Travelling with pets

Anyone planning to travel with pets should complete the formalities well in advance. The travel regulations for pets are not the same as those governing the commercial import and export of animals. 

Travelling with pets

The regulations for animals differ depending on whether an individual is travelling with a pet or animals are being commercially imported or exported. The information on these pages is intended solely for individuals with pets who do not intend to sell or give their animals to other people or institutions.

What are pets?

Pets are defined as animals accompanying their owners or a person authorised by the owner. They may not be sold or transferred to new owners. The animals must feature in the following list:

  • Dogs, cats, ferrets
  • Rodents and rabbits other than those intended for food production
  • Birds: specimens of avian species other than those referred to in Article 2 of Directive 2009/158/EC.
  • Reptiles and amphibians
  • Ornamental aquatic animals
  • Invertebrates (except bees, bumble bees, molluscs and crustaceans)
     

Dogs, cats and ferrets and birds are subject to particular animal health regulations when travelling because there is a danger of their introducing diseases from another country.

Exotic pets

Non-native wild animals are also kept as pets. This category includes special bird species, reptiles, spiders, scorpions, rodents, corals, fish, wild cats etc. Please take note of the relevant sections below.

Travelling with pets

Leaving Switzerland

When leaving Switzerland, the regulations of the destination country must always be observed.

Leaving Switzerland with pets of a protected species

The FSVO issues certificates of ownership to cover holidays or short stays in the EU with pets of protected species. The animal's owner (or a person authorised by the owner) must have the certificate stamped by the customs authority in Switzerland and in the destination country every time a border is crossed with the animal. The animal's return to Switzerland is covered by the certificate of ownership.
The application form (see "More information") for a certificate of ownership must be completed in full, signed and sent by post to the FSVO. Once issued (the fee is CHF 50), the the certificate of ownership is not valid until it has been signed by the animal's owner. The certificate is valid for three years and can be extended after this period has elapsed.

When the owner and animal travel with this certificate of ownership to an EU country for the first time, the EU requires a comparable European certificate of ownership. This is issued by the CITES authority in the first country of destination. The European certificate of ownership must be ordered in good time before the animal leaves Switzerland.

Entering Switzerland

Almost all pets that meet the definition can enter Switzerland from any country without approval from the veterinary health authority or a health certificate. Special conditions apply to dogs, cats, ferrets and birds. Not more than 5 pets may be imported from third countries.
These animals may not enter Switzerland if specific protective measures are in place.

Entering Switzerland with pets of a protected species

Approval is not required for holidays or short stays in Switzerland with an animal of a protected species provided that the animal is travelling with its owner (or a person authorised by the owner) and the owner holds a certificate of ownership.
Both entry and exit must be confirmed on the supplementary sheet by the customs authority. The necessary certificate of ownership is issued by the competent species conservation authority in the country of origin.

More Information

Last modification 02.08.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren.html

Voyager avec des animaux de compagnie

Toute personne souhaitant voyager avec son animal de compagnie est tenue de s’occuper des formalités en temps utiles. Les dispositions de voyage pour les animaux de compagnie se distinguent des dispositions pour l’importation et l’exportation d’animaux à titre professionnel. 

Voyager avec des animaux de compagnie

Les dispositions pour les animaux se distinguent selon qu’il s’agisse d’un voyage à titre privé avec un animal de compagnie ou d’une exportation / importation d’animaux à titre professionnel. Les informations sur ces pages sont destinées uniquement aux particuliers qui ne souhaitent pas vendre ou céder leurs animaux à d’autres personnes ou à des institutions.

Qu’entend-on par «animal de compagnie» ?

Sont considérés comme des animaux de compagnie les animaux qui accompagnent leur propriétaire ou une personne mandatée par celui-ci. Ils ne sont pas destinés à être vendus ou remis à un nouveau maître. Il s’agit d’un animal de la liste suivante :

  • chiens, chats, furets
  • lapins domestiques, rongeurs
  • oiseaux, excepté les volailles selon la directive 2009/158/CE2
  • reptiles, amphibiens
  • poissons d'ornement et les animaux aquatiques ornementaux
  • invertébrés, excepté les abeilles et les crustacés
     

Des dispositions de voyage particulières en matière de police des épizooties s’appliquent aux chiens, chats, furets et aux oiseaux, car il existe un risque d’introduction de maladies.

Animaux de compagnie exotiques

Des animaux sauvages non-domestiqués peuvent également être détenus comme animaux de compagnie, comme p. ex. certaines espèces d’oiseaux, reptiles, serpents, scorpions, rongeurs, coraux, poissons, chats sauvages, etc. Veuillez prendre en considération les rubriques correspondantes.

Voyager avec des animaux de compagnie

Voyager hors de Suisse

En cas de voyage hors de Suisse, il convient en principe de respecter les dispositions du pays de destination.

Voyager hors de Suisse avec des animaux de compagnie protégés

Pour les vacances et les séjours de courte durée dans l’UE avec un animal domestique protégé, l’OSAV établit un certificat de propriété (Certificate of ownership). Le propriétaire de l’animal (ou toute autre personne autorisée par lui) doit le faire timbrer par la douane suisse et la douane du pays de destination à chaque passage de la frontière avec l’animal. La ré-entrée en Suisse est également réglementée par le certificat de propriété.
La feuille de demande (voir «Informations complémentaires») de certificat de propriété doit être complétée et signée, puis transmise à l’OSAV par courrier. Le certificat de propriété établi (CHF 50.–) devient valable uniquement après avoir été signé par son titulaire. Le certificat est valable trois ans et peut ensuite être prolongé.

La première fois que le propriétaire entre avec le certificat de propriété dans un pays de l’UE, l’UE elle-même exige un certificat européen analogue. Celui-ci est émis par les autorités CITES de ce premier pays de destination européen. Le certificat de propriété européen doit être commandé suffisamment en avance, avant de quitter la Suisse.

Entrer en Suisse

Par définition, la plupart des animaux de compagnie peuvent entrer en provenance de tous les États sans autorisation de police des épizooties ni certificat sanitaire. Les chiens, les chats, les furets et les oiseaux sont soumis à des dispositions spéciales. Cinq animaux de compagnie au plus peuvent être importés en provenance de pays tiers. Les entrées ne sont pas possibles lorsque des mesures de protection spécifiques sont en vigueur.

Entrer en Suisse avec des animaux de compagnie protégés

Aucune autorisation n’est nécessaire pour des vacances ou un court séjour en Suisse avec un animal domestique protégé, dans la mesure où l’animal concerné voyage avec son propriétaire (ou une personne mandatée par celui-ci) et où celui-ci dispose d’un certificat de propriété (Certificate of Ownership).
L’entrée en Suisse et la sortie du territoire doivent être confirmées par les douanes sur la fiche annexe. Le certificat de propriété demandé est établi par les autorités de conservation des espèces du pays d’origine.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 02.08.2018

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/reisen-mit-heimtieren.html