Legionella control in buildings

Legionnaires’ disease caused by Legionella bacteria has increased sharply in Switzerland in recent years. To counteract this spread, the FSVO has launched a research project: a multidisciplinary team is developing basic principles for Legionella control in buildings. 

Legionella control in buildings

Legionella are bacteria that occur naturally in standing water. They can become a problem for human health when they enter and spread in sanitation systems.

Legionnaires’ disease on the increase

Infections with Legionella, the bacteria responsible for Legionnaires’ disease, are occurring more frequently in Switzerland. In 2019, the Sentinella reporting system of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) recorded 582 cases of Legionella infection, 5 to 10% of which had a fatal outcome.

The FSVO and LeCo

In 2017, in response to the growing number of cases of Legionnaires’ disease in Switzerland, the FSVO, which is responsible for drinking water safety, specified limits for Legionella in water from sanitation facilities (including shower and bathing water). These limits are regulated in Swiss food legislation.

To ensure future compliance with the limits, the FSVO partnered with the FOPH and the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) to launch the research project LeCo (“Legionella control in buildings”) and to provide CHF 2.6 million in funding from 2020 to 2024.

The Offices’ aim with this project is to provide waterworks operators, civil engineers, plumbers, fitters and building owners with a scientific basis underpinning the hygiene requirements for water in sanitation systems.

A multidisciplinary research project

Various research groups have joined forces to improve the detection methods for Legionella and to establish how to control it effectively in buildings.

Since early 2020, under the leadership of Eawag (Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology), researchers in the fields of drinking water microbiology, disease agents and human health (Eawag, Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute), building technology and energy (Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts) and the Legionella unit at the Zurich Cantonal Laboratory have been investigating how best to control the risks associated with Legionella.

Long-term goals

The goal is to better understand Legionella’s behaviour in the water pipes of large buildings:

  • What role does water composition play?
  • Which microflora can compete with the development of Legionella?
  • Which disinfection measures can keep the growth of Legionella under control?
  • Can the origin of contamination be identified by genome sequencing of Legionella (new genome sequences)?

The answers to these questions should help to reduce cases of Legionnaires’ disease in Switzerland in the long term

More information

Last modification 15.05.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/gebrauchsgegenstaende/forschungsprojekte-gebrauchsgegenstaende/forschungsprojekt-legionellen-gebaeuden.html

Legionellen-Bekämpfung in Gebäuden

Die durch Legionellen verursachte Legionärskrankheit hat in der Schweiz während den letzten Jahren stark zugenommen. Um dieser Ausbreitung entgegenzuwirken, hat das BLV ein Forschungsprojekt ins Leben gerufen: Ein multidisziplinäres Team erarbeitet Grundlagen für die Bekämpfung von Legionellen in Gebäuden. 

Legionellen-Bekämpfung in Gebäuden

Legionellen sind Bakterien, die im stehenden Wasser natürlich vorkommen. Sie können zu einem Problem für die menschliche Gesundheit werden, wenn sie in sanitäre Systeme gelangen und sich dort ausbreiten.

Die Legionärskrankheit häuft sich

Infektionen mit Legionellen, Verursacher der Legionärskrankheit, treten in der Schweiz immer häufiger auf. Im 2019 verzeichnete das Meldesystem Sentinella des Bundesamts für Gesundheit (BAG) 582 Legionellosefälle, davon 5 bis 10 % mit tödlichem Verlauf.

Das BLV und LeCo

Als Reaktion auf die Zunahme von Legionellose-Fällen in der Schweiz legte das für Trinkwasser zuständige BLV im Jahr 2017 zwei Höchstwerte für Legionellen im Wasser aus sanitären Anlagen (auch Dusch- und Badewasser) fest. Diese sind in der Lebensmittelgesetzgebung geregelt.

Mit dem Ziel die Höchstwerte zukünftig einhalten zu können, hat das BLV zusammen mit dem BAG und dem Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) das Forschungsprojekt LeCo «Legionellen-Bekämpfung in Gebäuden» («Legionella control in buildings») lanciert und für die Jahre 2020 bis 2024 mit 2,6 Millionen Franken finanziert.

Mit dem Projekt LeCo möchten die Bundesbehörden Betreibenden von Wasserwerken, Bauingenieurinnen, Sanitärinstallateuren und Gebäudebesitzerinnen wissenschaftliche Grundlagen zu den hygienischen Anforderungen an das Wasser aus sanitären Systemen geben.

Ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt

Um die Nachweismethoden für Legionellen zu verbessern und um zu ermitteln, wie man in Gebäuden wirkungsvoll gegen sie vorgehen kann, haben sich verschiedene Forschungsgruppen zusammengeschlossen.

Unter der Leitung der Eawag untersuchen Forschende aus den Bereichen Trinkwassermikrobiologie, Krankheitserreger und Humangesundheit (Eawag, Schweizerisches Tropen- und Public-Health-Institut), Gebäudetechnik und Energie (Hochschule Luzern) und der Fachstelle Legionellen (Kantonales Labor Zürich) seit Anfang 2020, wie die mit Legionellen verbundenen Risiken am besten kontrolliert werden können.

Langfristige Ziele

Ziel ist das Verhalten von Legionellen in Wasserleitungen von grossen Gebäuden besser zu verstehen:

  • Welche Rolle spielt die Wasserzusammensetzung?
  • Welche Mikroflora kann die Entwicklung von Legionellen konkurrenzieren?
  • Welche Desinfizierungsmassnahmen können das Wachstum von Legionellen unter Kontrolle halten?
  • Kann man mittels Genomsequenzierung der Legionellen (New Genom Sequences) die Herkunft von Verunreinigungen identifizieren?

Mit den Antworten auf diese Fragen sollen die Fallzahlen der Legionärskrankheit in der Schweiz langfristig reduziert werden.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 15.05.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/gebrauchsgegenstaende/forschungsprojekte-gebrauchsgegenstaende/forschungsprojekt-legionellen-gebaeuden.html