Swiss Nutrition Strategy

A healthy diet reduces the risk of developing nutrition-related diseases. The government is therefore promoting a varied and balanced diet with the Swiss Nutrition Strategy.

Persone a tavola durante un pasto

In Switzerland today, food is always available in great variety and abundance. But many people still eat an unbalanced diet by consuming too much salt, sugar and fatty food, a diet which favours diseases such as diabetes, obesity or cardiovascular disorders. In addition to the human suffering they cause, such diseases account for around 80% of Swiss healthcare costs, highlighting the fact that a balanced diet is an important part of health promotion. Conversely, those who follow a healthy and balanced diet and also enjoy preparing and eating meals are benefiting their health and helping to prevent nutrition-related diseases.

Anyone can opt for healthy nutrition

The vision of the Swiss Nutrition Strategy 2017-24 is that all people can decide in favour of a balanced and varied diet. They should have a framework that enables them to maintain a healthy lifestyle on their own – regardless of their background, socio-economic status or age.

Three goals

Three goals were defined as part of the Swiss Nutrition Strategy 2017-24:

  • Increase nutritional competencies: the general public should be familiar with nutritional recommendations. The information about these should be available, easy to understand and simple to implement in everyday life.
  • Improve the framework conditions: In order to facilitate the choice of healthy foods, there must be a corresponding offering.
  • Integrate the food industry: Ever more producers and suppliers of foodstuffs and meals are making a voluntary contribution to healthy nutrition.

An action plan for implementation

The FSVO has worked with key players from industry, NGOs, government and education to draw up an action plan. The plan defines concrete measures for implementation of the strategy in four action areas:

Measurable goals are defined for each measure to document the progress in implementing the Nutrition Strategy.

About the origin of the Nutrition Strategy

The connection between health and nutrition was first documented in a global political context at the International Conference on Nutrition of the World Health Organisation WHO in 1992. The WHO member states subsequently undertook to develop and implement national strategies to improve the nutritional status and promote health among the general public. Switzerland published its first nutrition strategy in 2001. This has been further developed and adapted in line with new findings in recent years.

More information

Last modification 16.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/strategien/schweizer-ernaehrungsstrategie.html

Schweizer Ernährungsstrategie

Wer sich gesund ernährt, verringert sein Risiko, an ernährungsbedingten Krankheiten zu erkranken. Daher fördert der Bund eine abwechslungsreiche und ausgewogene Ernährung mit der Schweizer Ernährungsstrategie.

Menschen essen gemeinsam am Tisch

Lebensmittel stehen in der Schweiz jederzeit in grosser Menge und Vielfalt zur Verfügung. Dennoch ernähren sich viele Menschen zu einseitig, indem sie zu viel Salz, Zucker und Fetthaltiges essen. Eine solche Ernährung begünstigt Krankheiten wie Diabetes, Adipositas oder Herz-Kreislaufbeschwerden. Da solche Krankheiten über das menschliche Leid hinaus rund 80 % der Schweizer Gesundheitskosten verursachen, ist eine ausgewogene Ernährung ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Gesundheitsförderung. Wer sich hingegen ausgewogen und abwechslungsreich ernährt und die Mahlzeiten mit Freude zubereitet und geniesst, fördert seine Gesundheit und kann damit ernährungsbedingten Krankheiten vorbeugen.

Alle können sich für eine gesunde Ernährung entscheiden

Die Vision der Schweizer Ernährungsstrategie 2017–2024 ist, dass sich alle Menschen für eine ausgewogene und abwechslungsreiche Ernährung entscheiden können. Sie sollen über Rahmenbedingungen verfügen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, in eigener Verantwortung einen gesunden Lebensstil zu pflegen – unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft, ihrem sozio-ökonomischen Status oder ihrem Alter.

Drei Ziele

In der Schweizer Ernährungsstrategie 2017–2024 wurden entsprechend drei Ziele definiert:

  • Die Ernährungskompetenz stärken: Die Bevölkerung kennt die Ernährungsempfehlungen. Die Informationen dazu sind verfügbar, leicht verständlich und können im Alltag einfach umgesetzt werden.
  • Die Rahmenbedingungen verbessern: Um die Wahl gesunder Lebensmittel zu erleichtern, muss ein entsprechendes Angebot geschaffen werden.
  • Die Lebensmittelwirtschaft einbinden: Noch mehr Hersteller und Anbieter von Lebensmitteln und Mahlzeiten leisten einen freiwilligen Beitrag zu einer gesunden Ernährung.

Mittels Aktionsplan zur Umsetzung

Das BLV hat gemeinsam mit Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, NGOs, Behörden und Bildung einen Aktionsplan ausgearbeitet. Er konkretisiert die Massnahmen zur Umsetzung der Strategie in vier Handlungsfeldern:

Für jede Massnahme werden messbare Ziele festgelegt, damit der Fortschritt der Umsetzung der Ernährungsstrategie aufgezeigt werden kann.

Zum Ursprung der Ernährungsstrategie

Der Zusammenhang zwischen Gesundheit und Ernährung wurde erstmals 1992 anlässlich der Internationalen Ernährungskonferenz der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) weltweit politisch festgehalten. In der Folge verpflichteten sich die WHO-Mitgliedstaaten dazu, nationale Strategien zur Verbesserung der Ernährungssituation und zur Förderung der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung zu erarbeiten und umzusetzen. 2001 veröffentlichte die Schweiz ihre erste Ernährungsstrategie. Diese wurde in den vergangenen Jahren weiterentwickelt und neuen Erkenntnissen angepasst.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/strategien/schweizer-ernaehrungsstrategie.html