Declaration of furs

Furs and fur products sold in Switzerland must be labelled very clearly and legibly so that consumers are sufficiently informed before making their choice. The FSVO inspects the products marketed in Switzerland. 

The origin of furs used on clothing must be declared.

News

More transparency in the labelling of fur

At its meeting on 19 February 2020, the Federal Council adopted the revised Fur Declaration Ordinance. The revision improved the labelling of fur products as well as the method of production. The amendments of the Fur Declaration Ordinance are intended to bring more transparency for consumers.

From now on, all furs must be clearly marked as “real fur”. This will enable customers to tell at a glance whether a fur is artificial or real, and thus make a more informed choice. The Ordinance enters into force on 1 April 2020.

(19.02.2020)

For consumers the distinction between real fur and synthetic fur is not always obvious. A declaration of furs is correct and complete if it states “real fur” and specifies the species of animal, the scientific name, the country of origin and the method for producing the pelt (hunting and breeding). This information must be clearly visible on the product and easily legible in at least one official language.

Label example

Since the Ordinance on the declaration of furs and fur products (ODFourr), came into force in 2013 all the stakeholders in the market who market furs and fur products in Switzerland must include this information. The Ordinance does not cover imports, only trade in Switzerland,also including second-hand shops.

Improving consumer information

The aim of the Ordinance is to provide better information for consumers on the methods of fur production and therefore to give them the opportunity to choose, from a position of knowledge, whether to purchase a product with fur or not. It is based on the Consumer Information Act (LIC). Switzerland is the only country to have such legislation.

Species affected

The Ordinance applies to all furs and all fur products originating from mammals with the exception of

  • equine, bovine, porcine, ovine and caprine species;
  • llamas and alpacas.

Therefore, wool products (e.g. Angora) and leather products are not affected.

FSVO inspections

The FSVO carries out its inspections at sales outlets and on the internet to verify that the information provided corresponds to the information required by the Ordinance.

These inspections are mainly performed using random samples but also sometimes in a more targeted way based on sound information, such as disclosures or breaches noted during previous inspections.

If the declaration requirement is infringed, the person committing the violation will be liable to a fee covering the costs of the inspection. The fee is calculated based on the time required for the inspection. Depending on the type of infringement, a fine may also be imposed in accordance with Article 11 of the Consumer Information Act.

More information

Last modification 18.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/pelzdeklaration.html

Pelzdeklaration

In der Schweiz verkaufte Pelze und Pelzprodukte müssen gut sichtbar und leicht leserlich gekennzeichnet werden, damit die Konsumenten vor ihrer Wahl ausreichend informiert sind. Das BLV kontrolliert die in der Schweiz zum Verkauf angebotenen Produkte. 

Herkunft von Pelz an Kleidern muss deklariert werden

Aktuell

Mehr Transparenz bei Pelzen

In der Sitzung vom 19. Februar 2020 hat der Bundesrat die revidierte Pelzdeklarationsverordnung verabschiedet. Die Kennzeichnung von Pelzen und die Angabe der Gewinnungsart der Pelze wird mit der Änderung optimiert. Für die Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten sollen die Änderungen der Pelzdeklarationsverordnung mehr Transparenz bringen.

Neu müssen Pelze von Tieren als «Echtpelz» gekennzeichnet werden. Die Kundschaft kann so auf einen Blick erkennen, ob es sich um einen Kunst- oder einen Echtpelz handelt, und damit eine gezieltere Wahl treffen. Die Verordnung tritt am 1. April 2020 in Kraft.

(19.02.2020)

Für die Konsumenten ist die Unterscheidung zwischen Echtpelz und Kunstpelz nicht immer einfach. Eine Pelzdeklaration ist korrekt und vollständig, wenn sie die Angabe «Echtpelz» sowie die Tierart, ihren lateinischen Namen, das Herkunftsland und die Gewinnungsmethode (Jagd und Zucht) enthält. Diese Informationen müssen gut sichtbar am Produkt und leicht leserlich in mindestens einer offiziellen Sprache angebracht sein.

Beispiel einer Etikette

Seit dem Inkrafttreten im Jahr 2013 der Verordnung über die Deklaration von Pelzen und Pelzprodukten (Pelzdeklarationsverordnung), müssen alle Marktteilnehmer, die Pelze und Pelzprodukte in der Schweiz zum Verkauf anbieten, diese Informationen angeben. Die Verordnung betrifft jedoch nicht die Einfuhr, sondern nur den Handel in der Schweiz, auch einschliesslich in Second-Hand-Boutiquen.

Verbesserung der Information für die Konsumenten

Ziel der Verordnung ist es, die Konsumenten besser über die Hintergründe der Pelzgewinnung zu informieren und ihnen so die Möglichkeit zu geben, in Kenntnis der Sachlage zu entscheiden, ob sie Ware mit Pelz kaufen wollen oder nicht. Die Verordnung stützt sich auf das Konsumenteninformationsgesetz (KIG). Die Schweiz ist das einzige Land, das über eine solche Gesetzgebung verfügt.

Betroffene Tierarten

Von der Pelzdeklarationsverordnung sind alle Pelze und Pelzprodukte von Säugetieren betroffen mit Ausnahme von:

  • domestizierten Tieren der Pferde-, Rinder-, Schweine-, Schaf- und Ziegengattung,
  • Lamas und Alpakas.

Produkte aus Wolle (z.B. Angora) und aus Leder sind nicht davon betroffen.

Kontrollen des BLV

Das BLV kontrolliert an den Verkaufsstellen und im Internet, ob die am Produkt gemachten Angaben den von der Verordnung geforderten Informationen entsprechen.

Diese Kontrollen erfolgen meist als Stichproben. Wenn es begründete Hinweise gibt, dass eine Deklaration nicht den Vorschriften entspricht, oder bei Zuwiderhandlungen bei vorangehenden Kontrollen wird eine gezielte Kontrolle durchgeführt.

Wird die Deklarationspflicht verletzt, wird eine Gebühr für die Abgeltung der Kontrollkosten verrechnet. Diese Gebühr wird nach Zeitaufwand für die Kontrolle festgelegt. Je nach Vergehen kann auch gemäss Artikel 11 des Konsumenteninformationsgesetzes (KIG) gebüsst werden.  

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 03.04.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/pelzdeklaration.html