Transit

Animals, products of animal origin, non-animal foods and consumer goods are all subject to different transit provisions. These provisions are also determined by whether the products originate in and are destined for the EU or a third country. 

Animals and animal products

As used in the legislation, the terms live animals and animal products apply to the import, transit and export of all potential carriers of animal diseases, i.e. live animals, products of animal origin, hay and straw. Products of animal origin are foods such as meat or cheese, semen and embryos and by-products such as furs, processed animal protein, pet food etc.

The legislation governing the transit of live animals and animal products differentiates according to the nature, origin and destination of the shipment. The provisions are determined by whether the shipment originates in the EU or a third country and whether its post-transit destination is a Member State of the EU or a third country.

Foods of non-animal origin and consumer goods

The legal provisions governing the transit of foods of non-animal origin, such as fruit and vegetables, and consumer goods can be found in Chapter 6 of the Ordinance on Foodstuffs and Utility Articles (SR 817.02) and in Articles 71 and 72 of the FDHA Ordinance on the Implementation of the Foodstuffs Legislation (SR 817.025.21), see "More information".

Foods of non-animal origin or consumer goods that obviously pose a risk to health may be confiscated by the control body during transit.

Transit of animals and animal products originating in a third country

The transit of animals and animal products in which the EU is possibly involved in addition to Switzerland is governed by various provisions which require a differentiated approach.

Transit of animals and animal products originating in the EU

The transit through Switzerland of animals and animal products from the EU is not subject to controls by the border veterinary service. Conditions apply to the transport of animals.

More Information

Last modification 18.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/transit.html

Transit

Des dispositions différentes s’appliquent au transit, selon qu’il s’agisse d’animaux, de produits d’origine animale, d’aliments d’origine non animale ou d’objets usuels. La provenance et la destination des lots, UE ou pays tiers, jouent aussi un rôle. 

Animaux et produits animaux

La législation sur l’importation, le transit et l’exportation entend par « animaux et produits animaux » tous les vecteurs potentiels d’épizooties, soit les animaux vivants et les produits d’origine animale, mais aussi le foin et la paille. Les produits d’origine animale sont les denrées alimentaires comme la viande ou le fromage, les semences et embryons, ainsi que les sous-produits tels que les fourrures, les protéines animales transformées et les aliments pour animaux de compagnie.

Le transit d’animaux et de produits animaux est soumis à des règles différentes selon l’espèce, la provenance et la destination du lot. En effet, les dispositions légales varient selon que le lot provient de l’UE ou d’un pays tiers, et s’il est destiné à un État membre de l’UE ou un pays tiers.

Aliments d’origine non animale et objets usuels

Le transit des aliments d’origine non animale, comme les fruits et légumes, et des objets usuels est réglementé au chapitre 6 de l’ordonnance sur les denrées alimentaires et les objets usuels (RS 817.02) et aux art. 71 et 72 de l’ordonnance du DFI sur l’exécution de la législation sur les denrées alimentaires (RS 817.025.21), voir « Informations complémentaires ».

Les aliments d’origine non animale et les objets usuels qui sont manifestement dangereux pour la santé peuvent être confisqués par les organes de contrôle lors du transit.

Transit d’animaux et de produits animaux originaires de pays tiers

Il existe toute une série de procédures détaillées pour les transits d’animaux et de produits animaux qui impliquent la Suisse et l’UE.

Transit d’animaux et de produits animaux en provenance de l’UE

Le transit par la Suisse d’animaux et de produits animaux en provenance de l’UE n’est pas soumis au contrôle vétérinaire de frontière. Les transports d’animaux doivent satisfaire à des conditions spécifiques.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 18.03.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/transit.html