Travelling with pet birds

Travel with pet birds is subject to strict regulations designed to prevent avian flu from being brought into Switzerland. Since many birds are protected animals, additional species conservation regulations must also be observed.

Papagei auf Reisekoffer

The travel regulations apply to birds kept as pets (see What are pets?) that are travelling with their owner and are not intended either for sale or for transfer to new owners.

Leaving Switzerland and entering the holiday country

When leaving Switzerland with pet birds, the entry regulations of the destination country must be observed. Information can be obtained directly from the representations of the destination country.

If the birds belong to a protected species (e.g. parrots, parakeets), both the animal health regulations and the entry regulations for protected species in the destination country must be observed (see Contacts). Detailed information can be found on the summary page Travelling with pets.

Entering Switzerland

General provisions

  • The following entry regulations apply to birds kept as pets but not to the import of poultry, i.e. animals from the orders fowl (Galliformes), water fowl (Anseriformes), doves (Columbiformes, for meat production) and flightless birds (Struthioniformes). Since poultry do not count as pets and therefore cannot enter Switzerland under the conditions applicable to pets, they are subject to the regulations for commercial import.

  • If the birds belong to a protected species (e.g. parrots, parakeets), both the animal health regulations and the entry regulations for protected species must be observed. Detailed information can be found on the summary page Travelling with pets.

  • The entry of birds of non-protected species from the following countries is governed by the same regulations as those covering entry from the EU: Andorra, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Vatican City (this does not apply to animals captured in the wild).

Entering from the EU

No special documents are required to bring birds from the EU into Switzerland provided that the above general requirements are met.

Entering from a third country

The following entry regulations must be observed:

  • A veterinary border inspection is mandatory for all birds entering from a third country. For this reason, direct entry into Switzerland is possible only via the airports of Zurich and Geneva. Veterinary border inspections can only be carried out during regular opening hours (see Contacts). Birds arriving outside these times will be taken to the inspection post’s animal facility and not inspected until the next working day.
  • No more than five pet birds (of any species) may be brought into the country at the same time; in this case the commercial import conditions apply.
  • Birds must be accompanied by a veterinary certificate and a declaration of ownership (see "More information").
  • Since no quarantine facilities are available in Switzerland and vaccination against avian influenza is not permitted, the quarantine requirements must be fulfilled before entering Switzerland (as set out in the veterinary certificate, part I.25 and part II). Birds may therefore only be brought into the country if, before leaving the country of origin, they have been kept separately and officially monitored for at least 30 days or have spent at least ten days in quarantine and have been examined for avian influenza by an official vet.
  • Birds must be taken to a household or another residence and are not permitted to take part in shows, fairs, exhibitions or other events involving birds until 30 days after their arrival at the earliest.

Veterinary border control

Entry is possible unaccompanied by airfreight or accompanied as excess baggage in the aircraft’s cargo hold. The owner must be able to prove on entry that the birds were already in his possession in the country of origin.

Accompanied pet birds

Birds may be registered as excess baggage (“AVI in hold” or “excess baggage”) only if the owner is travelling on the same aircraft. On arrival, the birds must be collected at the baggage carousel, the red customs channel taken and the birds reported to customs. Customs informs the veterinary border service. A transport company then takes the birds to the animal facility. All documents required for importation must accompany the birds at all times. The veterinary border inspection takes place at the animal facility. After leaving the terminal, the owner goes to the office of the border veterinary service in the cargo area (map available at customs in the terminal). Once the border veterinary service has carried out the inspection and the customs formalities have been completed, the birds can be collected.

Unaccompanied pet birds

If pet birds are travelling without their owner, i.e. unaccompanied, they can only enter as freight. On registration, the airline assigns an airway bill number (AWB) to each bird. On arrival, the bird is taken directly to the animal facility, where the veterinary border inspection takes place. Entry as an unaccompanied pet is possible, in principle, within a period of five days before or after the owner’s arrival. If this period cannot be complied with, it is necessary to check that the bird was already under the owner’s charge in the country of origin. Relevant information and supporting documents must be submitted to the FSVO for verification.

Depending on the type of entry, costs may apply for transport at the airport, a stay at the animal facility, veterinary border inspection, customs duties and any additional fees. Please contact the relevant authorities for further information.

More information

Last modification 03.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren/voegel.html

Reisen mit Vögeln als Heimtiere

Um eine Einschleppung der Vogelgrippe zu verhindern, unterliegt das Reisen mit Heimtier-Vögeln strengen Auflagen. Da es sich bei vielen Vögeln um geschützte Tiere handelt, sind zusätzlich artenschutzrechtliche Bedingungen zu beachten.  

Papagei auf Reisekoffer

Die Reisebestimmungen gelten für Vögel als Heimtiere (siehe Was sind Heimtiere?), die mit ihrem Besitzer reisen und die weder zum Verkauf noch sonst zur Übergabe an neue Eigentümer bestimmt sind.

 

Ausreise aus der Schweiz und Einreise im Ferienland

Für die Ausreise aus der Schweiz mit Heimtier-Vögeln müssen die jeweiligen Einreisebedingungen des Ziellandes beachtet werden. Informationen sind direkt bei den Vertretungen des Ziellandes erhältlich.

Handelt es sich um artengeschützte Vögel (z.B. Papageien, Sittiche), müssen zusätzlich zu den seuchenpolizeilichen Bedingungen auch die Einreisebedingungen für artengeschützte Tiere des jeweiligen Landes beachtet werden (siehe Kontakte). Ausführliche Informationen sind auf der Übersichtsseite Reisen mit Heimtieren zu finden.

