Animal experimentation

In Switzerland, animal experiments may only be performed if no alternative methods are available. Equally strict rules apply to laboratory animal husbandry as to the training and continuing education of the researchers working with animals.

News

Animal experiments in 2018: fewer laboratory animals used

In 2018, the number of animals used for experiments in Switzerland was 586,643. This is 4.6% less than in 2017. Compared with 2009, the number of animals used has fallen by more than 16.9%.

Animal experiments 2009-2018: in 2018, fewer animals were used in experiments

In 2018, most of the animals (71.1%) were used in experiments that involved little if any stress (severity grades 0 and 1). Around 26.2% of the animals were exposed to a moderate degree of stress (severity grade 2) and 2.7% to severe stress (severity grade 3).

Animal experiments 2009-2018: development of severity according to number of animals

(05.07.2019)

Animal experimentation

Switzerland possesses one of the most comprehensive legislations on animal welfare in the world. The area of animal research is regulated in a particularly strict manner: Each individual animal experiment applied for is examined by a cantonal committee on animal experimentation. Researchers must demonstrate that the benefits to society are greater than the distress suffered by the animals involved (harm-benefit analysis).

Thanks to the guiding principles of the 3Rs (Replacement, Reduction and Refinement), it has been possible to dramatically reduce the number of animal experiments conducted in recent years.

Principle 3R

Animal experiments must only be allowed if no alternative methods are available for answering scientific questions. The number of laboratory animals and the strain that they suffer must be kept to a minimum.

Degree of severity and harm-benefit analysis

The harm-benefit analysis determines whether or not an animal experiment may be authorised and conducted. During the process, the gain in knowledge expected is compared with the anticipated level of distress suffered by the animal.

Application and authorisation

In Switzerland, each individual animal experiment and laboratory animal facility must be approved. The aim of this strict procedure is to protect animals from suffering constraint in a way that cannot be justified.

Reports and announcements

Persons conducting animal experiments must provide regular reports about the number of laboratory animals used along with information about the experiments conducted.

Training and continuing education

Persons conducting animal experiments are required to possess the necessary skills, complete a specific training course and take continuing education courses. Persons caring for laboratory animals are also required to be qualified and take continuing education courses regularly.

Researchers

The handling of experimental animals is clearly regulated. In addition to the legal requirements, we provide you with specific technical information, explanations and forms on this page. Animal experiments must be managed with the web application "e-tierversuche".

More information

Last modification 03.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche.html

Expérimentation animale

En Suisse, les expériences sur les animaux ne sont admises que si aucune alternative n’est possible. La détention d’animaux de laboratoire est également soumise à des règles strictes, tout comme la formation de base et la formation qualifiante des chercheurs amenés à travailler avec des animaux. 

Actuel

Expériences sur les animaux en 2018 : moins d’animaux utilisés

En 2018, 586 643 animaux ont été utilisés pour l'expérimentation animale en Suisse, ce qui représente une baisse de 4,6 % par rapport à 2017. Par rapport à 2009, le nombre d’animaux utilisés a diminué de plus de 16,9 %.

Expérimentation animale 2009-2018 : le nombre d’animaux utilisés en expérimentation animale a diminué en 2018

En 2018, 71,1 % des animaux ont été utilisés dans des expériences ne provoquant aucune contrainte ou des contraintes légères (degré de gravité 0 et 1). Quelque 26,2 % des animaux ont subi des contraintes moyennes (degré de gravité 2) et 2,7 % des contraintes sévères (degré de gravité 3).

Expérimentation animale 2009-2018 : évolution des différents degrés de gravité subis par les animaux

(05.07.2019)

Tierversuche

La législation suisse sur la protection des animaux est l’une des plus complètes du monde et le domaine des expériences sur les animaux y est strictement réglementé : chaque expérience revendiquée est examinée par une commission cantonale pour les expériences sur les animaux. Les chercheurs doivent prouver que les bénéfices pour la société sont plus importants que les souffrances infligées aux animaux lors des expériences (pesée des intérêts).

3R : Replace, Reduce, Refine

Les expériences sur les animaux sont autorisées uniquement s’il n’existe aucune méthode alternative permettant d’apporter une réponse à la problématique posée. Le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire et les contraintes infligées aux animaux doivent être le plus possible limités.

Pesée des bénéfices et des contraintes

La pesée des intérêts permet de déterminer si une expérience sur des animaux peut être autorisée et pratiquée. Les nouvelles connaissances qui doivent en être retirées sont mises en balance avec la contrainte pour les animaux.

Demande et autorisation

Toute expérience sur des animaux et toute détention d’animaux de laboratoire en Suisse sont soumises à autorisation. Cette procédure stricte a pour objectif de protéger les animaux de souffrances injustifiées.

Déclarations et notifications

Toute personne pratiquant des expériences sur des animaux est tenue de déclarer régulièrement le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire et de rendre compte des expériences terminées.

Formation et formation continue

Toute personne pratiquant des expériences sur des animaux est tenue de disposer des connaissances requises et de suivre une formation de base spécifique et des formations continues. Les personnes qui s’occupent des animaux de laboratoire doivent également être dûment formées et suivre des formations continues régulières.

Chercheurs

La manière de traiter les animaux d’expérience fait l’objet d’une règlementation claire. Vous trouverez ici les dispositions légales en vigueur, des fiches thématiques spécifiques, des explications et des formulaires. Les expériences sur animaux doivent être gérées à l’aide de l’application web e-tierversuche.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 03.09.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/tierversuche.html