Circus and exhibition animals from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to all circus animals.

The term "circus" covers travelling shows or fairs involving one or more animals. These import provisions apply by analogy to dressage animals as well.
These import provisions apply to temporary import for touring purposes.

The circus must apply for registration to the competent authority in the country in which the circus is legally domiciled at least 40 days prior to exporting the animals. The circus then receives a unique circus registration number.

Provided that the animal health regulations are satisfied, the competent authority will issue an animal register and a venue register.

An animal passport must be issued for each circus animal.

  • A collective passport in conformity with the model laid down in Annex IV of Regulation 1739/2005/EG must be issued for birds and rodents.
  • A pet passport must be issued for dogs, cats and ferrets, and the standard provisions for the import of dogs, cats and ferrets from the EU apply.
  • An official horse passport must be issued for horses and other equidae. For all other animals, an animal passport in conformity with the model laid down in Annex III of Regulation 1739/2005/EC must be issued.
     

When the circus animals are imported, they are monitored by the Veterinary Office in accordance with the instructions issued by the Cantonal Veterinary Office, and this monitoring must be continued at each venue. The conditions applicable to this monitoring are adapted to the circumstances. Since, in particular, biungulates and birds imported as circus animals do not (have to) have the same health status as Swiss (livestock) animals, suitable measures must be taken as a primary way of preventing contact with this latter group.

A circus may only move on to its next venue with the approval of the veterinary officer in the consigning country. To this end, the veterinary officer must check whether the animal register and the animal passports of all the circus animals are up to date. In addition, the venue of departure must not be subject to restrictions as a result of diseases to which animals in the circus are susceptible. The circus may not move on until the veterinary officer has recorded the inspection of the documents in the venue register and signed it.

Health certificate / TRACES

The veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification. The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place.

The current animal register that was checked by the veterinary officer in the country of origin before the circus moved on, the current animal passports and the venue register must be present when the border is crossed. They must be available for inspection by the authorities at any time on request.

Additional conditions

Bluetongue disease: The additional requirements stipulated in Regulation (EC) 1266/2007 apply to transport between restricted zones.

Authorisation from the Cantonal Veterinary Office is required for advertising with animals or for animal shows, small animal markets and circuses.

All the authorisations required from communes and/or cantons for the entire tour must be applied for in good time before entering Switzerland. The animal welfare authorisation (in conformity with Article 41 ff of the Animal Protection Ordinance) is issued by the canton in which the circus or travelling animal show will give its first performance.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post.

Miscellaneous

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/zirkustiere-eu.html

Zirkus- und Dressurtiere aus der EU

Geltungsbereich/ Voraussetzungen

Die Einfuhrbedingungen gelten für alle Zirkustiere.

Unter „Zirkus“ gelten fahrende Tierschau- oder Jahrmarktbetriebe mit einem oder mehreren Tieren. Diese Einfuhrbedingungen gelten sinngemäss auch für Dressurtiere.

Diese Einfuhrbedingungen gelten zur vorübergehenden Einfuhr im Rahmen einer Tournee.

Der Zirkus muss sich mindestens 40 Tage vor der Ausfuhr bei der zuständigen Behörde des Landes, in dem der Zirkus seinen rechtmässigen Sitz hat, registrieren lassen. Der Zirkus erhält dann eine individuelle Zirkusregistriernummer.

Die zuständige Behörde stellt, sofern die Tiergesundheitsvorschriften eingehalten sind, ein Tierregister und ein Gastspielregister aus.

Für jedes Zirkustier muss ein Tierpass ausgestellt werden:

  • Für Vögel und Nagetiere muss ein Sammelpass nach dem Mustervorgaben im Anhang IV der Verordnung 1739/2005/EG ausgestellt werden.
  • Für Hunde, Katzen und Frettchen muss ein Heimtierausweis ausgestellt werden und es gelten die Standardeinfuhrbedingungen zur Einfuhr von Hunden, Katzen, Frettchen aus der EU.
     

Für Pferde sowie andere Equiden muss ein offizieller Pferdepass ausgestellt werden Für alle anderen Tiere muss ein Tierpass nach dem Mustervorgaben im Anhang III der Verordnung 1739/2005/EG ausgestellt werden.

Bei der Einfuhr werden die Zirkustiere gemäss der Anweisungen der kantonalen Veterinärbehörde einer amtstierärztlichen Überwachung unterstellt, die an jeder Tourneestation fortzuführen ist. Die dafür geltenden Bestimmungen werden den Umständen angepasst. Da insbesondere als Zirkustiere eingeführte Klauentiere und Vögel nicht den gleichen Gesundheitsstatus haben (müssen) wie schweizerische (Nutz-) Tiere, ist in erster Linie durch geeignete Massnahmen ein Kontakt mit letzteren zu verhindern.

Ein Zirkus darf nur dann weiterziehen, wenn der amtliche Tierarzt des Herkunftslandes dies genehmigt. Hierfür muss der Amtstierarzt überprüfen, ob das Tierregister und die Tierpässe aller Zirkustiere auf dem aktuellsten Stand sind. Der Abgangsort darf zudem nicht wegen Krankheiten, für die die Tiere im Zirkus empfänglich sind, gesperrt sein. Der Weiterzug des Zirkus ist erst möglich, wenn der amtliche Tierarzt die Kontrolle der Dokumente im sogenannten Gastspielregister eingetragen und unterschrieben hat.

Gesundheitsbescheinigung/ TRACES

Der Amtstierarzt des Herkunftslandes muss eine elektronische TRACES-Meldung absetzen. Der Schweizer Bestimmungsbetrieb muss vor dem erstmaligen Import durch die kantonale Behörde im elektronischen System TRACES erfasst werden.

Beim Grenzübertritt ist das vom amtlichen Tierarzt des Herkunftslandes vor dem Weiterzug kontrollierte aktuelle Tierregister, die aktuellen Tierpässe sowie das Gastspielregister mitzuführen. Diese müssen jederzeit den Kontrollbehörden auf Verlangen vorgewiesen werden können.

Zusätzliche Bedingungen

Blauzungenkrankheit: Im Verkehr zwischen „Sperrzonen“  gelten die Zusatzanforderungen gemäss Verordnung (EG) 1266/2007.

Eine Bewilligung vom kantonalen Veterinäramt ist notwendig zur Werbung mit Tieren, für Tierausstellungen, Kleintiermärkte und Zirkusse.

Alle von Gemeinden und/oder Kantonen erforderlichen Bewilligungen sind für die ganze Tournee rechtzeitig vor der Einreise zu beantragen. Die tierschutzrechtliche Bewilligung (gem. Artikel 41ff der Tierschutzverordnung) erteilt derjenige Kanton, in welchem der Zirkus oder die fahrende Tierschau erstmals gastieren will.

Kontrolle bei der Einfuhr

Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Tier- und Warenkategorien über jeden beliebigen Grenzübergang in die Schweiz eingeführt werden können. Die Zollbehörden entscheiden allein über die Zuständigkeit der einzelnen Zollstellen.

Besonderes

Gewisse Tierarten unterstehen zusätzlich artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen. Bitte verifizieren Sie den Schutzstatus in der CITES-Artenliste (siehe „Weitere Infos“) und wählen Sie die entsprechende Kategorie über die detaillierte Abfrage.

Letzte Änderung 03.10.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/zirkustiere-eu.html