Einreise in die Schweiz

Allgemeine Bestimmungen

  • Folgende Einfuhrbestimmungen gelten für die Einreise von Vögeln, die als Heimtiere gehalten werden, aber nicht für die Einfuhr von Geflügel, also für Tiere der Ordnungen Hühnervögel (Galliformes), Schwimmvögel (Anseriformes), Taubenvögel (Columbiformes, zur Fleischproduktion) und Laufvögel (Struthioniformes). Da Geflügel nicht zu den Heimtieren gezählt wird und daher nicht zu den Heimtierbedingungen einreisen kann, gelten hier die gewerblichen Einfuhrbedingungen.

  • Handelt es sich um artengeschützte Vögel (z.B. Papageien, Sittiche), müssen zusätzlich zu den seuchenpolizeilichen Bedingungen auch die Einreisebedingungen für artengeschützte Tiere beachtet werden. Ausführliche Informationen sind auf der Übersichtsseite Reisen mit Heimtieren zu finden.

  • Für die Einreise von nicht artengeschützten Vögeln aus folgenden Ländern gelten dieselben Bedingungen wie für die Einreise aus der EU: Andorra, Färöer Inseln, Grönland, Island, Monaco, Norwegen, San Marino, Vatikanstadt (ausgenommen sind Tiere aus Wildfang).

Einreise aus der EU

Für die Einreise mit Vögeln aus der EU sind keine speziellen Dokumente erforderlich, sofern die obenstehenden allgemeinen Bestimmungen erfüllt sind.

Einreise aus Drittstaaten

Folgende Einreisebestimmungen sind zu beachten:

  • Für alle Vögel aus Drittstaaten ist eine grenztierärztliche Untersuchung (GTU) obligatorisch. Die direkte Einreise in die Schweiz ist folglich nur über die Flughäfen Zürich und Genf möglich. Die GTU erfolgt ausschliesslich während den ordentlichen Öffnungszeiten (siehe Kontakte). Bei Ankünften ausserhalb dieser Zeiten werden die Tiere in den Tierraum der Kontrollstelle gebracht und erst am nachfolgenden Arbeitstag kontrolliert.
  • Es dürfen gleichzeitig nicht mehr als 5 Heimtier-Vögel (ungeachtet der Spezies) eingeführt werden, ansonsten gelten die gewerblichen Einfuhrbedingungen.
  • Die Vögel müssen von einer Veterinärbescheinigung und einer Besitzererklärung begleitet sein (siehe Weitere Informationen).
  • Da in der Schweiz keine Quarantänestationen zur Verfügung stehen und die Impfung gegen aviäre Influenza nicht gestattet ist, sind die Quarantänebedingungen (betrifft Veterinärbescheinigung, Teil I.25 und Teil II) vor der Einreise in die Schweiz zu erfüllen. Eine Einfuhr ist daher nur möglich, wenn die Tiere vor der Ausfuhr unter amtlicher Überwachung mind. 30 Tage abgesondert wurden oder mind. 10 Tage in Quarantäne verbracht haben und von einem amtlichen Tierarzt auf aviäre Influenza untersucht wurden.
  • Die Vögel müssen in einen Haushalt oder einen sonstigen Wohnsitz verbracht werden und dürfen frühestens 30 Tage nach Ankunft an Shows, Messen, Ausstellungen oder sonstigen Veranstaltungen mit Vögeln teilnehmen.

Grenztierärztliche Kontrolle

Die Einreise ist entweder unbegleitet per Luftfracht oder begleitet als Übergepäck im Frachtraum des Flugzeugs möglich. Der Besitzer muss bei der Einreise nachweisen können, dass die Vögel bereits im Herkunftsland in seinem Besitz waren.

Begleitete Heimtiervögel

Nur wenn der Besitzer und seine Vögel im gleichen Flugzeug einreisen, können diese als Übergepäck („AVI in hold“ oder „excess baggage") gebucht werden. Nach Ankunft müssen die Tiere beim Gepäckband abgeholt, der rote Zollausgang genommen und die Vögel beim Zoll angemeldet werden. Dieser informiert den grenztierärztlichen Dienst. Ein Transportunternehmen bringt die Vögel anschliessend in den Tierraum. Alle notwendigen Dokumente für die Einfuhr müssen diese stets begleiten. Im Tierraum erfolgt die grenztierärztliche Untersuchung. Der Besitzer begibt sich nach Verlassen des Terminals zum Büro des Grenztierärztlichen Dienstes im Frachtbereich (Lageplan beim Zoll im Terminal erhältlich). Nach der Abfertigung durch den Grenztierärztlichen Dienst und der Erledigung der Zollformalitäten können die Vögel abgeholt werden.

Unbegleitete Heimtiervögel

Reisen die Heimtiervögel ohne Besitzer, also unbegleitet, ist die Einreise nur per Fracht möglich. Bei der Buchung erhält der Vogel von der Fluggesellschaft eine eigene Luftfrachtbriefnummer (Airwaybillnumber (AWB)). Nach der Ankunft wird der Vogel direkt zum Tierraum gebracht, wo die grenztierärztliche Untersuchung stattfindet. Eine Einfuhr als unbegleitetes Heimtier ist grundsätzlich innerhalb einem Zeitraum von 5 Tagen vor oder nach der Reise der Besitzerin oder des Besitzers möglich. Kann dieser Zeitraum nicht eingehalten werden, muss geprüft werden, ob das Tier bereits im Herkunftsland in deren Obhut war. Diesbezügliche Informationen und Belege sind dem BLV zur Beurteilung vorzulegen.

Je nach Einreisevariante entstehen Kosten für den Transport am Flughafen, Aufenthalt im Tierraum, grenztierärztliche Kontrolle, Zoll- und allfällige weitere Gebühren. Bitte informieren Sie sich dazu bei den beteiligten Stellen.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 03.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren/voegel.html