The three Rs – Replacement, Reduction and Refinement of animal experimentation

Animal experimentation should only be allowed if no alternative methods are available for answering scientific questions. The number of laboratory animals and the distress that they suffer must be kept to a minimum.

News

The 3R Research Foundation Switzerland is replaced by the 3Rs Competence Centre of swissuniversities.

Since it was founded in 1987, the 3R Research Foundation has financed research projects for alternatives to animal experiments and for the improvement and reduction of animal experiments. The abstracts of these research projects can be found here:

After 30 years, the 3R Research Foundation Switzerland is discontinuing its engagement for the 3Rs. It will be replaced by the 3Rs Competence Centre of swissuniversities. The commemorative publication for the closing event of the 3R Research Foundation on 22 January 2018 can be found here: 

(12.01.2018) 

In Switzerland, researchers are obliged to reduce the number of animals used in experiments to a minimum. According to the guiding principles of the 3Rs (Replacement, Reduction, Refinement), alternative methods must be found to replace animal experiments wherever possible. The absolutely necessary animal experiments have to be performed as gentle as possible (see Links: Russell and Burch, 1959, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique).

Better animal welfare and humane animal experimentation with the 3Rs

In Switzerland, there is a need to establish a “3R culture” aimed at continuously and sustainably reducing the number of animal experiments and the suffering of the animals involved.

The 3R Research Foundation supports research projects exploring the 3Rs. The foundation is a cooperative institution of the Parliamentary Group for Animal Experimentation Issues, the Animalfree Research foundation and Interpharama. It has existed since 1987 and is supervised by the Federal Department of Home Affairs. The FSVO is represented on the foundation board.

The 3Rs are proving effective: Since the 80s, the number of laboratory animals used has decreased from 2 million to 600,000. However, complete replacement of animal experimentation remains difficult: Alternative methods must not only enhance animal welfare, but must also operate on a scientific level.

In 2015, the Federal Council approved a report on animal experimentation in Switzerland. The report demonstrates how the investigation of alternative methods can be promoted, how the number of animal experiments can be decreased and how the suffering of the animals involved can be reduced. To this end, the Federal Council is proposing several measures (see “More information”).

More information

Last modification 29.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzip.html

3R : Replace, Reduce, Refine – remplacer, réduire et réformer les expériences sur les animaux

Les expériences sur les animaux sont autorisées uniquement s’il n’existe aucune méthode alternative permettant d’apporter une réponse à la problématique posée. Le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire et les contraintes infligées aux animaux doivent être le plus possible limités. 

Actuel

La Fondation Recherches 3R remplacée par le Centre de compétences 3R de swissuniversities.

Depuis sa création en 1987, la Fondation Recherches 3R a financé des projets de recherche visant à remplacer, réduire et réformer les expériences sur les animaux. Vous trouverez les résumés des projets de recherche ici :

Après trente ans d’engagement, la Fondation Recherches 3R met un terme à ses activités et est remplacée par le Centre de compétences 3R de swissuniversities. Le document rédigé pour l’événement du 22 janvier 2018 organisé en l’honneur de la Fondation Recherches 3R peut être consulté ici :

(12.01.2018) 

En Suisse, il faut réduire le plus possible le nombre d’animaux utilisés pour l’expérimentation animale ainsi que les souffrances qui leur sont infligées. Selon le principe 3R (replace, reduce, refine), il convient, chaque fois que cela est possible, d’opter pour des méthodes de substitution (voir liens, Russell and Burch, 1959, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique).

Meilleure protection des animaux et expériences sur les animaux respectueuses avec les principes 3R

L’objectif est d’établir en Suisse une culture 3R afin de réduire durablement le nombre d’expériences sur les animaux et de limiter le plus possible la souffrance animale.

La Fondation Recherches 3R soutient des projets de recherche dans le domaine des méthodes de substitution aux expériences sur les animaux. La Fondation est une œuvre commune du groupe parlementaire pour les questions relatives à l’expérimentation animale, de la Fondation Animalfree Research, d’Interpharma et de la Confédération (OSAV). Elle existe depuis 1987 et agit sous la surveillance du Département fédéral de l’intérieur. L’OSAV est représenté au sein du Conseil de fondation.

Le principe 3R a fait ses preuves : depuis les années 1980, le nombre d’animaux de laboratoire a diminué de 2 millions à l’époque à 600 000 aujourd’hui. Reste qu’il est difficile de se passer complètement des expériences sur les animaux : les méthodes de substitution doivent non seulement fonctionner au niveau scientifique, mais aussi bénéficier d’une reconnaissance internationale. On enregistre toutefois des succès, notamment en toxicologie.

Le Conseil fédéral a adopté en 2015 un rapport sur l’expérimentation animale en Suisse. Ce texte présente comment encourager la recherche de méthodes de substitution, comment réduire le nombre d’expériences sur les animaux et comment diminuer les contraintes subies par les animaux. À cet effet, le Conseil fédéral propose plusieurs mesures (voir « Informations complémentaires »).

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 29.01.2018

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzip.html