Cannabis, Hemp extracts and Cannabinoids as foodstuffs

Foodstuffs containing hemp extracts or cannabinoids (such as CBD) are also becoming increasingly popular in Switzerland. Fundamentally, however, cannabinoids and hemp extracts are novel foodstuffs, which is why they may not be added at will to foodstuffs.

 

Whosoever places foodstuffs containing hemp extracts or cannabinoids on the market or wants to use them as a food ingredient must consider whether these foodstuffs are considered to be novel foods. This would be the case if it were not possible to prove that the foodstuff was already consumed to a significant degree prior to 15 May 1997 in Switzerland or in the EU.

It should also be noted that parts of the hemp plant contain the cannabinoid THC. Consumption of this substance leads to psychoactive effects. Therefore, maximum contents that may not be exceeded are defined in the Contaminants Ordinance (ContO). In addition, products produced from hemp must not fall under the Therapeutic Products Act (FTPA) if they are intended to be authorised as foodstuffs.

Hemp (Cannabis sativa L.): Not a novel foodstuff

The following products produced from cannabis sativa seeds are not considered to be novel foodstuffs:

  • Hemp seeds;
  • Hemp seed oil;
  • Hemp seed flour;
  • defatted hemp seed.

For these products it could be proved that they were already used as foodstuffs in the EU prior to 15 May 1997. Accordingly, they are not subject to authorisation.

The following applies for cannabis sativa tea:
In Switzerland, herbal tea produced from leaves of the hemp plant is fundamentally considered not to be a novel foodstuff. Whosoever wants to produce, import or place on the market herbal teas extracted from the herb must furnish proof that the herbal tea was already consumed as a foodstuff to a significant degree prior to 15 May 1997, and therefore not be classified as a novel foodstuff.

Extracts from Cannabis sativa L. (Hemp extracts)

Extracts with very different compositions, and by means of very different extraction methods, can be obtained from the various plant parts of cannabis sativa L.

Hemp extracts that contain cannabinoids are listed in the Novel Food Catalogue of the European Commission as novel foods because their use as a foodstuff prior to the 15 May 1997 cannot be confirmed. Consequently, the hemp extracts themselves, as well as products that contain hemp extracts as an ingredient, are considered to be novel foods. They may only be placed on the market with an authorisation from the FSVO or from the European Commission.

Cannabinoids, in particular cannabidiol (CBD)

More than 80 naturally occurring “cannabinoids” are found in hemp plant parts. The most important are the psychotropic delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and the non-psychotropic cannabidiol (CBD).

Up to now a significant degree of consumption of the individual substances of the cannabinoids as a foodstuff prior to the 15 May 1997 has been proven neither in Switzerland nor in the EU. Therefore, the following substances are judged as novel foodstuffs:

  • Cannabinoids from hemp plants (Cannabis sativa L.);
  • Cannabinoids from any other plant that contains cannabinoids;
  • Synthetically produced cannabinoids.

Cannabinoids, as well as hemp extracts, are listed as novel foodstuffs in the Novel Food Catalogue of the European Commission. Consequently, they may only be placed on the market with an authorisation from the FSVO or from the European Commission.

Weitere Informationen

Last modification 29.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/bewilligung-und-meldung/bewilligung/cannabis-cannabidiol.html

Cannabis, Hanfextrakte und Cannabinoide als Lebensmittel

Lebensmittel mit Hanfextrakten oder Cannabinoiden (wie CBD) liegen auch in der Schweiz im Trend. Bei Cannabinoiden und Hanfextrakten handelt es sich jedoch grundsätzlich um neuartige Lebensmittel, weshalb sie nicht nach Belieben Lebensmitteln beigegeben werden können.

 
Hanfprodukte

Wer Lebensmittel mit Hanfextrakten oder Cannabinoiden in Verkehr bringen oder als Lebensmittelzutat verwenden möchte, muss beachten, ob diese Lebensmittel als neuartige Lebensmittel gelten. Dies ist dann der Fall, wenn sich nicht nachweisen lässt, dass das Lebensmittel bereits vor dem 15. Mai 1997 in der Schweiz oder in der EU in nennenswertem Umfang konsumiert wurde.

