Reptiles, amphibians from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to reptiles (e.g. snakes and lizards), and amphibians (e.g. salamanders, newts, frogs not imported for culinary purposes) provided that they are not considered to be pets under the terms of the health regulations governing import.

Under the bilateral agreements between the EU and Switzerland, the animals must comply with the requirements of Directive 92/65/EEC.

Health certificate / TRACES

For salamanders and newts, the veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification. The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place (see below “Health certificate / TRACES”).

In all other cases, no health certificate is required.

Additional conditions

The animals must show no sign of disease.
The animals must originate from establishments and areas that are not subject to restrictions.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post.

Species conservation control

The shipment must be notified to the customs authority and presented to the chosen species conservation control office within 48 hours (two working days) (see "Further information"). The fee for the species conservation control will be collected in advance by the customs authority.

Owner’s licence

For the keeping of wild animals a licence might be required. Applications for licences should be made to the competent Cantonal Veterinary Office. The affected species of animal are listed in the Animal Protection Ordinance, Article 89-92 (in French).

Miscellaneous

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/amphibien-reptilien-eu.html

Amphibien, Reptilien aus der EU

Geltungsbereich/ Voraussetzungen

Die Einfuhrbedingungen gelten für Reptilien (z.B. Schlangen, Echsen) und Amphibien (z.B. Salamander, Molche, nicht zu Speisezwecken eingeführte Frösche), sofern sie im Sinne seuchenpolizeilichen Einfuhrregelungen nicht als Heimtiere gelten.

test

Gemäss den bilateralen Abkommen EU-CH müssen die Tiere den Anforderungen der Richtlinie 92/65/EWG entsprechen.

Gesundheitsbescheinigung/ TRACES

Für Salamander und Molche muss der Amtstierarzt des Herkunftslandes eine elektronische TRACES-Meldung absetzen. Der Schweizer Bestimmungsbetrieb muss vor dem erstmaligen Import durch die kantonale Behörde im elektronischen System TRACES erfasst werden (s. unten „Gesundheitsbescheinigung / TRACES“).

In allen anderen Fällen ist keine Gesundheitsbescheinigung notwendig.

Zusätzliche Bedingungen

Die Tiere dürfen keine Krankheitsanzeichen aufweisen.
Die Tiere müssen aus Betrieben bzw. Gebieten stammen, die keinen Sperrmaßnahmen unterworfen sind.

Kontrolle bei der Einfuhr

Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Tier- und Warenkategorien über jeden beliebigen Grenzübergang in die Schweiz eingeführt werden können. Die Zollbehörden entscheiden allein über die Zuständigkeit der einzelnen Zollstellen.

Artenschutzkontrolle

Die Sendung muss beim Zoll angemeldet und innert 48 Stunden (zwei Arbeitstage) bei der gewählten Artenschutz-Kontrollstelle präsentiert werden (siehe „Weitere Infos“). Die Gebühr für die Artenschutzkontrolle wird im Voraus durch den Zoll eingezogen.

Haltebewilligung

Zur Haltung von Wildtieren ist allenfalls eine Haltebewilligung nötig, welche beim zuständigen kantonalen Veterinäramt beantragt werden muss. Die betroffenen Tierarten sind in der Tierschutzverordnung, Artikel 89-92 aufgelistet.

Besonderes

Gewisse Tierarten unterstehen zusätzlich artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen. Bitte verifizieren Sie den Schutzstatus in der CITES-Artenliste (siehe „Weitere Infos“) und wählen Sie die entsprechende Kategorie über die detaillierte Abfrage.

Letzte Änderung 03.10.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/amphibien-reptilien-eu.html