Declaration of furs

Furs and fur products sold in Switzerland must be labelled very clearly and legibly so that consumers are sufficiently informed before making their choice. The FSVO inspects the products marketed in Switzerland. 

The origin of furs used on clothing must be declared.

News

The declaring of furs needs to be improved

In the period 2019/2020, as in previous years, the FSVO carried out risk-based inspections. Small shops, online outlets and large retail chains alike were all inspected. Of the 180 inspections carried out, 142 (79%) led to rejections. In 110 of these cases, the shortcomings were rectified within the time limit. Orders were issued in 32 cases and criminal proceedings instituted in four cases.

Since the Fur Declaration Ordinance entered into force in 2013, the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) has been carrying out inspections. The high rejection rate shows that fur declarations are still not being implemented correctly at many points of sale and that significant knowledge gaps remain in the sector. Given that the rejection rate is still too high, the FSVO will intensify its educational work in the future while also tightening up on enforcement.

(15.10.2020)

For consumers the distinction between real fur and synthetic fur is not always obvious. A declaration of furs is correct and complete if it states “real fur” and specifies the species of animal, the scientific name, the country of origin and the method for producing the pelt (hunting and breeding). This information must be clearly visible on the product and easily legible in at least one official language.

Label example

Since the Ordinance on the declaration of furs and fur products (ODFourr), came into force in 2013 all the stakeholders in the market who market furs and fur products in Switzerland must include this information. The Ordinance does not cover imports, only trade in Switzerland,also including second-hand shops.

Improving consumer information

The aim of the Ordinance is to provide better information for consumers on the methods of fur production and therefore to give them the opportunity to choose, from a position of knowledge, whether to purchase a product with fur or not. It is based on the Consumer Information Act (LIC). Switzerland is the only country to have such legislation.

Species affected

The Ordinance applies to all furs and all fur products originating from mammals with the exception of

  • equine, bovine, porcine, ovine and caprine species;
  • llamas and alpacas.

Therefore, wool products (e.g. Angora) and leather products are not affected.

FSVO inspections

The FSVO carries out its inspections at sales outlets and on the internet to verify that the information provided corresponds to the information required by the Ordinance.

These inspections are mainly performed using random samples but also sometimes in a more targeted way based on sound information, such as disclosures or breaches noted during previous inspections.

If the declaration requirement is infringed, the person committing the violation will be liable to a fee covering the costs of the inspection. The fee is calculated based on the time required for the inspection. Depending on the type of infringement, a fine may also be imposed in accordance with Article 11 of the Consumer Information Act.

More information

Last modification 15.10.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/pelzdeklaration.html

Déclaration des fourrures

Les fourrures et les produits de la pelleterie vendus en Suisse doivent être étiquetés de manière bien visible et facilement lisible pour que les consommateurs soient suffisamment informés avant de faire leur choix. L’OSAV contrôle les produits commercialisés en Suisse.

Actuel

La déclaration des fourrures doit être améliorée

Durant la période 2019/2020, l’OSAV a poursuivi ses contrôles en fonction des risques. Petits magasins, ventes en ligne, grandes chaînes, tous les types de commerces sont concernés. Sur les 180 contrôles effectués, 142 (79 %) ont donné lieu à des contestations. Dans 110 cas, les manquements ont pu être corrigés dans le délai imparti. Dans 32 cas, une décision a dû être établie et dans 4 cas une procédure pénale ouverte.

L’OSAV effectue des contrôles depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ordonnance sur la déclaration des fourrures, à savoir depuis 2013. Le taux élevé de contestations indique que la déclaration des fourrures n’est toujours pas appliquée correctement par de nombreux points de vente et que les connaissances continuent d’être très lacunaires dans la profession. Étant donné que le taux des contestations reste trop élevé, l’OSAV renforcera son travail d’information et ses mesures d’application du droit.

(15.10.2020)

Pour les consommateurs, la distinction entre fourrure véritable et fourrure synthétique n’est pas toujours évidente. Une déclaration des fourrures est correcte et complète si elle indique « fourrure véritable » et mentionne l’espèce animale, le nom scientifique, le pays de provenance ainsi que la méthode de production de la peau (chasse et élevage). Ces informations doivent être bien visibles sur le produit et facilement lisibles dans au moins une langue officielle.

Exemple d’étiquette

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur en 2013 de l'ordonnance sur la déclaration des fourrures et des produits de la pelleterie (ODFourr), tous les acteurs du marché qui commercialisent des fourrures et des produits de la pelleterie en Suisse doivent faire figurer ces informations. L’ordonnance ne concerne pas l’importation mais seulement le commerce en Suisse, y compris les boutiques de seconde main.

Amélioration de l’information pour les consommateurs

L’ordonnance a pour objectif de mieux informer les consommateurs sur les méthodes de production des fourrures et de leur donner ainsi la possibilité de choisir, en connaissance de cause, d’acheter ou non un produit contenant de la fourrure. Elle se fonde sur la loi sur l'information des consommatrices et des consommateurs (LIC). La Suisse est le seul pays à posséder une telle législation.

Espèces concernées

L'ordonnance s'applique à toutes les fourrures et à tous les produits de la pelleterie issus de mammifères, à l'exception :

  • des animaux domestiqués des espèces équine, bovine, porcine, ovine et caprine ;
  • des lamas et des alpagas.

Par conséquent, les produits en laine (par ex. angora) et en cuir ne sont pas concernés.

Contrôles de l’OSAV

L’OSAV contrôle dans les points de vente et sur internet si les informations fournies sur le produit correspondent aux informations exigées par l’ordonnance.

Ces contrôles sont réalisés principalement par sondage mais aussi parfois de manière ciblée sur la base d’indices fondés, comme des dénonciations ou des manquements constatés lors de précédents contrôles.

En cas de violation de l'obligation de déclaration, la personne en infraction devra s'acquitter d'un émolument couvrant les coûts du contrôle. L'émolument est calculé en fonction du temps consacré au contrôle. Suivant la nature de l'infraction, une amende pourra également être donnée en vertu de l'art. 11 de la loi sur l'information des consommatrices et des consommateurs (LIC).

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.10.2020

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/auftrag/vollzug/pelzdeklaration.html