World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

The World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) is an intergovernmental organisation dedicated to improving animal health and welfare worldwide.

OIE logo

The primary objective of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) - formerly the Office international des épizooties - is to control the international spread of animal diseases. It was an outbreak of rinderpest in Europe that led to the OIE’s creation in 1920. Since 2002, the organisation has expanded its mandate to include animal welfare. The OIE establishes international standards intended to prevent and control animal diseases including zoonoses, to safeguard the sanitary safety of world trade in terrestrial and aquatic animals and derived products, and to improve animal welfare.

Development of a world animal health information system

Due to globalisation, the spread of infectious diseases can prove devastating. Effective surveillance for early detection of such diseases at source is therefore essential in order to control them quickly and to protect animal and human populations. One mission of the OIE is to guarantee transparency and improve awareness of the world animal health situation. This mission is fulfilled on a daily basis thanks to a unique tool: the World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS). WAHIS includes disease alerts that anyone can receive by e-mail, RSS feed or smartphone app.

The OIE and Switzerland

Switzerland is one of the 28 founding members of the OIE. The Director of the FSVO represents Switzerland in the World Assembly of Delegates, which democratically adopts the standards drafted by recognised scientific experts. In addition, the FSVO participates actively in the development of standards and supports certain activities related to the strengthening of veterinary services worldwide and especially in Europe. The FSVO’s commitment to the OIE enables the FSVO to work for human and animal health as well as nd animal welfare at a global level. It also benefits from the knowledge and experience of other countries and institutions.

More information

Last modification 26.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/oie.html

Weltorganisation für Tiergesundheit (OIE)

Die Weltorganisation für Tiergesundheit ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation, die sich für die Verbesserung der Tiergesundheit weltweit einsetzt.

Logo OIE

Das Hauptziel der Weltorganisation für Tiergesundheit (OIE) – früher: Office international des épizooties – ist es, die internationale Ausbreitung von Tierseuchen zu verhindern. Ursprünglich war die OIE im Jahr 1920 nach einem Ausbruch von Rinderpest in Europa gegründet worden. Seit 2002 hat die Organisation ihr Mandat auf den Bereich des Tierwohls erweitert. Sie erarbeitet internationale Richtlinien zur Vorbeugung und Bekämpfung von Tierseuchen (einschliesslich Zoonosen), zur Gewährleistung der Gesundheitssicherheit im weltweiten Handel mit Land- und Wassertieren sowie deren Produkten und zur Verbesserung des Tierwohls.

Entwicklung eines weltweiten Tiergesundheitsinformationssystems

Durch die Globalisierung kann sich eine Infektionskrankheit heute sehr rasch ausbreiten. Eine wirksame Überwachung ist deshalb entscheidend, um die Quelle solcher Krankheiten früh zu erkennen, um die Krankheiten schnell in den Griff zu bekommen und so die Tierbestände und Bevölkerung schützen zu können. Zu den Aufgaben der OIE gehört es, Transparenz über die globale Tiergesundheitssituation zu gewährleisten und das Wissens darüber zu fördern. Dazu steht ihr mit dem weltweiten Tiergesundheitsinformationssystem WAHIS (World Animal Health Information System) ein wirkungsvolles Instrument zur Verfügung. Dieses System veröffentlicht Warnungen zu Tierseuchen, die per E-Mail, per RSS-Feeds oder mithilfe einer Smartphone-App empfangen werden können.

Die OIE und die Schweiz

Die Schweiz gehört zu den 28 Gründungsstaaten der OIE. Der Direktor des BLV vertritt die Schweiz in der internationalen Delegiertenversammlung, welche die von anerkannten wissenschaftlichen Expertinnen und Experten ausgearbeitete Normen nach demokratischen Grundsätzen annimmt. Ausserdem beteiligt sich das BLV selber aktiv an der Erarbeitung von Normen sowie an der Unterstützung der Veterinärbehörden in der ganzen Welt und insbesondere in Europa. Durch das Engagement des BLV in der OIE kann die Schweiz auf globaler Ebene zur Gesundheitssicherheit von Tier und Mensch sowie zum Tierwohl beitragen. Im Gegenzug profitiert sie vom Wissen und von den Erfahrungen anderer Länder und Institutionen.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 26.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/oie.html