Transit

Animals, products of animal origin, non-animal foods and consumer goods are all subject to different transit provisions. These provisions are also determined by whether the products originate in and are destined for the EU or a third country. 

Animals and animal products

As used in the legislation, the terms live animals and animal products apply to the import, transit and export of all potential carriers of animal diseases, i.e. live animals, products of animal origin, hay and straw. Products of animal origin are foods such as meat or cheese, semen and embryos and by-products such as furs, processed animal protein, pet food etc.

The legislation governing the transit of live animals and animal products differentiates according to the nature, origin and destination of the shipment. The provisions are determined by whether the shipment originates in the EU or a third country and whether its post-transit destination is a Member State of the EU or a third country.

Foods of non-animal origin and consumer goods

The legal provisions governing the transit of foods of non-animal origin, such as fruit and vegetables, and consumer goods can be found in Chapter 6 of the Ordinance on Foodstuffs and Utility Articles (SR 817.02) and in Articles 71 and 72 of the FDHA Ordinance on the Implementation of the Foodstuffs Legislation (SR 817.025.21), see "More information".

Foods of non-animal origin or consumer goods that obviously pose a risk to health may be confiscated by the control body during transit.

Transit of animals and animal products originating in a third country

The transit of animals and animal products in which the EU is possibly involved in addition to Switzerland is governed by various provisions which require a differentiated approach.

Transit of animals and animal products originating in the EU

The transit through Switzerland of animals and animal products from the EU is not subject to controls by the border veterinary service. Conditions apply to the transport of animals.

More Information

Last modification 18.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/transit.html

Transit

Tiere, Produkte tierischer Herkunft bzw. Lebensmittel nicht-tierischer Herkunft und Gebrauchsgegenstände haben unterschiedliche Transit-Bestimmungen. Ob die EU oder ein Drittstaat Herkunft oder Ziel sind, spielt auch eine Rolle.

Tiere und Tierprodukte

Unter dem Begriff Tiere und Tierprodukte fasst die Gesetzgebung der Ein-, Aus- und Durchfuhr sämtliche möglichen Träger von Seuchenerregern zusammen, also Tiere, Produkte tierischer Herkunft und auch Heu und Stroh. Produkte tierischer Herkunft sind Lebensmittel wie Fleisch oder Käse, Samen und Embryonen, sowie Nebenprodukte wie z.B. Felle, verarbeitetes tierisches Eiweiss, Heimtierfutter etc.

Beim Transit von Tierprodukten unterscheidet die Gesetzgebung zwischen Art, Herkunft und Bestimmungsort der Sendung. Es spielt eine Rolle, ob die Sendung aus der EU oder aus einem Drittstaat stammt und ob sie nach dem Transit für einen Mitgliedstaat der EU oder einen Drittstaat bestimmt ist.

Lebensmittel nicht-tierischer Herkunft sowie Gebrauchsgegenstände

Die gesetzlichen Grundlagen zum Transit von Lebensmitteln nicht-tierischer Herkunft – z.B. Früchte und Gemüse - sowie von Gebrauchsgegenständen sind in der Lebensmittel- und Gebrauchsgegenständeverordnung (SR 817.02), Kapitel 6 und in der Verordnung des EDI über den Vollzug der Lebensmittelgesetzgebung (SR 817.025.21), Art. 71 und 72 zu finden, siehe „Weitere Informationen“.

Lebensmittel nicht-tierischer Herkunft oder Gebrauchsgegenstände, welche offensichtlich gesundheitsgefährdend sind, können die Kontrollorgane beim Transit beschlagnahmen.  

Transit von Tieren und Tierprodukten mit Ursprung Drittstaat

Für den Transit von Tieren und Tierprodukten, an dem neben der Schweiz je nachdem auch die EU beteiligt ist, gibt es eine Reihe von Varianten, die im Detail ein unterschiedliches Vorgehen erfordern.

Transit von Tieren und Tierprodukten mit Ursprung EU

Der Transit von Tieren und Tierprodukten aus der EU durch die Schweiz untersteht nicht der grenztierärztlichen Kontrolle. Für Tiertransporte sind Auflagen zu erfüllen.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 18.03.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/transit.html