World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

The World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) is an intergovernmental organisation dedicated to improving animal health and welfare worldwide.

OIE logo

The primary objective of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) - formerly the Office international des épizooties - is to control the international spread of animal diseases. It was an outbreak of rinderpest in Europe that led to the OIE’s creation in 1920. Since 2002, the organisation has expanded its mandate to include animal welfare. The OIE establishes international standards intended to prevent and control animal diseases including zoonoses, to safeguard the sanitary safety of world trade in terrestrial and aquatic animals and derived products, and to improve animal welfare.

Development of a world animal health information system

Due to globalisation, the spread of infectious diseases can prove devastating. Effective surveillance for early detection of such diseases at source is therefore essential in order to control them quickly and to protect animal and human populations. One mission of the OIE is to guarantee transparency and improve awareness of the world animal health situation. This mission is fulfilled on a daily basis thanks to a unique tool: the World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS). WAHIS includes disease alerts that anyone can receive by e-mail, RSS feed or smartphone app.

The OIE and Switzerland

Switzerland is one of the 28 founding members of the OIE. The Director of the FSVO represents Switzerland in the World Assembly of Delegates, which democratically adopts the standards drafted by recognised scientific experts. In addition, the FSVO participates actively in the development of standards and supports certain activities related to the strengthening of veterinary services worldwide and especially in Europe. The FSVO’s commitment to the OIE enables the FSVO to work for human and animal health as well as nd animal welfare at a global level. It also benefits from the knowledge and experience of other countries and institutions.

More information

Last modification 26.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/oie.html

Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE)

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE) est une organisation intergouvernementale avec pour mandat d’améliorer la santé et le bien-être des animaux dans le monde.

Logo OIE

Le premier objectif de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE) - anciennement l’Office international des épizooties - est de maîtriser la propagation internationale des maladies animales. C’est d’ailleurs suite à l’apparition d’un foyer de peste bovine en Europe qu’elle a vu le jour en 1920. Depuis 2002, l’organisation a élargi son mandat pour y inclure la thématique du bien-être animal. Elle établit des normes internationales destinées à prévenir et à contrôler les maladies animales y compris les zoonoses, à garantir la sécurité sanitaire du commerce mondial des animaux terrestres et aquatiques et de leurs produits ainsi qu’à améliorer le bien-être animal.

Développement d’un système mondial d’information sanitaire

En raison de la mondialisation, la dissémination des maladies infectieuses peut se révéler fulgurante. Une surveillance efficace pour une détection précoce de ces maladies à leur source est donc essentielle afin de les contrôler rapidement et de protéger les populations animales et humaines. Une des missions de l’OIE est de garantir la transparence et d’améliorer la connaissance de la situation zoosanitaire mondiale. Cette mission est quotidiennement remplie grâce à un outil unique : le système mondial d’information sanitaire WAHIS (World Animal Health Information System). Celui-ci comprend notamment des alertes concernant les maladies que chacun peut recevoir par e-mail, par flux RSS ou grâce à une application pour smartphones.

L'OIE et la Suisse

La Suisse fait partie des 28 membres fondateurs de l’OIE. Le directeur de l’OSAV la représente dans l’Assemblée mondiale des Délégués, qui adopte démocratiquement les normes préparées par des experts scientifiques reconnus. De plus, l’OSAV prend activement part à l’élaboration des normes et soutient certaines activités liées au renforcement des services vétérinaires dans le monde et surtout dans la région Europe. L’engagement de l’OSAV auprès de l’OIE lui permet d’œuvrer pour la santé humaine et animale ainsi que pour le bien-être animal à un niveau global. En outre, il profite ainsi des connaissances et expériences d’autres pays et institutions.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 26.01.2018

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/oie.html