Weiterhin ist zu beachten, dass Teile der Hanfpflanze das Cannabinoid THC enthalten. Der Konsum dieser Substanz hat psychoaktive Wirkungen. Deshalb sind in der Kontaminantenverordnung (VHK) Höchstgehalte festgelegt, die nicht überschritten werden dürfen. Zudem dürfen Erzeugnisse aus Hanf nicht unter die Heilmittelgesetzgebung (HMG) fallen, wenn sie als Lebensmittel zugelassen werden sollen.

Hanf (Cannabis sativa L.): Kein neuartiges Lebensmittel

Folgende Erzeugnisse aus Cannabis-sativa-Samen gelten nicht als neuartige Lebensmittel:

  • Hanfsamen;
  • Hanfsamenöl;
  • Hanfsamenmehl;
  • entfettete Hanfsamen.

Für diese Produkte konnte in der EU nachgewiesen werden, dass sie bereits vor dem 15. Mai 1997 als Lebensmittel verwendet wurden. Sie sind somit nicht bewilligungspflichtig.

Für Cannabis-sativa-Tee gilt:
Kräutertee aus Blättern der Hanfpflanze gilt grundsätzlich in der Schweiz nicht als neuartiges Lebensmittel. Wer aus dem Kraut gewonnenen Kräutertee herstellen, importieren oder in Verkehr bringen möchte, muss den Nachweis erbringen, dass dieser Kräutertee bereits vor dem 15. Mai 1997 in nennenswerten Mengen als Lebensmittel konsumiert wurde und daher nicht als neuartiges Lebensmittel einzustufen ist.

Extrakte aus Cannabis sativa L. (Hanfextrakte)

Aus den verschiedenen Pflanzenteilen von Cannabis sativa L. und mittels unterschiedlicher Extraktionsmethoden können Extrakte mit sehr unterschiedlichen Zusammensetzungen gewonnen werden.

Hanfextrakte, die Cannabinoide enthalten, sind im Novel Food Catalogue der Europäischen Kommission als neuartige Lebensmittel aufgeführt, da die Verwendung als Lebensmittel vor dem 15. Mai 1997 nicht nachweisbar ist. Daher gelten die Hanfextrakte selber wie auch Produkte, die Hanfextrakte als Zutat enthalten, als neuartige Lebensmittel. Sie können nur mit einer Bewilligung durch das BLV oder einer Zulassung durch die Europäische Kommission in Verkehr gebracht werden.

Cannabinoide, insbesondere Cannabidiol (CBD)

In Teilen der Hanfpflanze finden sich von Natur aus über achtzig so genannte Cannabinoide. Die wichtigsten sind das psychotrope Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) und das nicht psychotrope Cannabidiol (CBD).

Für die Einzelsubstanzen der Cannabinoide wurde bis anhin weder in der Schweiz noch in der EU vor dem 15. Mai 1997 ein nennenswerter Verzehr als Lebensmittel belegt. Deshalb sind folgende Substanzen als neuartiges Lebensmittel zu beurteilen:

  • Cannabinoide aus Hanfpflanzen (Cannabis sativa L.);
  • Cannabinoide aus jeder anderen Pflanze, die Cannabinoide enthält;
  • synthetisch hergestellte Cannabinoide.

Cannabinoide sind wie auch die Hanfextrakte im Novel Food Catalogue der Europäischen Kommission als neuartige Lebensmittel aufgeführt. Sie können folglich grundsätzlich nur mit einer Bewilligung durch das BLV oder einer Zulassung durch die Europäische Kommission in Verkehr gebracht werden. 

 

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 25.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/lebensmittel-und-ernaehrung/rechts-und-vollzugsgrundlagen/bewilligung-und-meldung/bewilligung/cannabis-cannabidiol.html