Authorisation of novel foods

When and for what is an authorisation required? Which foods need to be authorised? These questions are answered on this page.

Since the complete revision of Swiss food law with effect from 1 May 2017, the provision stating that products may be placed on the market only if they have been described in an Ordinance or authorised by the FSVO no longer applies. With the exception of a few reservations (e.g. novel foods), non-described foods without an authorisation may now also be placed on the market, provided they meet all of the requirements of food law.

 

Novel foods

Novel foods are generally divided into two categories:

  • Novel traditional foods
  • Novel foods

Novel traditional foods are foods that are traditionally consumed outside Switzerland and the EU (e.g. cañihua). They benefit from a simplified authorisation procedure.

Novel foods, on the other hand, such as protein extracts derived from insects, require a more complex authorisation procedure in order to guarantee food safety. The legal definition of novel foods can be found in Article 15 para. 1 of the Ordinance on Foodstuffs and Utility Articles (FUAO) (in French).

Novel foods listed in Annex 1 to the FDHA Ordinance on Novel Foods (in French) do not require an authorisation. In addition to three insect species, these are all novel foods that are authorised in the EU (see EU Union list) or can be placed on the market on the basis of notifications (see “More information”). The provisions set out in the individual implementing decisions and notifications must be complied with. The person named in the implementing decision or notification and to whom the decision or notification is addressed is deemed to be the authorisation holder. The stated product may be placed on the market only by that person, or by other persons having their consent.

Important:

  • Authorisations are generally not issued for composite foods. The authorisation requirement always relates to a particular substance (e.g. protein extract derived from insects as a novel food) or a particular primary product (e.g. cañihua as a traditional novel food), rather than to a composite product containing a novel food as an ingredient (e.g. cereal bars enriched with protein extract derived from insects). Applications for authorisations must be prepared accordingly. 
  • All novel foods that are marketable in the EU according to the Union List may be placed on the market in Switzerland without authorisation, insofar as they comply with all regulations in accordance with individual implementing decisions and notifications. However, the reverse situation does not apply. Foods that are not novel foods in Switzerland or have been authorised as such in Switzerland and are classified as a novel food in the EU require an authorisation from the European Commission for market placement in the EU.

 

Authorisation procedure for novel foods

The processing of applications for authorisation is generally subject to a fee (see Art. 108–109 of the Ordinance on the Implementation of Foodstuffs Legislation (FLIO) (in French).

 
 

Authorisation of novel foods

If a novel food is authorised, this is done in the form of an individual order. The authorisation is granted for a period of five years with no option of extension. If the conditions relating to food safety and prohibition of deception are still fulfilled after the authorisation has expired, the novel food is included in Annex 1 to the FDHA Ordinance on Novel Foods (in French) after re-examination by the FSVO.

On the other hand, if a novel traditional food is authorised, this is done in the form of a general order. Authorised novel traditional foods are periodically included in Annex 2 to the FDHA Ordinance on Novel Foods (in French).

Distinction between therapeutic products and foods

Representatives of Swissmedic and the FSVO have produced a report clarifying the distinction between therapeutic products and foods. The Swiss and European legal bases were taken into account. The report makes it easier to determine which authority is responsible for which measure (see under “More information”).

 

More information

Contact

Applications must be submitted by post to the following address:

Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO
Food and Nutrition
Market Access
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Bern, Switzerland

Annexes may also be submitted by email to lme@blv.admin.ch.

 

Last modification 19.06.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/bewilligung-und-meldung/bewilligung.html

Autorisation pour les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires

Quand une autorisation est-elle nécessaire et pour quels produits ? Quelles denrées alimentaires doivent être autorisées ? Vous trouverez sur cette page la réponse à ces questions.

La révision totale du droit alimentaire, entrée en vigueur le 1er mai 2017, a supprimé la règle prévoyant que seuls les produits spécifiés dans une ordonnance ou ayant obtenu l’autorisation de l’OSAV pouvaient être mis sur le marché. Exception faite de quelques réserves (nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires par ex.), les denrées alimentaires non spécifiées peuvent désormais, elles aussi, être mises sur le marché sans autorisation, à condition de satisfaire à toutes les exigences définies dans le droit alimentaire.

Nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires (Novel Food)

Le terme de Novel Food désigne généralement deux catégories d’aliments:

  • les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires traditionnelles
  • les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires

La première catégorie est constituée des aliments qui sont consommés traditionnellement hors de la Suisse et de l’UE (Cañihua, par ex.). Pour ces produits, la procédure d’autorisation est simplifiée.

Elle est plus longue, par contre, pour les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires comme les extraits de protéines issues d’insectes, car il faut en garantir l’innocuité. La définition légale des nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires est donnée à l’art. 15, al. 1, de l’ordonnance sur les denrées alimentaires et les objets usuels (ODAlOUs).

Une autorisation n’est pas requise pour les nouvelles denrées alimentaires mentionnées à l’annexe 1 de l’ordonnance du DFI sur les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires. Outre les trois espèces d’insectes, il s’agit de tous les Novel Food qui sont autorisés dans l’UE (voir liste de l’Union de l’UE) ou qui peuvent être mis sur le marché sur la base d’une notification (voir « Informations complémentaires »). Il faut respecter les prescriptions des décisions d’exécution et des notifications.

Attention :

  • Les autorisations ne sont pas délivrées pour des denrées alimentaires composées. L’autorisation porte toujours sur une substance déterminée (extrait de protéines d’insectes comme Novel Food par ex.) ou sur un produit primaire déterminé (Cañihua comme nouvelle sorte de denrée alimentaire traditionnelle par ex.), et non sur une denrée alimentaire composée qui contiendrait un Novel Food comme ingrédient (barre de céréales enrichie avec un extrait de protéines d’insectes par ex.). Il faut donc préparer les demandes d’autorisation en conséquence. 
  • Toutes les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires commercialisables dans l’UE selon la liste de l’Union peuvent être mises sur le marché en Suisse sans autorisation, à condition qu’elles respectent toutes les prescriptions découlant des décisions d’exécution et des notifications. L’inverse n’est cependant pas vrai : les denrées alimentaires qui ne sont pas de nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires en Suisse ou qui y ont été autorisées comme telles et qui sont considérées comme des Novel Food dans l’UE, doivent être autorisées par la Commission européenne pour pouvoir être mises sur le marché de l’UE.
     

Procédure d’autorisation pour les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires

Le traitement des demandes d’autorisation est soumis à émoluments (voir art. 108 et 109 de l’ordonnance sur l’exécution de la législation sur les denrées alimentaires [OELDAl]).

 

Autorisation pour les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires 

L’autorisation d’une nouvelle denrée alimentaire est communiquée sous la forme d’une décision individuelle. L’autorisation est valable cinq ans et ne peut être renouvelée. Si les conditions relatives à l’innocuité de la denrée alimentaire et à la protection contre la tromperie sont encore remplies lorsque l’autorisation arrive à échéance, l’OSAV inscrit la nouvelle sorte de denrée alimentaire, après un nouvel examen de celle-ci, dans l’annexe 1 de l’ordonnance du DFI sur les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires

L’autorisation d’une nouvelle sorte de denrée alimentaire traditionnelle, par contre, est communiquée sous la forme d’une décision de portée générale. Les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires traditionnelles sont inscrites périodiquement à l’annexe 2 de l’ordonnance du DFI sur les nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires.

Distinction entre produit thérapeutique et denrée alimentaire

Des représentants de Swissmedic et de l’OSAV ont rédigé un rapport qui permet de distinguer un produit thérapeutique d’une denrée alimentaire. Lorsqu’ils ont établi le rapport, ils ont tenu compte des législations suisse et européenne. Le rapport permet de déterminer plus facilement quelle autorité prend quelle mesure (voir « Informations complémentaires »).

Informations complémentaires

En détail


Statut Novel Food


Autorisation de nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires


Autorisation de nouvelles sortes de denrées alimentaires traditionnelles

Contact

Les demandes peuvent être envoyées par la poste à l’adresse suivante :

Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires OSAV
Denrées alimentaires et nutrition
Accès au marché
Schwarzenburgstrasse 155
3003 Berne

Les annexes peuvent aussi être transmises par e-mail à l’adresse lme@blv.admin.ch 

Dernière modification 19.06.2020

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/bewilligung-und-meldung/bewilligung.html