Do iodine tablets for breastfeeding mothers ensure the iodine supply for babies?

Supplements of iodine tablets to breastfeeding mothers should provide babies with sufficient iodine. How much do iodine tablets influence the iodine concentration in mothers’ milk? How do they affect the iodine supply of babies? A study carried out for the FSVO explores these questions.

Iodine is an essential trace element for the human body and occurs naturally in fish and seafood as well as in dairy products and other agricultural products.
Iodine is an essential trace element for the human body and occurs naturally in fish and seafood as well as in dairy products and other agricultural products.

Representative, nationwide studies show that the iodine status of the Swiss population is low. In particular, women of childbearing age, pregnant and breastfeeding women, as well as young children are inadequately supplied with iodine. In this country the iodine concentration in mother’s milk of breastfeeding women is three times lower than in countries with an adequate iodine supply.

The iodine concentration in the mother’s milk is expected to be increased by supplementing breastfeeding mothers with iodine tablets and ensures an adequate supply of iodine to the baby.
The iodine concentration in the mother’s milk is expected to be increased by supplementing breastfeeding mothers with iodine tablets and ensures an adequate supply of iodine to the baby.


Many countries recommend iodine supplements during the breastfeeding period. However, their effectiveness is not proven. The optimal dose is not defined because the available data for deriving an average daily requirement for breastfeeding women is inadequate.

Aims of the Study

  • To determine an estimated average daily requirement (EAR) of iodine during the breastfeeding period.
  • To assess the dose-effect of a postnatal iodine supplementation on the iodine concentration in mother’s milk in breastfeeding women.
  • To estimate the required maternal iodine supply so as to ensure an adequate iodine supply for breastfed babies.

Study design

To achieve these aims a randomised dose-effect quantitative study will be carried out with 24 exclusively breastfeeding women and their babies, Various iodine dosages (0 – 500 µg/day) will be tested with a crossover design in supplemented (n=12) and un-supplemented (n=12) women. For each dosage the average iodine uptake and elimination will be measured for the mothers (urine collected/24 hours and mother’s milk) and for their babies (urine in the nappies) and the retention calculated. The daily iodine intake required for a positive metabolic equilibrium during the breastfeeding period and in the baby will be determined. Likewise, the optimal dose supply of iodine, which is needed to normalise the iodine deficiency of the mothers and babies will be determined.

What do we have in mind?

The recommended iodine supply during the breastfeeding period varies between countries (e.g. 290 µg/d in USA, 260 µg/d in Germany and 200 µg/d in Switzerland and France) and needs to be harmonised. The WHO recommends an iodine supplementation of 250 µg/d when the supply from iodised salt is inadequate. This recommendation is valid for many countries worldwide, particularly in Europe. A postnatal iodine supplement regime of 150 µg/d is also recommended in countries with a sufficient iodine status, in spite of weaker evidence.

The results obtained from this study will be directly incorporated into national and international recommendations. The results will provide information on the adequate supply of iodine for breastfeeding women and babies as well as on the question of the need for iodine supplements during the breastfeeding period in iodine-poor and iodine-rich populations.

The results will also be published as scientific papers in pertinent scientific journals as open-access publications and presented at national and international symposia and conferences.

Ethics and data protection

The Study is approved by the cantonal ethics commission of the Canton of Zurich. All participating mothers will agree to a declaration of consent. The mother-child pair will be compensated for their participation in the Study. The Study will be registered in ClinicalTrials.gov.

Personal data are subject to data protection and are treated confidentially. All data will be anonymised, i.e. names and contact information shall be saved separately. All evaluations and analyses are carried out without reference to names and addresses. The resulting information is presented exclusively in anonymised form.

When will the Study be carried out?

The Study began in January 2021. The results and the final report are expected at the end of 2023.

Financing

The Study is financed by the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (contract no. 714001461).

Who is carrying out the Study?

The Children’s Hospital Zurich (Eleonar Foundation) and the Laboratory for Human Nutrition at the ETH Zurich have been commissioned to carry out the Study.

(27.12.2021)

More Information

Last modification 03.01.2022

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/forschung/gesundheitliche-risiken/ernaehrungsrisiken/jod-supplementierung-stillende-muetter.html

Comprimés d’iode pour les mères qui allaitent : un apport d’iode suffisant pour les nourrissons?

Supplémenter les mères qui allaitent avec des comprimés d’iode pour fournir suffisamment d’iode aux nourrissons : dans quelle mesure les comprimés d’iode influencent-ils la concentration d’iode dans le lait maternel? Quelle est leur influence sur l’apport d’iode des nourrissons? Une étude de l’OSAV répond à ces questions.

