Souvenirs

Caution must be exercised when choosing and purchasing travel souvenirs and gifts: many animal and plant species are subject to the Washington Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) or are protected by national legislation. The exporting and importing of live specimens or products of such species is either prohibited entirely or requires a permit.

Koralle und Fechterschnecke

Tourists are often not aware that a souvenir may contain an animal or plant product that comes from a protected species. It makes no difference whether the products in question have been bought or found on the beach (e.g. corals or conches) or in the forest (e.g. feathers).

Import and export of souvenirs

The import or export of the following souvenirs is either prohibited entirely or requires a permit:

  • Ivory (e.g. carved figures, jewellery);
  • Various protected plants (e.g. cactuses, orchids) and woods (e.g. rosewood);
  • Tortoise shell (musical instruments, masks etc.);
  • Conches (Strombus gigas or queen conch) and giant clams;
  • Stony corals, blue and black corals;
  • Hides, leather products (belts, key fobs etc.), furs (also small pieces) from protected species, especially reptiles;
  • More than 125g caviar per person (non-cumulative);
  • Zoological preparations (butterflies, snakes, emperor scorpions, seahorses, crocodiles, etc.) of protected species;
  • Teeth, feathers, bones, hairs and wool from protected species.

 

Caution must be exercised when choosing a souvenir. Dealers of such goods rarely draw the attention of travellers to the requirement for a permit. Specimens from protected species will be rejected by Customs if the required documents are not produced. If these documents cannot be furnished later, the goods will be confiscated. If the specimens were not declared when crossing the border, criminal proceedings may also be initiated.

Travel souvenirs from animal or plant products do not necessarily require a permit. If you are unsure, it is advisable to contact the responsible authorities of the country to be visited or the FSVO to avoid problems later on at Customs. With few exceptions, live protected and unprotected animals always require at least an import permit.

What souvenirs to take home?

Consult the free WWF app (in German), which can spare you extra expense and hassle on your return home. Under the heading Souvenirs, goods are listed in the categories Prohibited, With Permit and No Permit. The WWF has drawn up the lists together with the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO). Each year, tourists bring many animal and plant products or even live souvenirs into Switzerland, although importing them is either forbidden or only permitted with valid documents. In doing so, they are helping to drive certain species to the edge of extinction.

More information

Last modification 14.12.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/gebrauchsgegenstaende/reisen-mit-gebrauchsgegenstaenden/souvenirs.html

Souvenirs

Reiseandenken und Mitbringsel sind mit Umsicht auszuwählen und zu kaufen: Viele Tier- und Pflanzenarten unterliegen dem Washingtoner Artenschutzübereinkommen (CITES) oder sind durch die nationale Gesetzgebung geschützt. Die Aus- und Einfuhr von lebenden Exemplaren oder Produkten solcher Arten ist entweder gänzlich verboten oder bewilligungspflichtig.

Koralle und Fechterschnecke

Häufig ist es Touristen nicht bewusst, dass sich hinter einem Andenken ein tierisches oder pflanzliches Produkt verstecken kann, welches von geschützten Arten stammt. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob die jeweiligen Produkte gekauft oder am Strand (z.B. Korallen, Fechterschnecken) oder im Wald (z.B. Federn) gefunden wurden.

Import und Export von Souvenirs

Der Import oder Export folgender Souvenirs ist entweder gänzlich verboten oder bewilligungspflichtig :

  • Elfenbein (z.B. geschnitzte Figuren, Schmuckstücke);
  • Verschiedene, geschützte Pflanzen (z.B. Kakteen, Orchideen), diverse Hölzer (z.B. Palisander);
  • Schildkrötenpanzer (Musikinstrumente, Masken....);
  • Fechterschnecken (Strombus gigas), Riesenmuscheln;
  • Steinkorallen, blaue und schwarze Korallen;
  • Häute, Lederprodukte (Gürtel, Schlüsselanhänger...), Pelze (auch kleine Stücke) von geschützten Arten, vor allem Reptilien;
  • mehr als 125g Kaviar pro Person (nicht kumulierbar);
  • zoologische Präparate (Schmetterlinge, Schlangen, Kaiserskorpione, Seepferdchen, Krokodile, etc.) von geschützten Arten;
  • Zähne, Federn, Knochen, Haare und Wolle von geschützten Arten.

Bei der Wahl eines Souvenirs ist Vorsicht geboten. Händler solcher Waren machen Reisende nur selten auf die Bewilligungspflicht aufmerksam. Exemplare von geschützten Arten werden bei Fehlen der erforderlichen Dokumente am Zoll beanstandet. Können diese Dokumente nicht nachgereicht werden, wird die Ware eingezogen. Wenn die Exemplare bei der Grenzüberschreitung nicht deklariert wurden, kann dies zusätzlich zu einem Strafverfahren führen.

Reiseandenken aus tierischen oder pflanzlichen Produkten müssen nicht zwingend bewilligungspflichtig sein. Bei Unsicherheiten ist es aber ratsam die zuständige Behörde des Reiselandes oder das BLV zu kontaktieren, um spätere Schwierigkeiten am Zoll zu vermeiden. Lebende geschützte und ungeschützte Tiere brauchen mit wenigen Ausnahmen immer zumindest eine Einfuhrbewilligung.

Welche Souvenirs nach Hause nehmen?

Konsultieren Sie die kostenlose WWF-Ratgeber-App, das erspart Ärger und Kosten bei der Rückreise. In der Rubrik „Souvenirs" sind die Andenken in Kategorien gelistet: „verboten", „mit Bewilligung" und „ohne Bewilligung". Der WWF hat die Listen gemeinsam mit dem BLV erstellt. Denn jedes Jahr bringen Touristen viele Tier- und Pflanzenprodukte oder sogar lebendige Souvenirs in die Schweiz zurück, obwohl deren Einfuhr verboten oder nur mit gültigen Papieren erlaubt ist. Damit tragen sie dazu bei, gewisse Arten an den Rand des Aussterbens zu bringen.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 01.09.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/gebrauchsgegenstaende/reisen-mit-gebrauchsgegenstaenden/souvenirs.html