Dogs, cats and ferrets imported for commercial purposes from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply both to the commercial import of dogs, cats and ferrets (i.e. a change of owner is involved) and to entry into Switzerland with more than five pets (i.e. no change of owner involved). They not apply to private journeys with dogs, cats and ferrets.

The following conditions must be fulfilled before these animals can be imported:

  • Rabies vaccination
    The animals must have been vaccinated at least 21 days before they enter the country. If a booster vaccination is given while the initial vaccination is still valid, the waiting period does not apply. Initial vaccination will only be recognised if the animal was at least 12 weeks old when it was done.

    Young animals:  Young animals up to the age of 12 weeks may be imported into Switzerland without being vaccinated if they are accompanying their mother and are still dependent on her, or if they travel with a confirmation from the owner that they have not been in contact with wild animals since they were born. Young animals between 12 and 16 weeks of age may also be imported with a confirmation of this kind if they have already been vaccinated against rabies but the 21-day waiting period has not yet elapsed (see specimen document under "Administration and information").
    The import and transit of puppies less than 56 days old is forbidden for animal welfare reasons unless they are travelling with their mother (or a wet-nurse).
     
  • Identification
    The animals must be microchipped (in compliance with ISO standard 11784 or 11785). Dogs permanently imported into Switzerland must be registered in the national dog database by a veterinarian within 10 days of entering the country.
  • European pet passport
    The animals must be accompanied by a correctly completed pet passport. Passports issued after 29 December 2014 must be in the new format.

 

It is forbidden to import dogs  with docked ears and/or tails (see below under "More information").
The veterinary examination (no earlier than 48 hours before departure) must be confirmed in the official (TRACES) certificate.

Health certificate / TRACES

The veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification. The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place.

The animals must be accompanied by a TRACES certificate 92/65 E1. Only the stamped and signed original will be accepted.

Animal health import permit

Special permits to import dogs or cats that do not comply with the import provisions are only issued in rare cases, e.g. if the animals cannot be vaccinated against rabies for medical reasons (stated in a veterinary certificate) (see below under "Import application").

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Owner’s licence

For the keeping of wild animals a licence might be required. Applications for licences should be made to the competent Cantonal Veterinary Office. The affected species of animal are listed in the Animal Protection Ordinance, Article 89-92 (in French).

Miscellaneous

Authorisation from the Cantonal Veterinary Office is required if the animals are being imported for one of the following purposes:

  • trading
  • delivery of foundling animals and abandoned animals (trading permit)
  • advertising with animals
  • animal shows
  • small animal markets
  • zoos
  • circuses
  • and/or animal experiments.
     

Please obtain information from the competent Cantonal Veterinary Office.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/hukafr-eu.html

Chiens, chats, furets importés à des fins commerciales de l’UE

Champ d’application / Conditions

Les conditions d'importation s'appliquent aussi bien à l'importation de chiens, de chats et de furets à des fins commerciales (à savoir : avec changement de propriétaire) qu'aux importations de plus de 5 animaux de compagnie (à savoir : sans changement de propriétaire). Elles ne sont pas applicables aux voyages privés avec des chiens, des chats et des furets (5 au plus).

Les conditions suivantes doivent être remplies :

  • Protection contre la rage
    La vaccination doit avoir été effectuée au moins 21 jours avec l'entrée en Suisse. Si le vaccin de rappel intervient pendant la durée de validité du premier vaccin, il n'y a pas de délai d'attente. La primovaccination n'est reconnue que lorsqu'elle a été administrée à l'âge de 12 semaines au plus tôt.

    Jeunes animaux :  les jeunes animaux âgés de moins de 12 semaines peuvent être amenés en Suisse non vaccinés s’ils accompagnent leur mère dont ils sont encore dépendants ou si une déclaration de leur propriétaire atteste qu'ils ne sont jamais entrés en contact avec des animaux sauvages dont l'espèce est sensible à la rage. Une telle déclaration permet également d'importer des jeunes animaux âgés de 12 à 16 semaines qui ont reçu la primovaccination, même si le délai d'attente requis de 21 jours n’est pas échu (voir le modèle du document sous « Administration et informations »
    Pour des raisons de protection des animaux, l'importation et le transit de chiots âgés de moins de 56 jours sont interdits, à moins que les chiots voyagent accompagnés de leur mère (ou d'une mère nourricière).
     
  • Identification
    les animaux doivent être identifiés au moyen d'une puce électronique (conforme aux normes ISO 11784 ou 11785).
    Les chiens importés définitivement en Suisse doivent être enregistrés dans les 10 jours par un vétérinaire dans la banque de données nationale sur les chiens.
  • Passeport européen pour animaux de compagnie
    Les animaux doivent être accompagnés d'un passeport AC dûment rempli.Les passeports établis à partir du 29.12.2014 doivent correspondre au nouveau format.
     

L'importation de chiens  aux oreilles et/ou à la queue coupées est interdite (voir « Autres informations »).
Le contrôle vétérinaire (48 heures au plus tôt avant le départ) doit être confirmé dans le certificat (TRACES) officiel.

Certificat sanitaire / TRACES

Le vétérinaire officiel du pays de provenance doit envoyer une notification électronique TRACES. Avant la première importation, les autorités cantonales doivent enregistrer l'établissement de destination suisse dans le système électronique TRACES.

Les animaux doivent être accompagnés d'un certificat TRACES 92/65 E I. Seul le document original dûment visé et signé est admis.

Autorisation d’importation vétérinaire

La délivrance d'autorisations pour importer des chiens et des chats qui ne remplissent pas les conditions n'est possible que dans des cas exceptionnels, p. ex. lorsque (attestation vétérinaire à l'appui) des animaux ne peuvent être vaccinés contre la rage en raison d'une contre-indication médicale (voir sous « Demande d'importation »).

Mesures de protection prépondérantes

Les mesures de protection pertinentes sont celles qui s'appliquent le jour de l'importation.

Autorisation de détention

Une autorisation de détention pourrait être requise pour la détention d’animaux sauvages. Le cas échéant, veuillez vous adresser au service vétérinaire cantonal compétent. Les espèces animales concernées sont mentionnées dans l'ordonnance sur la protection des animaux, art. 89 à 92.

Remarques particulières

Une autorisation du service vétérinaire cantonal est nécessaire si les animaux sont importés dans l'un des buts suivants :

  • commerce
  • remise d'animaux trouvés ou abandonnés (autorisation de commerce)
  • publicité
  • expositions
  • marchés de petits animaux
  • zoos
  • cirques
  • et/ou expérimentation animale.
     

Veuillez vous informer auprès du service vétérinaire cantonal compétent.

Dernière modification 03.10.2016

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/hukafr-eu.html