Horses, donkeys and other equids from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to horses including other equidae such as zebras or donkeys and their cross-breeds.

Equidae require an official horse passport for import. If they remain in Switzerland longer than 30 days, they must be registered in the Swiss stock movement database.

Health certificate / TRACES

Registered equidae must be accompanied by a certificate issued by a veterinary officer in accordance with Annex II of Directive 2009/156/EC (as amended most recently by Implementing Decision 2016/1840/EU) . This document is valid for (multiple) journeys between EU Member States and Switzerland during a period of up to 10 days.

Non-registered equidae and all slaughter animals must be notified in TRACES and the animals must be accompanied by a certificate in accordance with Annex III of Directive 2009/156/EC.

Switzerland does not require a certificate (or a TRACES notification for non-registered horses) for animals imported temporarily (for a maximum of 7 days) from the EU (except for Romania) or for the re-entry of Swiss horses following a brief (up to 7 days) stay abroad. Please note, however, that a re-export certificate can only be issued following a brief stay in Switzerland if a prior certificate containing the required health guarantees is available.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

It is forbidden to import equidae from Romania.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post. The customs service provides information on the exact procedures involved in import, in particular electronic declaration and the allocation of tariff quotas (see "More information").

Miscellaneous

Equidae may be subject to species protection legislation. Please check their protection status in the CITES species checklist (see “More information”) and contact the FSVO if necessary.

Circus animals may be subject to the special conditions applicable to circus animals.

Animals intended for direct slaughter must additionally be accompanied by confirmation 06/04 of the animals' health status and use of medication completed by the establishment operator (see health certificate / TRACES). The document must be handed to the veterinary meat inspector at the slaughterhouse of destination before the animals for slaughter are examined.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/equiden-eu.html

Pferde, Esel und andere Equiden aus der EU

Geltungsbereich/ Voraussetzungen

Die Einfuhrbedingungen gelten für Pferde inkl. andere Equiden wie Zebra oder Esel und ihre Kreuzungen.

Equiden benötigen für die Einfuhr einen offiziellen Equidenpass. Falls sie länger als 30 Tage in der Schweiz bleiben, müssen sie in der Tierverkehrsdatenbank registriert werden.

Gesundheitsbescheinigung/ TRACES

Registrierte Equiden müssen von einem amtstierärztlichen Zeugnis gemäss Anhang II der Richtlinie 2009/156/EG (zuletzt geändert durch den Durchführungsbeschluss (EU) 2016/1840) begleitet sein. Dieses Dokument genügt für (Mehrfach-) Reisen zwischen EU-Mitgliedstaaten und der Schweiz während maximal 10 Tagen.

Für nichtregistrierte Equiden und in jedem Fall für Schlachttiere ist eine TRACES-Meldung erforderlich und die Tiere müssen von einem Zeugnis gemäss Anhang III der Richtlinie 2009/156/EG begleitet sein.

Zur vorübergehenden Einfuhr (maximal 7 Tage) aus der EU (ausser Rumänien) und zur Wiedereinfuhr von Schweizer Pferden nach einem Kurzaufenthalt (höchstens 7 Tage) verzichtet die Schweiz auf das entsprechende Zeugnis (und auf die TRACES-Meldung bei nicht registrierten Pferden). Bitte beachten Sie jedoch, dass ein Wiederausfuhrzeugnis nach einem Kurzaufenthalt in der Schweiz nur ausgestellt werden kann, wenn ein Vorzeugnis mit den entsprechenden Gesundheitsgarantien vorliegt.

Übergeordnete Schutzmassnahmen

Es gelten immer die am Tag der Einfuhr aktuellen Schutzmassnahmen.

Die Einfuhr von Equiden aus Rumänien ist verboten.

Kontrolle bei der Einfuhr

Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Tier- und Warenkategorien über jeden beliebigen Grenzübergang in die Schweiz eingeführt werden können. Die Zollbehörden entscheiden allein über die Zuständigkeit der einzelnen Zollstellen. Die Zollorgane geben Auskunft über die genauen Abläufe bei der Einfuhr, insbesondere zur elektronischen Deklaration und der Zuteilung der Zollkontingente (siehe unten „Weitere Infos“).

Besonderes

Equiden können artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen unterstehen. Bitte verifizieren Sie den Schutzstatus in der CITES-Artenliste (siehe „Weitere Infos“) und kontaktieren Sie allenfalls das BLV.

Bei Zirkustieren müssen allenfalls die speziellen Bedingungen für Zirkustiere beachtet werden.

Für Tiere zur direkten Schlachtung muss zusätzlich die vom Betriebsinhaber ausgefüllte Bestätigung 06/04 über den Gesundheitsstatus und Medikamenteneinsatz für Tiere mitgeführt werden (siehe Gesundheitsbescheinigung / TRACES). Das Dokument muss dem/der tierärztlichen Fleischkontrolleur/-in des Bestimmungsschlachthofes vor der Schlachttieruntersuchung übergeben werden.

Letzte Änderung 03.10.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/equiden-eu.html