L’iode est un oligoélément essentiel pour le corps humain qui se trouve naturellement dans le poisson et les fruits de mer ainsi que dans les produits laitiers et d’autres produits agricoles.
L’iode est un oligoélément essentiel pour le corps humain qui se trouve naturellement dans le poisson et les fruits de mer ainsi que dans les produits laitiers et d’autres produits agricoles.

Des études transversales nationales et représentatives montrent que la population suisse consomme peu d’iode. Ce sont surtout les femmes en âge de procréer, enceintes et allaitantes et les petits enfants qui sont concernés. La concentration d’iode dans le lait maternel des femmes allaitantes est trois fois plus faible en Suisse que dans les pays où l’approvisionnement en iode est suffisant.

La supplémentation des mères qui allaitent en comprimés d’iode vise à augmenter la concentration d’iode dans le lait maternel et à garantir un apport suffisant en iode pour le nourrisson.
La supplémentation des mères qui allaitent en comprimés d’iode vise à augmenter la concentration d’iode dans le lait maternel et à garantir un apport suffisant en iode pour le nourrisson.


De nombreux pays recommandent une supplémentation en iode pendant l’allaitement, même son efficacité n’est pas prouvée. La dose optimale n’est pas définie faute de données permettant de déduire les besoins quotidiens moyens des femmes allaitantes.

Objectifs de l'étude

  • Déterminer les besoins moyens estimés (BME, EAR en anglais) en iode pendant l’allaitement
  • Évaluer la relation dose-effet de la supplémentation postnatale en iode sur la concentration d’iode dans le lait maternel
  • Déterminer l’apport en iode nécessaire chez la femme allaitante pour garantir un apport suffisant aux nourrissons allaités

Concept de l’étude

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, une étude croisée, randomisée, de la relation dose-effet est menée auprès de 24 femmes qui nourrissent leur enfant exclusivement au sein et de leurs nourrissons. Différents dosages d’iode (de 0 à 500 µg/jour) sont testés chez des femmes supplémentées (n=12) et non supplémentées (n=12). Pour chaque dose, l’absorption et l’excrétion quotidiennes d’iode chez les mères (urines collectées sur 24 heures et lait maternel) et les nourrissons (urines dans les couches) sont mesurées, et la rétention calculée. L’étude vise à déterminer l’apport journalier en iode nécessaire pour parvenir à un équilibre métabolique positif chez la mère pendant l’allaitement et chez le nourrisson. Idem pour la dose optimale nécessaire pour remédier aux carences en iode chez les mères et leurs nourrissons.

Démarche

L’apport recommandé en iode chez la femme allaitante varie selon les pays (par ex. 290 µg/j aux États-Unis, 260 µg/j en Allemagne, 200 µg/j en Suisse et en France) et nécessite une harmonisation. L’OMS recommande une supplémentation en iode de 250 µg/j si l’apport fourni par le sel iodé est insuffisant, une préconisation reprise par de nombreux pays, notamment en Europe. Une supplémentation postnatale en iode de 150 µg/j est également recommandée dans les pays affichant un statut en iode suffisant, et ce en l’absence de données scientifiques probantes.

Les résultats de cette étude alimenteront directement les recommandations nationales et internationales : ils fournissent des informations sur l’apport adéquat en iode chez les femmes allaitantes et les nourrissons, ainsi que sur la question de la nécessité d’une supplémentation en iode pendant l’allaitement dans les populations mal ou bien approvisionnées en iode.

Les conclusions seront également publiées sous forme d’articles en libre accès dans des revues scientifiques spécialisées et présentées lors de congrès et de conférences d’envergures nationale et internationale.

Éthique et protection des données

L’approbation éthique est délivrée par la Commission d’éthique du canton de Zurich. L’ensemble des mères participant à l’étude remettent une déclaration écrite de consentement. Les couples mère-enfant sont rémunérés au titre de leur participation à l’étude. L’étude est recensée dans la banque de données ClinicalTrials.gov.

Les données personnelles sont soumises à la loi sur la protection des données et sont traitées de manière confidentielle. Toutes les données sont enregistrées sous une forme anonymisée, c’est-à-dire séparément des noms et des coordonnées. Aucune des évaluations ou des analyses effectuées ne fait non plus référence au nom ou aux adresses des participants. Les informations recueillies sont présentées uniquement sous une forme anonymisée.

Calendrier

L’étude a débuté en janvier 2021. Les résultats et le rapport final sont attendus fin 2023.

Financement

L’étude est financée par l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (contrat n° 714001461).

Mandataire

L’hôpital pédiatrique universitaire de Zurich Eleonorenstiftung et le laboratoire de nutrition humaine de l’EPF de Zurich ont été mandatés pour conduire cette étude.

(27.12.2021)

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 03.01.2022

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/forschung/gesundheitliche-risiken/ernaehrungsrisiken/jod-supplementierung-stillende-muetter.html