Degree of severity and harm-benefit analysis

The harm-benefit analysis determines whether or not an animal experiment may be authorised and conducted. During the process, the gain in knowledge expected is compared with the anticipated level of distress suffered by the animal.

According to article 24 of the Animal Experimentation Ordinance, the constraint suffered by animals caused by interventions or measures taken as part of animal experiments is divided into four constraint categories. Ultimately, the purpose is to assess whether the gain in knowledge justifies the constraint suffered by the animals. The expected benefits to society brought about by animal experiments must be greater than the suffering of the animals or the violation of their dignity.

Degrees of severity as a way to measure constraint

Degree of severity 0

No constraint, e.g. observational studies:

Interventions and handling of animals for experimental purposes which do not subject the animals to any pain, suffering or injury, do not cause them to suffer fear and do not impair their general state of health;
Almost half of all laboratory animals are used in experiments in which they are only subjected to degree of severity 0.

Degree of severity 1

slight constraint:

Interventions and handling of animals for experimental purposes which cause slight pain or injury or slight impairment of their general state of health;

Degree of severity 2

moderate constraint:

Interventions and handling of animals for experimental purposes which cause short-term moderate or medium- to long-term slight pain, suffering or injury, short-term moderate fear or short to medium-term severe impairment of their general state of health.

Degree of severity 3

severe constraint, e.g. transplanting aggressive tumours in animals

Interventions and handling of animals for experimental purposes which cause medium to long-term moderate pain or severe pain, long-term moderate to severe suffering, medium- to long-term moderate injury or severe injury, long-term severe fear or severe impairment of their general state of health.
Humane endpoints can also be decisive for limiting the degree of severity: The researchers must specify precisely the levels of constraint or results which require an animal experiment to be aborted.

Harm-benefit analysis

In order to conduct a harm-benefit analysis, the interests, benefits and objectives of all parties concerned must be specified, assessed, weighed up and finally compared with each other. The result of this harm-benefit analysis represents an informed judgement of whether the constraint suffered by the animal (suffering, pain, fear and injury) can be justified or not. This can be decided on a case-by-case basis or possibly, for a specific category of cases.

The benefits to society can vary greatly: new medicines, verification of non-toxicity of a substance, gain of scientific knowledge, better husbandry conditions for animals and much more. In applied research, the benefits are often obvious.

However, in basic research it is often very difficult to demonstrate a direct benefit. Nevertheless, it is particularly in this type of research that the benefits prove to be greatest in the long term.
It is primarily up to the researcher himself to convincingly show the benefits that his work could bring.

On its website, the ethics committee of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) provides a template for self-testing the ethical harm-benefit analysis during animal experiments.
 

More information

Last modification 24.08.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/schweregrad-gueterabwaegung.html

Abwägung von Nutzen und Belastung

Die Güterabwägung zeigt auf, ob ein Tierversuch bewilligt und durchgeführt werden kann. Dabei wird der erwartete Erkenntnisgewinn der Belastung der Tiere gegenübergestellt.

Gemäss Tierversuchsverordnung (Art. 24) werden Belastungen von Tieren durch Eingriffe oder Massnahmen im Rahmen von Tierversuchen in vier Belastungskategorien eingeteilt. Am Schluss gilt es abzuwägen, ob der Nutzen die Belastung der Tiere rechtfertigt. Der erwartete Nutzen von Tierversuchen für die Gesellschaft muss grösser sein als das Leiden und die Verletzung der Würde der Tiere.

Schweregrade als Mass der Belastung

Schweregrad 0

keine Belastung, z.B. Beobachtungsstudien:

Eingriffe und Handlungen an Tieren zu Versuchszwecken, die den Tieren keine Schmerzen, Leiden oder Schäden zufügen, sie nicht in Angst versetzen und ihr Allgemeinbefinden nicht beeinträchtigen;

Fast die Hälfte der Versuchstiere wird in Tierversuchen eingesetzt, in denen sie nur mit dem Schweregrad 0 belastet werden

Schweregrad 1

leichte Belastung:

Eingriffe und Handlungen an Tieren zu Versuchszwecken, die kurzfristige leichte Schmerzen oder Schäden oder eine leichte Beeinträchtigung des Allgemeinbefindens bewirken;

Schweregrad 2

mittlere Belastung:

Eingriffe und Handlungen an Tieren zu Versuchszwecken, die kurzfristige mittelgradige oder mittel- bis langfristig leichte Schmerzen, Leiden oder Schäden, eine kurzfristige mittelgradige Angst oder eine kurz- bis mittelfristige schwere Beeinträchtigung des Allgemeinbefindens bewirken.

Schweregrad 3

schwere Belastung, z.B. Verpflanzung von aggressiven Tumoren in Tiere

Eingriffe und Handlungen an Tieren zu Versuchszwecken, die mittel- bis langfristige mittelgradige Schmerzen oder schwere Schmerzen, langfristiges mittelgradiges bis schweres Leiden, mittel- bis langfristige mittelgradige Schäden oder schwere Schäden, langfristige schwere Angst oder eine schwere Beeinträchtigung des Allgemeinbefindens bewirken.

Entscheidend für die Begrenzung des Schweregrades können auch sogenannte Abbruchkriterien sein: Die Forschenden legen genau fest, bei welchen Belastungen oder Resultaten ein Tierversuch abgebrochen wird.

Güterabwägung

Um eine Güterabwägung vornehmen zu können, müssen die involvierten Interessen, Güter und Zielsetzungen aller Betroffenen festgestellt, bewertet, gewichtet und schliesslich gegeneinander abgewogen werden. Das Resultat einer solchen Güterabwägung ist ein begründetes Urteil darüber, ob die Belastung des Tieres (Leiden, Schmerzen, Angst und Schäden) gerechtfertigt werden können oder nicht. Dies kann für den Einzelfall oder möglicherweise für eine bestimmte Kategorie von Fällen entschieden werden.

Der Nutzen für die Gesellschaft kann sehr unterschiedlich sein: neue Medikamente, der Nachweis der Ungiftigkeit einer Substanz, Erkenntnisgewinn, bessere Haltungsbedingungen für Tiere und vieles mehr. In der angewandten Forschung ist der Nutzen oft klar ersichtlich.
In der Grundlagenforschung ist es jedoch vielfach schwierig, einen unmittelbaren Nutzen aufzuzeigen. Dennoch ist langfristig gerade bei dieser Art der Forschung der Nutzen wohl am grössten.
Es liegt in erster Linie am Forschenden selbst überzeugend aufzuzeigen, welchen Nutzen seine Arbeit bringen könnte.

Die Ethikkomission sc nat stellt auf ihrer Webseite eine Vorlage zur Selbstprüfung der ethischen Güterabwägung bei Tierversuchen zur Verfügung.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 24.08.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/tierversuche/schweregrad-gueterabwaegung.html