Findings on a Coronavirus in pigs help us to understand the SARS-Coronavirus-2

A research programme supported by the FSVO on preventative measures against outbreaks of coronaviruses in the veterinary field delivered significant findings on viruses that jump from animals to humans. Thanks to these findings the emerging zoonotic viruses, such as SARS-Coronavirus-2, can be better investigated.

Coronaviren

Coronaviruses are known as important pathogens in the veterinary field. They can infect mammals and birds. A number of coronaviruses are triggers of critical diseases in livestock and pets.

 

Volker Thiel, researcher at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI) and professor at the University of Bern has been carrying out research into coronaviruses in the veterinary field for several years. In the interview he explains

  • which animals can contract the SARS-coronavirus-2 and fall ill with COVID,
  • which findings help to protect livestock and pets against coronaviruses,
  • and which animals can transmit the virus to humans.

The family of coronaviruses also includes the porcine epizootic diarrhoea virus (PEDV). It is responsible for serious outbreaks of disease in China since 2010 and in USA since 2013.

The FSVO and the Coronaviruses

In a project supported by the FSVO from August 2015 to July 2018, preventative measures were drawn up for the case in which a highly virulent PEDV strain were introduced into Europe and thus into Switzerland.

The project involved the production of a “molecular clone” of the PEDV strain. Thanks to this clone the PEDV genome can be modified such that it no longer triggers disease and can be tested as a possible vaccine. Based on these findings a similar strategy can be applied to SARS-Cov-2.

Coronavirus expertise at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI)

As the news of a new SARS-Coronavirus spread round the world in January 2020 the IVI, part of FSVO, was well prepared. The IVI, in its research on the fundamental mechanisms of the replication of coronaviruses in animals and humans, had carried out work on coronaviruses for a number of years.

The research always focussed on the question of how the findings can be utilised to prevent the replication and spreading of coronaviruses, and how coronaviruses could be specifically weakened and converted into a vaccine.

Also, in the case of SARS-CoV-2, this involves forming a “molecular clone”. The scientists in IVI succeeded in record time, as soon as February 2020, to generate such a clone (Publication in the journal Nature, 4. May 2020).

Volker Thiel explains in the interview

  • the role of his research when COVID-19 appeared in China at the end of 2019, and how he and his team of researchers have collaborated nationally and internationally with other experts,
  • to what extent the findings from his research on the PED virus benefit the fight against SARS-COV-2,
  • and which role is played by the molecular clones of the PED-strain in the development of vaccines intended to be inoculated in the fight against COVID-19.

Harmless Coronaviruses as possible vaccines

As a result of this success, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF) instigated a research project for the development of weakened SARS-CoV-2 variants that could be suitable live vaccines. Besides the IVI, two additional research groups from Bern and Geneva, as well as two research groups from Berlin and Rheims, were involved in this project.

The PEDV project is entering the second phase. In collaboration with an industrial partner the intention is to produce and test a PEDV vaccine. In addition, work has begun on the development of a live vaccine for Covid-19. The molecular SARS-CoV-2 clone has been made available to many research laboratories throughout the world. These laboratories are pursuing similar strategies for the production of live vaccines or use the clone to identify antiviral agents for treating COVID-19.

In the interview Volker Thiel explains the difference between the live vaccines intended to be developed, based on the findings of his research, and the vaccines that are currently inoculated in the fight against Covid 19.

More informations

In detail

FSVO Research Project:
"Establishing preparedness for PEDV outbreaks" (1.15.05)

Last modification 08.06.2021

Top of page

In Focus

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/erkenntnisse-coronavirus-schwein-sars.html

Les résultats concernant un coronavirus chez le porcs aident à comprendre le coronavirus SRAS-CoV-2

Un projet de recherche soutenu par l’OSAV et consacré aux mesures préventives contre les flambées de coronavirus dans le domaine vétérinaire fournit des résultats importants sur les virus qui se transmettent de l’animal à l’humain. Grâce à ces résultats, on peut mieux analyser les nouveaux virus zoonotiques comme le coronavirus SRAS-CoV-2. 

Coronaviren

Les coronavirus sont connus dans le domaine vétérinaire comme agents pathogènes importants. Ils peuvent provoquer des infections chez les mammifères et les oiseaux. Une série de coronavirus déclenchent de graves maladies des animaux de rente et des animaux de compagnie.

