Shawls made from Tibetan antelope wool

Shahtoosh wool obtained from the Tibetan antelope is considered to be the finest wool in the world. Three to five antelopes are killed in order to produce a shahtoosh shawl. As a result, the antelopes are an endangered species and trade in the shawls is strictly prohibited. 

News

41 shahtoosh wool shawls seized in 2018: illegal trade still as significant as ever

In 2018, the FSVO and the Swiss Federal Customs Administration seized 41 shawls made from shahtoosh wool.

Number of shahtoosh shawls seized in Switzerland and estimated number of animals killed

Shawls are seized every year, indicating that the illegal trade remains active. This trade is organised on an international scale and the number of shawls seized in Switzerland is only the tip of the iceberg.

These shawls are luxury products. A shawl can cost up to 25,000 Swiss francs. Switzerland is an importing country because it has a clientele which can afford to buy them.

(29.03.2019) 

Tibetan antelope

The wool of the Tibetan antelope is considered to be the finest, warmest and softest wool in the world. The wool is obtained from wild antelopes. The animals live at altitudes up to 5,000 metres and have thus developed a fleece adapted to the very cold climate. Since they cannot be domesticated for shearing and the trade in their wool is strictly prohibited, the animals are killed illegally.

Antelopes threatened with extinction

Three to five Tibetan antelopes are killed to produce a single shawl. As a result, this protected species has seen a 90 % decline in its population within a century. 

The Tibetan antelope has been listed in CITES Appendix I since 1979. It therefore has the same protection status as elephants, tigers and rhinos; in other words, all trade in products derived from this species is strictly prohibited.

Switzerland’s commitment

In order to combat this illegal international trade effectively, the FSVO works closely with Interpol and Europol, and also with the countries producing this wool. It is vital to raise their awareness of the problem of species conservation and to prevent exports of shawls.

The FSVO is also working to educate consumers, who are often unaware that they are wearing wool obtained from an endangered species.

More information

Last modification 29.03.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/artenschutz/illegaler-handel/shahtoosh-schals.html

Châles en laine d’antilopes du Tibet

La laine shahtoosh prélevée sur les antilopes du Tibet est considérée comme la plus fine du monde. Pour produire un châle avec cette laine, trois à cinq antilopes doivent être tuées. C’est pourquoi elles sont menacées d’extinction et que le commerce de châles est strictement interdit. 

Actuel

41 châles en laine shahtoosh saisis en 2018 : un trafic illégal toujours aussi important

En 2018, l’OSAV et l’Administration fédérale des douanes (AFD) ont saisi 41 châles en laine shahtoosh.

Nombre de châles en laine shahtoosh saisis en Suisse et estimation du nombre d'animaux tués

Des châles sont saisis chaque année, ce qui montre que le trafic illégal est actif. Ce trafic est organisé à échelle internationale et le nombre de châles saisis en Suisse ne représente que la partie émergée de l’iceberg.

Ces châles sont des produits de luxe. Un châle peut coûter jusqu’à 25 000 francs. La Suisse est un des pays d’importation car il existe une clientèle qui peut se permettre de les acheter.

(29.03.2019) 

Antilope du Tibet

La laine d’antilope du Tibet est considérée comme la plus fine, la plus chaude et la plus douce du monde. Elle est prélevée sur des antilopes sauvages. Celles-ci vivent jusqu’à une altitude de 5000 mètres, c’est pourquoi elles ont développé une fourrure adaptée au climat très froid. Comme il n’est pas possible de les domestiquer pour les tondre et que le commerce de leur laine est strictement interdit, elles sont tuées illégalement.

Antilopes menacées d’extinction

Pour produire un seul châle, trois à cinq antilopes du Tibet doivent être tuées. Cela a entraîné un recul de 90 % de la population de cette espèce protégée en un siècle.

L’antilope du Tibet est inscrite à l’Annexe I de la CITES depuis 1979. Elle bénéficie donc du même statut que l’éléphant, le tigre ou le rhinocéros, c’est-à-dire que tout commerce de produits provenant de cette espèce est strictement interdit.

 

Engagement de la Suisse

Afin de lutter efficacement contre ce trafic illégal d’ampleur internationale, l’OSAV collabore étroitement avec Interpol et Europol mais aussi avec les pays producteurs de cette laine. Il est capital de les sensibiliser à la problématique de la conservation des espèces et d’empêcher toute exportation de châles.

L’OSAV effectue également un travail de sensibilisation auprès des consommateurs, qui déclarent souvent ignorer qu’ils portent de la laine issue d’une espèce animale menacée d’extinction.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 29.03.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/artenschutz/illegaler-handel/shahtoosh-schals.html