The three Rs – Replace, Reduce, Refine animal experimentation

Animal experiments must only be allowed if no alternative methods are available for answering scientific questions. The number of laboratory animals and the strain that they suffer must be kept to a minimum. 

News

Alternatives to CO2 – accepting responsibility for the humane euthanasia of animals

Carbon dioxide (CO2) is used to euthanize mice and rats, because it allows many animals to be euthanized simultaneously and the animals do not have to be handled. New scientific evidence now calls into question the suitability of CO2 for the euthanasia of rodents from an animal welfare perspective.

The FSVO is reviewing the suitability of CO2 for the euthanasia of mice and rats as part of its commitment to promoting the 3Rs. As with all procedures involving laboratory animals, there is also scope for improvement in the euthanasia of rodents with the 3Rs principle of refinement.

The 3R Symposium - Alternatives to CO2 in 2018 showed that alternatives to CO2 must be found. The outcome of this event is summarised in the publication Alternatives to Carbon Dioxide—Taking Responsibility for Humanely Ending the Life of Animals.

At the 3R Symposium – Alternatives to CO2 in 2019, the latest research results were presented along with the draft of the Research Strategy – Alternatives to CO2. The publication of the research strategy is in preparation.

The next 3R Symposium – Alternatives to CO2 takes place on 28 May 2020. Further information will follow soon.

(14.08.2019)

Researchers in Switzerland are obliged to keep animal experiments to a minimum. Rather than animal experiments, alternative methods must be used where possible. The 3R principles (replace, reduce, refine) call for the development and use of alternatives to animal experiments, the reduction of animal experiments to the absolute minimum and improvements in experiments to ensure that animals are subjected to a minimum of strain; see also under “More information > Links: Russell and Burch, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique”.

The pharmaceutical industry, researchers, laboratory animal experts, federal government, animal protection groups and politicians have been committed to the application of the 3Rs for the past 30 years. This has made it possible to cut the number of animal experiments from 2 million to 600,000 and to reduce the strain on the animals.

In 2015 the Federal Council approved a report on animal experimentation in Switzerland. The report demonstrates how research into alternative methods can be promoted, how the number of animal experiments can be reduced and how the strain on the animals involved can be lessened. To this end, the Federal Council proposes several measures (see “More information”).

From the 3R Research Foundation to the 3R Competence Centre

From 1987 to 2018 the 3R Research Foundation was in charge of funding 3R research projects on the 3R principles. The Foundation was a joint initiative of the Parliamentary Group for animal experimentation, the Animalfree Research foundation and Interpharma. It was supervised by the Federal Department of Home Affairs. The FSVO was represented on the Foundation’s board and expert committee. The 3R Research Foundation was replaced by the Swiss 3R Competence Centre in March 2018.

With the creation of the 3R Competence Centre (3RCC), higher education institutions and the pharmaceutical industry take the responsibility to further promote for establishing a 3Rs culture in Switzerland. The 3RCC not only funds 3R research projects. Its mandate also includes education and communication on the 3Rs. Politicians, federal government and animal welfare groups support the 3RCC in management bodies, and the FSVO participates in the 3RCC’s strategic management. The 3RCC consists of a head office in Bern and a network of coordinators responsible for the 3Rs within the higher education institutions.

The 3RCC is funded by the federal government (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) and FSVO), Interpharma and the participating higher education institutions.

More information

Last modification 14.08.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzipien.html

3R : Replace, Reduce, Refine – remplacer, réduire et réformer les expériences sur les animaux

Les expériences sur les animaux sont autorisées uniquement s’il n’existe aucune méthode alternative permettant d’apporter une réponse à la problématique posée. Le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire et les contraintes infligées aux animaux doivent être le plus possible limités.

Actuel

Solutions de substitution au CO2 pour une euthanasie plus décente des animaux

Les souris et les rats sont euthanasiés à l’aide de dioxyde de carbone (CO2), car cette méthode permet d’euthanasier sans contention un grand nombre d’animaux à la fois. Pourtant, de nouvelles découvertes scientifiques remettent en question la pertinence de cette substance pour des motifs de protection des animaux.

L’OSAV se penche sur ce sujet dans le cadre de son engagement en faveur du renforcement des 3R. À l’instar de toutes les manipulations sur des animaux d’expérience, l’euthanasie des rongeurs peut elle aussi être améliorée sur la base du principe des 3R, le « refinement ».

L’édition 2018 du symposium 3R « Alternatives to CO2 » a montré qu’il fallait trouver des solutions de substitution au CO2. Les résultats de cette rencontre sont résumés dans la publication Alternatives to Carbon Dioxide—Taking Responsibility for Humanely Ending the Life of Animals

Le symposium de cette année a fait état des derniers résultats de la recherche et d’un projet de stratégie de recherche dans ce domaine, dont la publication est en préparation.

Le prochain symposium aura lieu le 28 mai 2020. De plus amples informations suivront prochainement.

 

(12.08.2019)

En Suisse, les chercheurs sont tenus de réduire à un minimum le nombre d’expériences sur des animaux. Les méthodes de substitution doivent être utilisées quand cela est possible. Les principes 3R (replace, reduce, refine) soutiennent la recherche de méthodes de substitution à l’expérimentation animale, la réduction au strict minimum des expériences sur les animaux et leur amélioration afin de réduire autant que possible les souffrances infligées (voir sous « Informations complémentaires > Liens : Russell and Burch, 1959, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique »).

L’industrie pharmaceutique, les chercheurs, les spécialistes en expérimentation animale, la Confédération, la protection des animaux et les milieux politiques s’engagent depuis 30 ans pour l’application des principes 3R. Grâce à cela, le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire est passé de 2 millions à 600 000 et les contraintes infligées aux animaux ont aussi pu être réduites.

Le Conseil fédéral a adopté en 2015 un rapport sur l’expérimentation animale en Suisse. Il montre comment encourager la recherche de méthodes de substitution, réduire le nombre d’expériences sur les animaux et diminuer les contraintes subies par ceux-ci. Pour cela, le Conseil fédéral propose plusieurs mesures (voir « Informations complémentaires »).

De la Fondation Recherches 3R au Centre de compétence 3R

De 1987 à 2018, la Fondation Recherches 3R a financé des projets de recherche respectant les principes 3R. Elle était une œuvre commune du groupe parlementaire pour les questions relatives à l’expérimentation animale, de la Fondation Animalfree Research et d’Interpharma. Elle agissait sous la surveillance du Département fédéral de l’intérieur. L’OSAV était représenté au sein du conseil d’administration et du comité d’experts. La Fondation Recherches 3R a été remplacée par le Centre de compétence 3R en mars 2018.

Avec la création du Centre de compétence 3R (3RCC), les hautes écoles et l'industrie pharmaceutique assument la responsabilité de développer une culture 3R en Suisse. Le 3RCC ne finance pas seulement des projets de recherche 3R, mais est aussi chargé de la formation et de la communication dans ce domaine. Les milieux politiques, la Confédération et la protection des animaux apportent leur soutien au 3RCC dans les comités de direction. L’OSAV participe à la direction stratégique. Le 3RCC dispose d’un bureau à Berne et s’appuie sur un réseau de responsables 3R dans les hautes écoles.

Le 3RCC est soutenu financièrement par la Confédération (Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation SEFRI et OSAV), par Interpharma et par les hautes écoles participantes.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 12.08.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzipien.html