après avoir suivi une formation de base, chaque directeur d’expérience sur les animaux et toute personne pratiquant des expériences sur les animaux doivent participer à des formations continues périodiques pour mettre à jour leurs connaissances en matière d’expériences sur les animaux. Le contenu et l’étendue des cours, la durée des cours et les stages sont détaillés dans l’ordonnance du DFI sur les formations à la détention d'animaux et à la manière de les traiter (OFPAn). De plus amples informations et les formulaires de demande pour la reconnaissance des formations continues sont présentés sous « Informations complémentaires » > « En détail ».

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 11.04.2017

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/tierversuche/aus-weiterbildung-tv.html