Research project «Animal welfare also for farmed fish»

Fish farming in Switzerland has developed rapidly over the last years and will continue to grow in the future. However, there is a lack of scientifically validated methods available to fish farmers to assess the welfare of their fish in the installations.

In collaboration with the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) the FSVO is promoting the development of a model to systematically record and evaluate fish welfare in aquaculture installations. The objective is a software application (an “app”) that affords an individualised documentation to the fish farmers and makes available a standardised methodology for the research.

A model for the welfare of the fish

Based on international literature and practical experience with feeding installations, the following parameters have been developed to evaluate the welfare of the fish in 5 areas:

  • Water module: Quality of the water in the installation
  • Management module: Characteristics of the operation which directly or indirectly influence the welfare of the fish
  • Fish behavioural module: the general behaviour and dynamics of the group of fish
  • External fish module: External observations of the fish
  • Internal fish module: Examination of internal organs

Each module contains a number of parameters that by means of a mathematical model enable a module grade to be calculated. Some parameters are relevant only for certain aquaculture installations, and certain parameters are specific to particular species of fish. Consequently, the model is designed to be flexible enough to enable the modules to assess diverse installations and fish species.

egli-copyright
In Switzerland the perch is a popular edible fish, and local fishing falls far short of meeting the demand. This fish species is therefore found more and more in aquaculture installa-tions.


An app for fish farmers

A software application based on the model has been designed and will be further developed for use as an Android app and MS application. The app will be available by the end of 2020 in German, French and English, for use in recirculation and flow-through installations holding rainbow trout and pike perch. Perch will be integrated into the app by the beginning of 2021.

The ZHAW team

The project “Fish Welfare in Swiss Aquaculture” is headed by the research group leader Dr Dominik Refardt and doctoral student Linda Tschirren from the ZHAW and carried out in collaboration with representatives from across the aquaculture segment.

zuchtfisch-zhaw-copyright
The ZHAW research group for aquaculture systems carries out research and teaches in many areas of aquaculture with a focus on efficient and sustainable technologies as well as on aspects of the welfare and health of the fish.

Last modification 23.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/forschungsprojekte-tiere/projekt-tierwohl-auch-fuer-zuchtfisch.html

Projet de recherche « Bien-être aussi pour les poissons d’élevage»

La pisciculture s’est développée de manière rapide en Suisse ces dernières années, une tendance qui devrait se poursuivre. Mais les pisciculteurs ne disposent pas encore d’une méthode validée scientifiquement pour évaluer le bien-être de leurs animaux dans les bassins.

En collaboration avec la Haute école zurichoise des sciences appliquées (ZHAW), l’OSAV encourage donc l’élaboration d’un modèle qui permette d’enregistrer et d’évaluer systématiquement le bien-être des poissons dans les exploitations aquacoles. L’objectif est de développer une application qui mette à la disposition des pisciculteurs une documentation personnalisée et fournisse aux chercheurs une méthodologie standardisée.

Un modèle pour le bien-être des poissons

La littérature internationale et des expériences pratiques réalisées dans des bassins d’engraissement locaux ont servi de base pour définir des paramètres pour évaluer le bien-être des poissons dans cinq domaines :

  • Module Eau : qualité de l’eau des bassins
  • Module Gestion de la pisciculture : caractéristiques de la pisciculture qui ont une incidence directe ou indirecte sur le bien-être des poissons
  • Module comportement des poissons : comportement général et dynamique du groupe de poissons
  • Module Poissons – extérieur : observation des poissons de l’extérieur
  • Module Poissons – interne : examen des organes internes

Chaque module est composé de plusieurs paramètres qui sont convertis en une note à l’aide d’un modèle mathématique. Certains paramètres ne sont pertinents que pour des installations aquacoles spécifiques et plusieurs valeurs de paramètres ne concernent pas toutes les espèces de poissons. C’est pourquoi le modèle a été conçu de manière flexible afin de  permettre une évaluation des modules pour différentes installations et espèces de poissons.

egli-copyright
La perche est très appréciée en Suisse et la pêche locale ne permet pas, et de loin, de répondre à la demande. Cette espèce est donc de plus en plus souvent détenue dans des exploitations aquacoles.


Une « app » pour les pisciculteurs

Ce modèle a servi de base pour créer l’ébauche d’une application, qui est en cours de développement afin d’être utilisée comme app Android et application MS. L’app sera disponible en allemand, français et anglais d’ici la fin de l’année 2020 pour les systèmes en circuit recirculé ou en eau courante avec des truites arc-en-ciel et des sandres. La perche pourra être intégrée dans l’app début 2021.

L’équipe de la ZHAW

À la ZHAW, le projet « Bien-être des poissons dans l’aquaculture suisse » est dirigé par le Dr Dominik Refardt, chef du groupe de recherche, et par Linda Tschirren, doctorante, et mené en collaboration avec des représentants de toute la branche.

zuchtfisch-zhaw-copyright
Le groupe de recherche sur les systèmes aquacoles de la ZHAW mène des recherches et enseigne dans de nombreux domaines de l’aquaculture, en se concentrant sur les technologies efficaces et durables et sur le bien-être et la santé des poissons.

Dernière modification 23.09.2020

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/tiere/forschungsprojekte-tiere/projekt-tierwohl-auch-fuer-zuchtfisch.html