Export of Foods

Foods can be exported under certain conditions both to the EU and to third countries. Irrespective of the country of destination, additional export regulations apply to foods derived from protected animal species.

Foods produced in Switzerland must meet the requirements of Swiss food legislation. Export products may deviate from Swiss food legislation - provided the country of destination requires or permits this.

The country of destination may require the exporting establishment to be registered. Lists of establishments approved for exports are usually available on the website of the relevant foreign authority.

Questions regarding exports should be addressed to the cantonal enforcement authorities (see "More information").

Export of foods of non-animal origin

The export conditions for foods of non-animal origin do not differ depending on the destination (EU or third country).

Export certificates are necessary if required by the country of destination or the recipient in the country of destination. Export certificates are issued by the competent cantonal food inspection authorities.

Export of foods of animal origin

The export conditions for foods of animal origin differ depending on the destination (EU or third country), and depending on the species conservation regulations.

Export of foods of animal origin to the EU

Anyone wishing to export foods of animal origin to the EU must carry a commercial document. In addition, the goods to be exported must come from approved establishments.

As from 29 November 2009, the additional document with BSE guarantees required by France can be signed by the establishment’s competent person. This document is required for all products derived from cattle, sheep and goats – even if the products contain only substances such as gelatin or fats.

Export of foods of animal origin to third countries

Establishments exporting foods of animal origin to third countries must be approved for export if this is required by the country of destination. Third countries often make the lists of approved establishments available on the website of the competent authority. The approval of establishments is the responsibility of the authority designated by the relevant Canton (see "More information").

Exports of foods of animal origin to third countries require - depending on the country - a health certificate from the competent cantonal enforcement authorities. Parties interested in exporting should contact the cantonal enforcement authority (see “More information").

The list of validated health certificates and additional certificates can be found below.

Export of foods derived from protected animal species (CITES)

In addition, and irrespective of the country of destination (EU or third country), exports of foods derived from protected animal species (e.g. caviar, caviar extracts and fillets from protected species of sturgeon) require an export permit from the FSVO.

To this end, an original export application signed by the applicant must be submitted to the FSVO. Export applications for caviar and caviar extract must be accompanied by stock monitoring documentation (see "CITES" under "More information").

The issuing of export certificates for foods made from animal parts or products derived from protected animal species (CITES) is the responsibility of the FSVO.  

More information

Last modification 15.11.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/export/lebensmittel.html

Exportation d'aliments

Dans certaines conditions, les denrées alimentaires peuvent être exportées non seulement vers l’UE, mais aussi vers les pays tiers. Indépendamment du pays de destination, l’exportation de denrées alimentaires issues d’animaux protégés est soumise à des dispositions spécifiques. 

Les denrées alimentaires produites en Suisse doivent être conformes aux exigences de la législation suisse sur les denrées alimentaires. Les marchandises exportées peuvent déroger de ces règles, à condition que le pays de destination l’exige ou l’autorise.
Ce dernier peut aussi fixer la condition que l’établissement d’exportation soit enregistré. Les listes des établissements autorisés à exporter sont généralement publiées sur le site de l’autorité étrangère concernée.
Les autorités cantonales chargées du contrôle des denrées alimentaires répondent aux questions concernant l’exportation (voir rubrique «informations complémentaires» > Liens ).

Exportation de denrées alimentaires d’origine non animale

Les conditions d’exportation pour les denrées alimentaires d’origine non animale sont les mêmes quel que soit le lieu de destination (UE ou pays tiers).

Un certificat d’exportation est requis si le pays de destination ou le destinataire du pays de destination l’exige. Il est délivré par l’autorité cantonale compétente chargée du contrôle des denrées alimentaires.

Exportation de denrées alimentaires d’origine animale

Les conditions d’exportation pour les denrées alimentaires d’origine animale divergent en ce qui concerne le lieu de destination (UE ou pays tiers), d’une part, et les conditions du droit sur la conservation des espèces, d’autre part.

Exportation de denrées alimentaires d’origine animale vers l’UE

Pour exporter des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale vers l’UE, il faut un document commercial. La marchandise doit de plus provenir d’un établissement autorisé.

Depuis le 29 novembre 2009, la personne responsable de l'entreprise de provenance peut signer l'attestation supplémentaire prévoyant des garanties spécifiques relatives à l'ESB, requise par la France. Cette attestation est exigée pour les produits dérivés de bovins, d'ovins ou de caprins domestiques, même s'ils ne contiennent que de la gélatine ou de la graisse, par exemple.

Exportation de denrées alimentaires d’origine animale vers un pays tiers

Les établissements qui exportent des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale vers un pays tiers doivent être agréés si le pays de destination l’exige. En principe, le pays tiers publie les listes des établissements agréés sur le site Internet des autorités compétentes. L’agrément des établissements relève de la compétence de l’autorité désignée par chaque canton (voir « Contact »).

Selon le pays, il est nécessaire d’avoir un certificat sanitaire de l’autorité d’exécution cantonale compétente pour exporter des denrées alimentaires d’origine animale vers un pays tiers. Quiconque est intéressé par des activités d’exportation doit s’adresser à l’autorité d’exécution cantonale compétente (voir « Contact »).

La liste des certificats sanitaires validés et d’autres certificats est disponible ci-dessous.

La législation de l’Union économique eurasiatique (UEE) de même que les listes des établissements d’exportation suisses autorisés (au sens de l’art. 51 OITE-PT) peuvent être consultées sur la page « Exportation d’animaux et de produits animaux » sous « Informations complémentaires ».

Exportation de denrées alimentaires issues d’animaux protégés (CITES)

Quel que soit le pays de destination (UE ou pays tiers), il est nécessaire d’avoir en plus un permis de l’OSAV pour exporter des denrées alimentaires issues d’animaux protégés (caviar, extraits de caviar et filets d’esturgeon protégés, par ex.).
Le formulaire de demande original, signé par le requérant, doit être déposé auprès de l’OSAV. Pour l’exportation de caviar et d’extraits de caviar, le décompte des quantités du registre de contrôle doit être joint à la demande (voir « CITES » sous « Informations complémentaires »).

C’est l’OSAV qui est chargé de délivrer les certificats d’exportation pour les denrées alimentaires issues d’animaux protégés (CITES).

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 26.09.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/export/lebensmittel.html