Maintaining good hygiene to control multidrug-resistant bacteria in veterinary clinics

Bacteria can be transmitted between humans and animals, and some are resistant to antibiotics. What can veterinary clinics and practices do to minimise the transmission of multidrug-resistant bacteria? Researchers at the Vetsuisse Faculty set out to answer this question.

Logo Antibiotikaresistenz

A study funded by the FSVO found multidrug-resistant bacteria in dogs and cats, the animals’ owners, and the staff of veterinary clinics and practices. Multidrug-resistant bacteria are resistant to multiple antibiotics and are therefore more difficult to treat.

With the aim of minimising transmission of such bacteria, specific hygiene recommendations were drawn up for veterinary clinics and practices. The participants in this project were the Vetsuisse Faculties in Zurich and Bern, the Swiss Veterinary Society and the FSVO.

Kleintierklinik
Poor hygiene can allow multidrug-resistant bacteria to spread in veterinary clinics and practices (© Hannah & Sophie)

Importance of hygiene

Resistance to antibiotics is on the rise. Every use of antibiotics can encourage resistance, so it is important to use antibiotics as sparingly as possible.

This calls for effective measures to prevent diseases and minimise their transmission. Hygiene plays a crucial role here: good hygiene can prevent infections and is important in both human and veterinary medicine.

Research into the transmission of bacteria

To maintain effective hygiene, we need to know where bacteria occur and how we can combat their transmission. Just like at home, it is important to maintain good hand hygiene in veterinary clinics and practices.

Transmission of bacteria between pets and humans is rare, but it does occur. There has been little research into the prevalence of resistant bacteria in pets in Switzerland. To investigate this, samples were taken in veterinary clinics and practices and subjected to tests. The researchers found multidrug-resistant bacteria in both the samples from clinic staff and those from animals and their owners. Some of these bacteria were closely related, which is why transmission was assumed. Transmission can occur directly between animals and humans or indirectly, via the environment.

Measures to combat the spread of bacteria

Based on the results of the research project into the spread and transmission of multidrug-resistant bacteria, a comprehensive hygiene manual (available in German or French) was produced for small animal practices and clinics. The manual contains specific recommendations to minimise the spread of bacteria. These include good personal hygiene, proper cleaning and disinfection of premises and equipment, and optimal surgical management (see “More information” > “Details”).

A future research project will look at whether and how the recommendations are implemented in practice. For example, digital learning and self-evaluation tools could be developed and minimum statutory requirements put in place at a later stage.

More information

Last modification 14.05.2021

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/forschung-hygiene-in-kliniken-und-praxen.html

Une bonne hygiène permet de lutter contre les germes multirésistants dans les cliniques et cabinets vétérinaires

Les bactéries peuvent se transmettre de l’animal à l’homme et inversement. C’est le cas aussi de celles qui sont résistantes aux antibiotiques. Que peuvent faire les cliniques et les cabinets vétérinaires pour réduire à un minimum la transmission des germes multirésistants ? Des chercheurs des facultés Vetsuisse ont examiné la question.

Logo Antibiotikaresistenz

Au cours d’une étude financée par l’OSAV, les chercheurs ont trouvé des germes multirésistants chez des chiens et des chats, chez leurs propriétaires et chez le personnel des cliniques et cabinets vétérinaires qui les avait pris en charge. Ces bactéries sont résistantes à plusieurs antibiotiques et cela peut rendre le traitement plus difficile.

Des recommandations d’hygiène destinées aux cliniques et cabinets vétérinaires ont été élaborées afin de réduire la transmission de ces germes. Ont participé aux travaux les facultés Vetsuisse de Zurich et de Berne, la Société des Vétérinaires Suisses et l’OSAV.

Kleintierklinik
Si l’hygiène est insuffisante, les bactéries multirésistantes peuvent aussi se propager dans les cliniques et cabinets vétérinaires (© Hannah & Sophie)

L’hygiène est importante

Les résistances aux antibiotiques augmentent. Toute utilisation d’antibiotiques peut favoriser le développement de résistances. Il est donc important de les utiliser avec la plus grande retenue.

Pour ce faire, des mesures efficaces sont nécessaires pour prévenir les maladies et réduire leur transmission à un minimum. L’hygiène joue ici un rôle important : une bonne hygiène permet d’empêcher les infections. Elle est importante non seulement en médecine humaine mais aussi en médecine vétérinaire.

Recherche sur la transmission des germes

Savoir où les germes se trouvent et comment contrer leur transmission sont des conditions indispensables à une hygiène efficace. Le respect d’une bonne hygiène des mains est important à domicile mais aussi dans les cliniques et cabinets vétérinaires.

Si la transmission des germes de l’animal de compagnie et l’être humain est rare, elle peut cependant se produire. La fréquence des germes résistants chez les animaux de compagnie en Suisse a été peu étudiée à ce jour. Pour la connaître, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans des cliniques et des cabinets vétérinaires puis analysés. Les chercheurs ont trouvé des germes multirésistants tant dans les échantillons provenant du personnel des cliniques vétérinaires que dans ceux prélevés chez les animaux et leurs propriétaires. Une partie des germes découverts étaient étroitement apparentés. Pour cette raison, on suppose qu’il y a eu une transmission soit directe entre l’animal et l’être humain, soit indirecte via l’environnement.

Des mesures pour lutter contre la propagation des germes

Les résultats du projet de recherche sur la propagation et la transmission de bactéries multirésistantes ont servi de base pour élaborer un manuel d’hygiène destinés aux cabinets et aux cliniques vétérinaires. Il contient des recommandations concrètes pour réduire la propagation des germes, dont, par exemple, une bonne hygiène personnelle, la manière de nettoyer et de désinfecter correctement les locaux et les appareils ou une gestion optimale des opérations (cf. « Informations complémentaires » > « En détail »).

Un futur projet de recherche examinera la mise en œuvre des recommandations dans la pratique. Il permettra ensuite de développer des outils numériques d’apprentissage et d’autoévaluation et de créer des exigences légales minimales.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 14.06.2021

Début de la page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/forschung-hygiene-in-kliniken-und-praxen.html