World Food Safety Day

From this year, 7 June will be the “World Food Safety Day”. The aim is to raise awareness of the importance of food safety in order to protect consumer health.

world-food-safety-day-logo-2019

The 73rd session of the United Nations General Assembly in New York has adopted a resolution declaring 7 June World Food Safety Day every year.

This decision is the result of the initiative launched by Awilo Ochieng Pernet in 2015 when she was Chairperson of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC), followed by intensive negotiations within the CAC, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), and the World Health Organization (WHO). Costa Rica was the country leading the negotiations on this decision.

The consequences of unsafe food

This day will provide an opportunity to raise awareness throughout the world of the impact of unsafe food on public health. As a matter of fact, according to the WHO’s global estimates, every year one in ten people get sick from eating food contaminated with bacteria, viruses, parasites or chemicals.

420,000 people, 125,000 of which are children under the age of five, die as a result of these illnesses. The WHO estimates that contaminated food is responsible for more than 200 diseases, ranging from diarrhoea to cancer.

Unsafe food has an adverse impact on social and economic development. It puts a strain on public health systems, national economies, trade and tourism.

On this particular day, the United Nations General Assembly’s resolution invites all parties involved, including authorities, industry, consumers, relevant international organisations, NGOs and academia to take part in activities to promote food safety at all levels.

Food safety is key to the implementation of several Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which UN member states have been called upon to achieve by 2030.

The Codex Alimentarius

The Codex Alimentarius is a set of standards, guidelines and codes of practice adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC). Since 1963, its mission has been to develop a standardised food code to protect the health of all consumers across the world and ensure fair practices in the international food trade. Switzerland is a founding member of the Codex.

More information

Last modification 20.06.2019

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/world-food-safety-day.html

Journée internationale de la sécurité sanitaire des aliments

Dès 2019, le 7 juin sera la « Journée internationale de la sécurité sanitaire des aliments ». L’objectif est de renforcer la sensibilisation à l’importance de la sécurité sanitaire des aliments afin de protéger la santé des consommateurs.

world food safety day

La 73ème session de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies à New York a adopté une résolution proclamant le 7 juin de chaque année « Journée internationale de la sécurité sanitaire des aliments » (World Food Safety Day).

Cette décision est l’aboutissement de l’initiative lancée en 2015 par Awilo Ochieng Pernet pendant sa présidence de la Commission du Codex Alimentarius (CAC) suivie d’intenses négociations au sein de la CAC, de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) et de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Le Costa Rica a été le chef de file des négociations qui ont abouti à cette décision.

Les conséquences des aliments contaminés ou avariés

Cette journée permettra d’attirer l’attention du monde entier sur les répercussions des aliments contaminés et des aliments avariés sur la santé publique. En effet, d’après les estimations mondiales de l’OMS, chaque année, une personne sur dix tombe malade suite à la consommation d’aliments contaminés par des bactéries, des virus, des parasites ou des substances chimiques.

420 000 personnes dont 125 000 enfants de moins de cinq ans meurent des suites de ces maladies. L’OMS estime que les aliments contaminés sont responsables de plus de 200 maladies, allant de la diarrhée aux cancers.

Les aliments contaminés ou avariés nuisent au développement des sociétés et des économies. Ils sont une charge pour les systèmes de santé publique, les économies nationales, le commerce et le tourisme.

La résolution de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies invite toutes les parties prenantes dont les autorités, l’industrie, les consommateurs, les organisations internationales pertinentes, les ONGs et le monde académique à participer aux activités de promotion de la sécurité sanitaire des aliments à tous les niveaux à l’occasion de cette journée.

La sécurité sanitaire des aliments est essentielle pour réaliser plusieurs Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) que les Etats membres de l’ONU sont appelés à atteindre d’ici à 2030.

Le Codex Alimentarius

Le Codex Alimentarius est un ensemble de normes, de lignes directrices et de codes d'usages adoptés par la Commission du Codex Alimentarius (CCA). Depuis 1963, sa mission consiste à élaborer des normes alimentaires harmonisées afin de protéger la santé des consommateurs du monde entier et d'assurer des pratiques loyales dans le commerce international des denrées alimentaires. La Suisse est un membre fondateur du Codex.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 05.06.2019

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/kooperationen/internationale-institutionen/world-food-safety-day.html