Export of Foods

Foods can be exported under certain conditions both to the EU and to third countries. Irrespective of the country of destination, additional export regulations apply to foods derived from protected animal species.

Foods produced in Switzerland must meet the requirements of Swiss food legislation. Export products may deviate from Swiss food legislation - provided the country of destination requires or permits this.

The country of destination may require the exporting establishment to be registered. Lists of establishments approved for exports are usually available on the website of the relevant foreign authority.

Questions regarding exports should be addressed to the cantonal enforcement authorities (see "More information").

Export of foods of non-animal origin

The export conditions for foods of non-animal origin do not differ depending on the destination (EU or third country).

Export certificates are necessary if required by the country of destination or the recipient in the country of destination. Export certificates are issued by the competent cantonal food inspection authorities.

Export of foods of animal origin

The export conditions for foods of animal origin differ depending on the destination (EU or third country), and depending on the species conservation regulations.

Export of foods of animal origin to the EU

Anyone wishing to export foods of animal origin to the EU must carry a commercial document. In addition, the goods to be exported must come from approved establishments.

As from 29 November 2009, the additional document with BSE guarantees required by France can be signed by the establishment’s competent person. This document is required for all products derived from cattle, sheep and goats – even if the products contain only substances such as gelatin or fats.

Export of foods of animal origin to third countries

Establishments exporting foods of animal origin to third countries must be approved for export if this is required by the country of destination. Third countries often make the lists of approved establishments available on the website of the competent authority. The approval of establishments is the responsibility of the authority designated by the relevant Canton (see "More information").

Exports of foods of animal origin to third countries require - depending on the country - a health certificate from the competent cantonal enforcement authorities. Parties interested in exporting should contact the cantonal enforcement authority (see “More information").

The list of validated health certificates and additional certificates can be found below.

Export of foods derived from protected animal species (CITES)

In addition, and irrespective of the country of destination (EU or third country), exports of foods derived from protected animal species (e.g. caviar, caviar extracts and fillets from protected species of sturgeon) require an export permit from the FSVO.

To this end, an original export application signed by the applicant must be submitted to the FSVO. Export applications for caviar and caviar extract must be accompanied by stock monitoring documentation (see "CITES" under "More information").

The issuing of export certificates for foods made from animal parts or products derived from protected animal species (CITES) is the responsibility of the FSVO.  

More information

Last modification 15.11.2017

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/export/lebensmittel.html

Export von Lebensmitteln

Lebensmittel können unter bestimmten Bedingungen sowohl in die EU als auch in Drittstaaten exportiert werden. Unabhängig vom Bestimmungsland gelten für Lebensmittel von artengeschützten Tieren zusätzliche Ausfuhrbestimmungen.

In der Schweiz hergestellte Lebensmittel müssen grundsätzlich den Anforderungen der schweizerischen Lebensmittelgesetzgebung entsprechen. Exportwaren können von der schweizerischen Lebensmittelgesetzgebung abweichen - sofern das Bestimmungsland dies verlangt oder zulässt.
Das Bestimmungsland stellt allenfalls die Bedingung, dass der Exportbetrieb registriert sein muss. Listen der für die Ausfuhr zugelassenen Betriebe sind meist auf der Webseite der betreffenden ausländischen Behörde abrufbar.
Für Fragen zum Export sind grundsätzlich die Behörden der kantonalen Vollzugsbehörden zuständig (siehe "weitere Informationen“ > Links)

Export von Lebensmitteln nicht-tierischer Herkunft

Die Exportbedingungen für Lebensmittel nicht-tierischer Herkunft unterscheiden sich nicht in Bezug auf den Bestimmungsort (EU oder Drittstaat).

Exportzertifikate sind notwendig, wenn das Bestimmungsland oder der Empfänger im Bestimmungsland dies verlangen. Die Exportzertifikate stellen die zuständigen kantonalen Lebensmittelkontrollbehörden aus.

Export von Lebensmitteln tierischer Herkunft

Die Exportbedingungen für Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft unterscheiden sich einerseits in Bezug auf den Bestimmungsort (EU oder Drittland), andererseits auf die artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen.

Export von Lebensmitteln tierischer Herkunft in die EU

Wer Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft in die EU exportieren will, muss ein Handelsdokument mitführen. Die zu exportierenden Waren müssen zudem aus bewilligten Betrieben stammen.

Das von Frankreich verlangte Zusatzdokument mit BSE-Garantien kann seit dem 29. November 2009 von der zuständigen Person des Betriebes unterschrieben werden. Es wird für alle Produkte verlangt, die von Rindern, Schafen und Ziegen abstammen – auch wenn sie z.B. nur Gelatine oder Fette enthalten.

Export von Lebensmitteln tierischer Herkunft in Drittländer

Betriebe, welche Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft in Drittstaaten exportieren, müssen für den Export zugelassen sein, falls dies vom Bestimmungsland gefordert wird. Oft stellt der Drittstaat die Listen der zugelassenen Betriebe auf der Webseite der zuständigen Behörde zur Verfügung. Für die Bewilligung der Betriebe ist die vom jeweiligen Kanton bezeichnete Behörde zuständig (siehe "weitere Informationen“ >Detail > Kontakt).

Für die Ausfuhr von Lebensmitteln tierischer Herkunft in Drittländer braucht es je nach Land eine Gesundheitsbescheinigung der zuständigen kantonalen Vollzugsbehörden. Exportinteressierte wenden sich an die kantonale Vollzugsbehörde (siehe "weitere Informationen“ >Detail > Kontakt).

Die Liste der validierten Gesundheitsbescheinigungen und zusätzlicher Bescheinigungen befindet sich unten.

Export von Lebensmitteln von artengeschützten Tieren (CITES)

Zusätzlich und unabhängig vom Bestimmungsland (EU oder Drittstaat) ist für den Export von Lebensmitteln von artengeschützten Tieren (z.B. Kaviar, Kaviarextrakte und Störfilets von artengeschützten Störfischen) eine Ausfuhrbewilligung des BLV erforderlich.
Dafür muss beim BLV ein Ausfuhrgesuch im Original eingereicht werden, das vom Gesuchsteller unterschrieben ist. Ausfuhrgesuchen für Kaviar und Kaviarextrakt muss die Dokumentation der Bestandeskontrolle beigefügt werden (siehe „CITES“ unter „Weitere Informationen“).

Für das Ausstellen von Exportzertifikaten für Lebensmittel aus Teilen oder Produkten von artengeschützten Tieren (CITES) ist das BLV zuständig.  

Weitere Informationen

Links

Kontakt

Letzte Änderung 15.11.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/export/lebensmittel.html