Shawls made from Tibetan antelope wool

Shahtoosh wool obtained from the Tibetan antelope is considered to be the finest wool in the world. Three to five antelopes are killed in order to produce a shahtoosh shawl. As a result, the antelopes are an endangered species and trade in the shawls is strictly prohibited. 

News

41 shahtoosh wool shawls seized in 2018: illegal trade still as significant as ever

In 2018, the FSVO and the Swiss Federal Customs Administration seized 41 shawls made from shahtoosh wool.

Number of shahtoosh shawls seized in Switzerland and estimated number of animals killed

Shawls are seized every year, indicating that the illegal trade remains active. This trade is organised on an international scale and the number of shawls seized in Switzerland is only the tip of the iceberg.

These shawls are luxury products. A shawl can cost up to 25,000 Swiss francs. Switzerland is an importing country because it has a clientele which can afford to buy them.

(29.03.2019) 

Tibetan antelope

The wool of the Tibetan antelope is considered to be the finest, warmest and softest wool in the world. The wool is obtained from wild antelopes. The animals live at altitudes up to 5,000 metres and have thus developed a fleece adapted to the very cold climate. Since they cannot be domesticated for shearing and the trade in their wool is strictly prohibited, the animals are killed illegally.

Antelopes threatened with extinction

Three to five Tibetan antelopes are killed to produce a single shawl. As a result, this protected species has seen a 90 % decline in its population within a century. 

The Tibetan antelope has been listed in CITES Appendix I since 1979. It therefore has the same protection status as elephants, tigers and rhinos; in other words, all trade in products derived from this species is strictly prohibited.

Switzerland’s commitment

In order to combat this illegal international trade effectively, the FSVO works closely with Interpol and Europol, and also with the countries producing this wool. It is vital to raise their awareness of the problem of species conservation and to prevent exports of shawls.

The FSVO is also working to educate consumers, who are often unaware that they are wearing wool obtained from an endangered species.

More information

Last modification 29.03.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/artenschutz/illegaler-handel/shahtoosh-schals.html

Schals aus der Wolle der Tibetantilope

Die Shahtoosh-Wolle der Tibetantilope gilt als die feinste der Welt. Für die Herstellung eines Schals aus dieser Wolle müssen drei bis fünf Antilopen getötet werden. Aus diesem Grund ist die Tibetantilope vom Aussterben bedroht und der Handel mit Schals aus ihrer Wolle strengstens verboten.

Aktuell

41 beschlagnahmte Schals im Jahr 2018: Der illegale Handel reisst nicht ab

2018 beschlagnahmten das BLV und die Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung 41 Schals aus Shahtoosh-Wolle.

Anzahl beschlagnahmter Shahtoosh-Schals in der Schweiz und geschätzte Anzahl getöteter Tiere

Jedes Jahr werden solche Schals beschlagnahmt. Dies zeigt, dass der illegale Handel nach wie vor floriert. Dieser Handel wird international organisiert, und die Zahl der in der Schweiz beschlagnahmten Schals ist nur die Spitze des Eisbergs.

Shahtoosh-Schals sind Luxusprodukte. Ein Schal kann bis zu 25 000 Franken kosten. Die Schweiz ist ein Einfuhrland, da es hier eine Kundschaft gibt, die sich solche Schals leisten kann.

(29.03.2019) 

Tibetantilope

Die Wolle der Tibetantilope gilt als die feinste, wärmste und weichste Wolle der Welt. Sie wird von frei lebenden Tibetantilopen gewonnen. Diese Tiere leben in einer Höhe von bis zu 5000 Metern und haben ein Fell entwickelt, das sie vor der eisigen Kälte schützt. Da die Tiere für die Schur nicht domestiziert werden können und der Handel mit ihrer Wolle strengstens verboten ist, werden sie illegal getötet.

Vom Aussterben bedrohte Antilopen

Für die Herstellung eines einzigen Schals müssen drei bis fünf Antilopen getötet werden. Der Bestand dieser geschützten Tierart ist daher innerhalb eines Jahrhunderts um 90 Prozent zurückgegangen.

Die Tibetantilope ist seit 1979 im Anhang I von CITES gelistet. Sie steht somit unter dem gleichen Schutz wie der Elefant, der Tiger und das Nashorn. Das bedeutet, dass jeglicher Handel mit Produkten dieser Art streng verboten ist.

 

Engagement der Schweiz

Um diesen international organisierten illegalen Handel wirksam zu bekämpfen, arbeitet das BLV eng mit Interpol und Europol sowie mit den Produktionsländern dieser Wolle zusammen. Es ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, diese Länder für die Problematik des Artenschutzes zu sensibilisieren und die Ausfuhr von Schals zu verhindern.

Das BLV leistet auch Aufklärungsarbeit bei den Abnehmerinnen und Abnehmern, die häufig erklären, nicht gewusst zu haben, dass sie Wolle von einer vom Aussterben bedrohten Tierart tragen würden.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 29.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/artenschutz/illegaler-handel/shahtoosh-schals.html