Swiss Nutrition Strategy

A healthy diet reduces the risk of developing nutrition-related diseases. The government is therefore promoting a varied and balanced diet with the Swiss Nutrition Strategy.

Persone a tavola durante un pasto

In Switzerland today, food is always available in great variety and abundance. But many people still eat an unbalanced diet by consuming too much salt, sugar and fatty food, a diet which favours diseases such as diabetes, obesity or cardiovascular disorders. In addition to the human suffering they cause, such diseases account for around 80% of Swiss healthcare costs, highlighting the fact that a balanced diet is an important part of health promotion. Conversely, those who follow a healthy and balanced diet and also enjoy preparing and eating meals are benefiting their health and helping to prevent nutrition-related diseases.

Anyone can opt for healthy nutrition

The vision of the Swiss Nutrition Strategy 2017-24 is that all people can decide in favour of a balanced and varied diet. They should have a framework that enables them to maintain a healthy lifestyle on their own – regardless of their background, socio-economic status or age.

Three goals

Three goals were defined as part of the Swiss Nutrition Strategy 2017-24:

  • Increase nutritional competencies: the general public should be familiar with nutritional recommendations. The information about these should be available, easy to understand and simple to implement in everyday life.
  • Improve the framework conditions: In order to facilitate the choice of healthy foods, there must be a corresponding offering.
  • Integrate the food industry: Ever more producers and suppliers of foodstuffs and meals are making a voluntary contribution to healthy nutrition.

An action plan for implementation

The FSVO has worked with key players from industry, NGOs, government and education to draw up an action plan. The plan defines concrete measures for implementation of the strategy in four action areas:

Measurable goals are defined for each measure to document the progress in implementing the Nutrition Strategy.

About the origin of the Nutrition Strategy

The connection between health and nutrition was first documented in a global political context at the International Conference on Nutrition of the World Health Organisation WHO in 1992. The WHO member states subsequently undertook to develop and implement national strategies to improve the nutritional status and promote health among the general public. Switzerland published its first nutrition strategy in 2001. This has been further developed and adapted in line with new findings in recent years.

More information

Last modification 16.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/strategien/schweizer-ernaehrungsstrategie.html

Stratégie suisse de nutrition

Une alimentation saine permet de prévenir les maladies dues à l’alimentation. La Confédération encourage une alimentation équilibrée et variée avec la Stratégie suisse de nutrition.

Menschen essen gemeinsam am Tisch

Aujourd’hui en Suisse, même si les étals regorgent d’aliments variés, de nombreuses personnes ne mangent pas de façon équilibrée et consomment trop de sel, de sucre et de graisses. Une telle alimentation favorise les maladies comme le diabète sucré, l’obésité ou les problèmes cardiovasculaires. En plus des souffrances qu’elles entraînent, ces maladies génèrent près de 80 % des coûts de la santé en Suisse. C’est dire si une alimentation équilibrée constitue un élément essentiel de la promotion de la santé. Se nourrir de façon équilibrée et variée, préparer ses repas avec plaisir et les apprécier : voilà comment prendre soin de sa santé et prévenir les maladies dues à l’alimentation.

Une alimentation saine à la portée de tous

La Stratégie suisse de nutrition 2017–2024 vise à ce que tout le monde en Suisse puisse faire le choix d’une alimentation équilibrée et variée. La population devrait bénéficier d’un environnement lui permettant d’opter d’elle-même pour un mode de vie sain, indépendamment de l’origine, du statut socio-économique ou de l’âge.

Trois objectifs

La Stratégie suisse de nutrition 2017–2024 poursuit trois objectifs :

  • renforcer les compétences nutritionnelles : la population connaît les recommandations nutritionnelles grâce à des informations accessibles, compréhensibles et faciles à suivre au quotidien.
  • améliorer les conditions-cadres : pour faciliter le choix d’aliments sains, une offre appropriée est disponible.
  • impliquer la filière alimentaire : encore plus de fabricants et de distributeurs de denrées alimentaires et de repas contribuent volontairement à une alimentation saine.

Du plan d’action à l’application

En collaboration avec des acteurs de l’économie, des ONG, les autorités et la formation, l’OSAV a élaboré un plan d’action pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie. Les mesures qu’il prévoit relèvent de quatre champs d’action :

Des objectifs mesurables sont fixés pour chaque mesure, de sorte que la progression dans la mise en œuvre de la stratégie puisse être mise en évidence.

La genèse de la stratégie de nutrition

Le monde politique a reconnu le rapport entre santé et alimentation pour la première fois en 1992, lors de la Conférence internationale sur la nutrition qui a eu lieu sous l’égide de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Dans la foulée, les États membres de l’OMS se sont engagés à définir et à mettre en œuvre des stratégies nationales pour améliorer la situation nutritionnelle et promouvoir la santé de leur population. La Suisse a publié sa première stratégie de nutrition en 2001, qu’elle a développée et adaptée aux nouvelles connaissances au fil des ans.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 16.07.2018

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/strategien/schweizer-ernaehrungsstrategie.html