Research

The FSVO has its own small programme of applied research and supports projects at other institutions (primarily higher education institutions). This enables the Office to acquire the scientific basis that it requires to fulfil its mandate.

The FSVO bases its decisions, laws and ordinances on scientific findings. Research in all the areas in which the Office is active is required to provide the necessary background: animal health, animal welfare, food safety, nutrition and species conservation in international trade.

Research priorities

The main areas of departmental research 2017-2020 at the FSVO include:

  • Infectious, in particular highly contagious, animal diseases
  • Improved animal husbandry
  • Information about the food consumption habits and nutritional status of the Swiss population
  • Improved methods for evaluating the safety of food and consumer articles

Research locations

The FSVO researches in the following locations:

The Institute of Virology and Immunology IVI, which researches animal diseases, is also part of the FSVO.

Research as a basis for action

The FSVO carries out a limited amount of this applied research at its own facilities. It also supports research contracts and projects by research groups at other institutions (primarily higher education institutions). The aim of applied research is to implement the findings from these projects directly and to achieve better networking of enforcement and science. Today's research is the basis of tomorrow's actions.

Information about the research projects can be accessed in ARAMIS, the federal research database.

More information

Last modification 03.04.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/forschung.html

Forschung

Das BLV betreibt in kleinem Umfang eigene angewandte Forschung und vergibt Forschungsaufträge an andere Institutionen (v. a. Hochschulen). So beschafft sich das Amt die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, die es benötigt, um seinen Auftrag zu erfüllen.

 

Das BLV stützt seine Entscheidungen, Gesetze und Verordnungen auf wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen ab. Für diese Grundlagen braucht es Forschung in allen Aufgabengebieten des Amtes: Tiergesundheit, Tierschutz, Lebensmittelsicherheit, Ernährung und Artenschutz im internationalen Handel.

Schwerpunkte in der Ressortforschung

Schwerpunkte in der Ressortforschung 2017-2020 des BLV sind unter anderem:

  • infektiöse, insbesondere hochansteckende Tierseuchen;
  • verbesserte Haltungsbedingungen von Tieren;
  • Erkenntnisse zum Lebensmittelverzehr und Ernährungsstatus der Schweizer Bevölkerung;
  • verbesserte Methoden, um die Sicherheit von Lebensmitteln und Gebrauchsgegenständen zu beurteilen.

Forschungsstandorte

Das BLV forscht an folgenden Standorten:

Des Weiteren ist das Institut für Virologie und Immunologie IVI dem BLV angegliedert, dort werden Tierseuchen erforscht.

Zudem besteht eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zentrum für tiergerechte Haltung von Geflügel und Kaninchen in Zollikofen bei Bern und dem Veterinary Public Health Institute. Beide sind der Universität Bern angeschlossen.

Forschung als Basis des Handelns

Das BLV betreibt diese angewandte Forschung in einem beschränkten Umfang an den eigenen Forschungsstätten. Zudem vergibt es Forschungsaufträge und -projekte an Forschergruppen anderer Institutionen (v. a. Hochschulen). Das Ziel der angewandten Forschung ist es, einerseits die Erkenntnisse aus diesen Projekten direkt umsetzen zu können und andererseits den Vollzug und die Wissenschaft besser zu vernetzen. Die Forschung von heute ist die Basis des Handelns von morgen.

Informationen zu den Forschungsprojekten sind über die Forschungsdatenbank des Bundes ARAMIS abrufbar.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 27.05.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Forschungsmanagement

Gérard Gremaud
Leitung Forschungskommission

Tel.
+41 58 462 95 56

E-Mail

Michelle Vock
Sekretariat

Tel.
+41 58 462 55 14

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/forschung.html