CITES

CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) is a trade convention drawn up to ensure that the animal and plant life on our planet is used sustainably and conserved.

Logo CoP 18 CITES

News

Changes decided at CITES CoP18 entered into force on December 1st 2019

Three months after the 18th CITES Conference of the Parties took place in Geneva, important changes to trade regulations, which the Parties decided on, entered into force for Switzerland. The new decisions affect trade regulations for instruments made from certain wood species, which will no longer require permits for international trade, or the trade in some shark- and reptile species to name a few.

The changes affecting trade requirements for animal and plant species entered into force on December 1st 2019. It is important to know that this applies for the Swiss legislation and the date might be different for other CITES Parties. Information on the most important changes and what they mean can be found here:

 

(02.12.2019) 

CITES logo

It was realised long ago that excessive international trade was developing into a serious threat for many species. Against this background, the "Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora" – CITES for short (also known as the Washington Convention) – came into being in 1973. Switzerland was one of the first signatories of this Convention. The CITES Secretariat is in Geneva. Today, more than 180 countries have already undertaken to work together through CITES to protect flora and fauna

CITES – regulated trade in protected plant and animal species

Endangered plant and animal species should only be traded to the extent permitted by their natural populations. Sustainable, regulated trade is often a more efficient form of protection than an absolute ban on trade. Under the CITES Convention, the term trade refers to any instance in which a border is crossed.

The export and import of live animals and plants, parts of them or products made from them is either illegal or requires a permit, depending on the extent of the threat to the species in question.

The CITES Appendices now list more than 5,000 species of animal and 28,000 plant species listed in (see "More information"). The species protected under CITES are divided into three protection categories, depending on the extent of the threat.

CITES Appendices

  • Appendix I: Species listed in Appendix I are in acute danger. Trade in these species is severely restricted or illegal (e.g. ivory, tortoiseshell products). Exceptions include prior acquisitions*, products that demonstrably originate from captive-bred animals and specimens for species-conservation programmes and research purposes.

  • The species listed in Appendices II and III of CITES might be threatened if trade in them were not controlled.
     

* Prior acquisitions: Specimens that were traded before the Convention came into effect for the species concerned (e.g. antiques containing ivory).

CITES and Switzerland

As the enforcement authority for CITES, the FSVO plays an important role in protecting and conserving animal and plant species and their habitats. Switzerland generally requires an import or export licence for specimens covered by CITES. These licences are issued by the FSVO. 

More information

Last modification 02.12.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/cites.html

CITES

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, CITES) est un accord commercial visant à préserver la faune et la flore de notre planète et à en assurer une exploitation durable.

Logo CoP 18 CITES

Actuel

Entrée en vigueur des dispositions sur la protection des espèces adoptées à la conférence CITES

Les décisions prises à Genève, à la 18e conférence des Parties à la convention sur la conservation des espèces (CITES), sont entrées en vigueur en Suisse trois mois après la fin de la conférence. Il n'est, par exemple, plus exigé d’autorisation pour les instruments de musique fabriqués avec certaines espèces de bois, et des espèces supplémentaires de requins et de reptiles ont été inscrites dans les annexes de la convention CITES.

Les modifications du statut de protection de certaines espèces animales et végétales dans le commerce international sont en vigueur en Suisse depuis le 1er décembre. Attention : cette date ne concerne que la Suisse. Elle peut être différente dans d’autres pays. Voici les principales modifications et ce qu’elles signifient :

 

(02.12.2019) 

Reconnaissant il y a longtemps déjà que les échanges internationaux excessifs menaçaient la survie de nombreuses espèces, des États ont conclu en 1973 une Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction, ou CITES (aussi connue sous le nom de Convention de Washington). La Suisse a été l’un des premiers pays à signer cette convention. Le Secrétariat de la CITES se trouve à Genève. Aujourd’hui, plus de 180 pays se sont déjà engagés à collaborer en faveur de la conservation des espèces.

CITES – réglementation du commerce d’animaux et de plantes protégés

Le commerce d’espèces d’animaux et de plantes menacées n’est autorisé que dans la mesure où les ressources naturelles en assurent la pérennité. Un commerce durable et réglementé constitue souvent une protection plus efficace qu’une interdiction pure et simple du commerce. Par commerce au sens de la CITES, on entend tout franchissement de frontière.
L’exportation et l’importation d’animaux vivants et de plantes ou de leurs parties ou produits sont, selon la gravité de la menace, soit interdits, soit soumis à autorisation.

À présent, plus de 5000 espèces animales et 28 000 espèces végétales figurent dans les annexes de la CITES (voir « Informations complémentaires »). Les espèces protégées par la CITES sont classées en trois catégories bénéficiant de degrés de protection différents selon la gravité de la menace.

Annexes de la CITES

  • Annexe I : à l’annexe I figurent les espèces extrêmement menacées. Le commerce des spécimens de ces espèces est fortement restreint, voire interdit (ivoire, produits en écaille de tortue, etc.). Sont exceptés notamment les spécimens pré-convention*, les produits qui proviennent, preuve à l’appui, d’animaux d’élevage et ceux qui sont destinés à des programmes d’élevage conservatoire ou à des fins de recherche.

  • Les espèces mentionnées aux annexes II et III pourraient être mises en danger si leur commerce n’était pas contrôlé.
     

* Spécimens pré-convention : spécimens qui ont été commercialisés avant que la convention ne traite de l’espèce animale concernée (comme les antiquités en ivoire).

La CITES et la Suisse

En sa qualité d’autorité d’application de la CITES, l’OSAV contribue dans une large mesure à la protection et à la préservation des espèces animales et végétales et de leurs habitats.

Souvent, il faut avoir un permis d’importation et un permis d’exportation pour importer ou exporter des spécimens CITES. Ces permis sont délivrés par l’OSAV.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 02.12.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/cites.html