Volker Thiel, chercheur à l’Institut de virologie et d’immunologie IVI et professeur à l’Université de Berne, mène depuis des années des recherches sur les coronavirus dans le domaine vétérinaire. Il explique dans cet interview

  • quels animaux peuvent s’infecter avec le coronavirus SRAS-CoV-2 et contracter le COVID,
  • quels résultats aident à protéger les animaux de rente et les animaux de compagnie contre les coronavirus et
  • quels animaux peuvent transmettre le virus à l’humain.

 

Le virus de la diarrhée épidémique porcine (VDEP) fait lui aussi partie de la famille des coronavirus. Il est à l’origine de graves flambées observées en Chine depuis 2010 et aux États-Unis depuis 2013.

L’OSAV et les coronavirus

Les chercheurs de l’IVI participants à un projet de recherche soutenu par l’OSAV ont élaboré d’août 2015 à juin 2018 des mesures préventives contre l’introduction en Europe, et donc en Suisse, d’une souche virulente de VDEP.

Ils ont obtenu ce qu’on appelle un clone moléculaire d’une souche du VDEP. Ce clone permet de transformer le génome du VDEP de telle manière que le virus ne déclenche plus la maladie et peut être testé comme vaccin envisageable. Sur la base de ces résultats, une stratégie semblable peut être appliquée au SRAS-CoV-2.

Expertise en matière de coronavirus à l’Institut de virologie et d’immunologie (IVI)

L’IVI était bien préparé quand la nouvelle sur le nouveau coronavirus associé au SRAS fait le tour du monde en janvier 2020. Ses chercheurs ont mené depuis plusieurs années des travaux consacrés aux coronavirus pour explorer les mécanismes fondamentaux de leur reproduction chez les animaux.

Le focus de ces travaux a porté sur l’utilisation des résultats pour empêcher la reproduction et la propagation des coronavirus et la manière de les affaiblir de manière ciblée pour les transformer en vaccins.

Dans le cas du SRAS-CoV-2, il s’agit aussi d’obtenir un clone moléculaire. Les chercheurs de l’IVI sont parvenus en un temps record à obtenir un tel clone en février 2020 (publication dans la revue scientifiques Nature du 4 mai 2020).

Volker Thiel explique dans cet interview

  • le rôle que sa recherche a joué depuis que le COVID-19 est apparu en Chine fin 2019 et la manière dont son équipe et lui ont collaboré avec d’autres experts aux niveaux national et international,
  • l’utilité des résultats de sa recherche sur le virus de la DEP dans la lutte contre le SRAS-CoV-2 et
  • le rôle des clones moléculaires de la souche du VDEP pour le développement des vaccins destinés à lutter contre le COVID-19.

Coronavirus inoffensifs envisageables comme vaccins

À la suite de ce succès, le Fonds national suisse (FNS) soutient un projet de recherche visant à développer des variantes affaiblies du SRAS-CoV-2 pouvant être utilisées comme vaccins vivants. Hormis l’IVI, deux groupes de recherche suisses, de Berne et de Genève, et deux groupes allemands, de Berlin et de Riems, participent à sa réalisation.

Le projet VDEP passe à la deuxième phase. Il est prévu de fabriquer et de tester un vaccin contre la DEP en collaboration avec un partenaire industriel. En outre, des travaux ont été lancé pour développer un vaccin vivant contre le COVID-19. Le clone moléculaire du SRAS-CoV-2 a été mis à la disposition de nombreux laboratoires de recherche du monde entier. Ceux-ci mettent en œuvre des stratégies semblables pour produire des vaccins vivants ou utilisent le clone pour identifier des médicaments antiviraux destinés au traitement du COVID-19.

Volker Thiel explique dans l’interview la différence entre les vaccins vivants développés sur la base des résultats de son activité de recherche et les vaccins utilisés actuellement pour lutter contre le COVID-19.

Informations complémentaires

En détail

Projet de recherche de l’OSAV :
«Establishing preparedness for PEDV outbreaks (1.15.05

Dernière modification 08.06.2021

Début de la page

Zoom

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/fr/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/erkenntnisse-coronavirus-schwein-sars.html