Aquaculture animals from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to animals from aquaculture such as live fish and aquatic crustaceans and molluscs (including bivalve molluscs). They also apply to animals that were originally free-living if they are destined for an aquaculture establishment.

Animals from aquaculture must comply with the provisions of Directive 2006/88/EC.

Health certificate / TRACES

Neither a health certificate nor a TRACES notification are required to import aquaculture animals that are kept exclusively for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds.

For shipments intended for breeding and restocking supplies (including rearing and fattening) the veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification as stipulated in Regulation EC 1251/2008 to the Cantonal Veterinary Office in the country of destination.

The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place.

To date there are no zones, bodies of water or establishments in Switzerland with a recognised infection status. The form "1251/08 – 1266/88 Intra Trade Notification" should be used in the system for the TRACES notification of shipments that do not require a health certificate under the terms of Directive 2006/88 or Regulation EC 1251/2008.

Additional conditions

An import licence is not required to import animals from aquaculture that are kept solely for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds and which are not listed in Annex 3 of the Ordinance of 24 November 1993 on the Federal Act on Fish and Fisheries (FFO).

Exceptions from this ban are only granted for edible crustaceans of the genus Cherax and, under certain circumstances, for zoos or research establishments. They require a licence. Specific provisions therefore apply to the import of animals from aquaculture (see "More information").

Import permit according to species conservation law

Imports of fish and crayfish belonging to the species listed in Annex 3 of the Ordinance of 24 November 1993 on the Federal Act on Fish and Fisheries (FFO) are prohibited.

Under the terms of Article 6 of the Federal Act of 21 June 1991 on Fish and Fisheries, FFO, a fishery import licence is required to import live fish, fish eggs, fish semen and freshwater crustaceans(unless Article 8 FFO provides for exemption from the requirement for a licence), as they are considered to be non-domestic or non-native (see "Import applications").

This import permit is (among others) not required to import aquaculture animals to be kept exclusively for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post.

The competent cantonal authorities check the prescribed health certificates or commercial documentation as part of their control activities.

Owner’s licence

A cantonal owner licence is required for all fish that can grow to over 1 metre in length in their natural environment. The owner must apply to the Cantonal Veterinary Office for this licence.

Miscellaneous

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/tiere-aquakultur-eu.html

Animaux de l’aquaculture de l’UE

Champ d’application / Conditions

Les conditions d’importation s’appliquent aux animaux de l’aquaculture, tels que les poissons vivants ainsi que les décapodes marcheurs et les mollusques (y compris les mollusques bivalves). Elles s’appliquent également aux animaux vivants initialement en liberté et destinés à un établissement d’aquaculture.

Les animaux de l’aquaculture doivent satisfaire aux exigences de la directive 2006/88/CE.

Certificat sanitaire / TRACES

Ni certificat sanitaire ni notification TRACES ne sont requis pour importer des animaux de l’aquaculture destinés à être détenus uniquement à des fins d’ornement dans des aquariums ou des bassins fermés.

Si les lots sont destinés à l’élevage ou au repeuplement (reproduction et engraissement compris), le vétérinaire officiel du pays de provenance doit envoyer une notification TRACES au service vétérinaire cantonal du lieu de destination conformément au règlement CE 1251/2008.

Avant la première importation, les autorités cantonales doivent enregistrer l’établissement de destination suisse dans le système électronique TRACES.

En Suisse, il n’existe pas à l’heure actuelle de zones, de cours d’eau ou d’établissements ayant un statut sanitaire reconnu. Pour les envois soumis à une notification TRACES sans certificat sanitaire selon les dispositions de la directive 2006/88 ou du règlement CE 1251/2008, il faut utiliser le formulaire « 1251/08 – 1266/88 Intra Trade Notification ».

Conditions supplémentaires

Il est interdit d’importer les poissons et les écrevisses qui figurent à l’annexe 3 de l’ordonnance relative à la loi fédérale sur la pêche (OLFP). Concernant les écrevisses, cette interdiction ne s’applique qu’aux décapodes marcheurs (Reptantia). Les décapodes nageurs (Natantia), dont les crevettes font partie, ne sont pas concernés par cette interdiction.

Des exceptions à cette interdiction peuvent être autorisées pour les zoos et les instituts de recherche uniquement pour les écrevisses destinées à la consommation du genre Cherax et dans certaines circonstances. L’importation d’animaux de l’aquaculture est donc soumise à des conditions spécifiques (voir « Autres informations »).

Autorisation d’importation relevant de la conservation des espèces

L’importation de poissons et d’écrevisses des espèces mentionnées à l’annexe 3 de l’ordonnance du 24 novembre 1993 relative à la loi sur la pêche (OLFP) est interdite.

Conformément à l’art. 6 de la loi du 21 juin 1991 sur la pêche (LFSP) , une autorisation est requise pour importer des poissons vivants, des œufs et des semences de poisson, ainsi que des écrevisses (pour autant que l’art. 8 LFSP ne prévoie pas d’exception), car il s’agit d’animaux étrangers au pays ou à la région (voir « Demandes d’importation »).

Cette autorisation d’importation n’est p.ex. pas nécessaire si les animaux de l’aquaculture sont destinés à être détenus uniquement à des fins d’ornement dans des aquariums ou des bassins fermés.

Mesures de protection prépondérantes

Les mesures de protection pertinentes sont celles qui s'appliquent le jour de l'importation.

Contrôle à l’importation

Attention : les postes frontières d'entrée en Suisse ne sont pas tous ouverts indifféremment à toutes les catégories d'animaux et de marchandises ! Il appartient aux autorités douanières de fixer les attributions de chacun des bureaux de douane.

Dans le cadre de leurs activités de contrôle, les autorités cantonales compétentes vérifient les certificats sanitaires et les documents commerciaux requis.

Autorisation de détention

Une autorisation cantonale est requise pour détenir tous les poissons pouvant dépasser 1 m de longueur en milieu naturel. Le détenteur doit la demander au service vétérinaire cantonal.

Remarques particulières

Certaines espèces animales sont soumises en outre à des conditions relevant du droit sur la conservation des espèces. Veuillez vérifier le degré de protection dans la liste des espèces CITES  (voir « Autres informations ») et choisissez la catégorie correspondante via  la recherche détaillée.

Dernière modification 03.10.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/tiere-aquakultur-eu.html